Ratings based on 101 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Michele from Rhode Island

A Wonderful Stay

Posted May 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
The John Rutledge House Inn was a wonderful place to stay during our first (but definitely not our last) visit to Charleston. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful in every respect. The Inn provides complimentary breakfast each morning (which was very good) and afternoon tea & snacks in the early evening. Bottled water was also provided free of charge (which was very helpful since it was in the low 90's in Charleston throughout our stay). The house is beautiful and its location was within walking distance to many restaurants and shops. We will definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Joan Wilson from Fountain Inn

convenient to everything

Posted May 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
FABULOUS - The staff and accomodations couldn't have been any better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Lisa from Burlingame

Charming Inn

Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Charming Inn, good service, wonderful location. Just beware that there is no elevator and so if you do not have a room in one of the carriage houses on the ground floor, there will be many stairs to climb. This proved a challenge for my elderly mother.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved our time in Charleston!

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: Everything. Breakfast...amazing. Rooms...amazing. Also, service is top notch (made reservations for me. Recommendations for what to do....)
Cons: nothing
Location: Right there in the middle of history. Great location!
We had a fantastic time visiting Charleston. I had my 15 and 18 year old daughters with me. We had unseasonably cool weather. We walked a lot. So much to see and do. I would recommend tours as they really enrich the visit. We did a walking tour through the historic district, a carriage tour, and a ghost tour. We loved having a hotel which was in the middle of it all so we could take a break and also feel like we were really experiencing Charleston. The John Rutledge Inn is amazing. My second stay here. The room was perfect. Everything was extremely clean and the daily cleanings were top notch. Very comfortable stay. Breakfast is a luxury. We ate in the courtyard on warmer day and in the ballroom on cool days. Amazing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice staff. Bathroom needs renovation. Great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Cathy from Atl, GA

Mother -daughter trip

Posted Mar 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Fabulous stay. Thank you to CC, Michael and Maurice everything was wonderful. The rest of the staff was also very nice and helpful. We would highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Hugh from Seattle

Great Location

Posted Jan 23, 2014
This Inn was right in the center of the historic district, an easy walk to many points of interest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Beth from Louisville, KY

Amazing Weekend Getaway!

Posted Nov 22, 2013
Pros: Breakfast was amazing! They provided a huge selection and it was always piping hot when perosnally delivered to our room. Our room was spacious, too
My husband and I were celebrating our 5th anniversary, and the staff at John Rutledge House Inn made sure it was absolutely perfect. Our room in the Ashley Carriage House was beautiful with every little detail thought out. The Inn is very central to everything in historic Charleston and a very short trip to/fron the airport. We loved spending time in the evening out on the balcony enjoying the scenery and elegance of Charleston!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from Philadelphia

Fabulous historic inn

Posted Nov 17, 2013
Pros: Pretty much everything
Location: Central; close to transportation, museums, restaurants, etc
Wonderful location, facilities, and service.The bonus: former home of John Rutledge former governor of South Carolina and former president of SC after the state had seceded.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bob B from Long Island NY

One great place to stay

Posted Nov 13, 2013
Cons: Free parking should be included for the price
Very helpfully staff,great breakfast and close to everything. Would do it again