Ratings based on 114 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Robert Rfrom Ann Arbor

Good experience but not good value

Posted Feb 25, 2015 on Hotels.com
Nice location for walking about Charleston. Very nice historical inn. Breakfast was good but not at the level of other B&Bs/inns we have stayed at. Room was on the "first" floor -- most below ground. I'd ask for a higher floor. Overall, no real issues, we just expected more blue for the high cost.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Great location, very helpful staff, lovely room

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Pros: everything
We had two days in Charleston and appreciated the staff all of whom were helpful and took time to determine what we were interested in doing among the very many options. Our walking tour with Ann Middleton was fabulous as were the restaurants located near the John Rutledge House. The carriage house on the grounds was lovely and just right for Charleston.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Mariloufrom Conway, South Carolina

Wonderful, historic Charleston Inn!

Posted Dec 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Wonderful staff, lovely room, just like the picture, delicious breakfast! At first finding the parking lot was a challenge, but once there it was just fine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Sabinefrom Stuttgart

Wonderful historical B&B downtown

Posted Dec 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed for one night only. Enjoyed the beauty of the room as well as the breakfast and the friendly stuff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom loveland oh

nice historic hotel

Posted Nov 23, 2014
we stayed 2 nights. breakfast at room was good for our need as my 2 year old daughter takes time to go out basically. very historic hotel. worthwile staying at least once you visit charleston.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Wonderful home-base for our first visit to beautiful Charleston!! The staff was friendly, competent, and very gracious. A shout out to concierges CC and Mike for their many helpful suggestions! We stayed in one of the carriage houses which was nice but I think the rugs need to be better cleaned or replaced. Everything else was great...breakfast each morning was outstanding. Thanks for a great visit!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Miami, FL

A great B and B experience.

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: Everything, the staff could not have been anymore helpful or nice, and the inn is beautiful and well cared for.
Cons: Nothing, everything is perfect.
Location: Stroll the historic district of Charleston. Dine in top area restaurants such as McCrady's and Husk.
My wife and I came to the John Rutledge to experience a B and B and could not be happier. The staff was friendly, the inn is charming yet up to date with the wifi and electronics charging station in the room. No matter what time you wander in, you are greeted by someone with a warm smile.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Wolfgangfrom Bonn

Super Unterkunft - wie im Museum!

Posted Sep 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Schöne Zimmer, bequeme Betten, freundlicher Service, leckeres Früstück, gute Lage, was mill man mehr?
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Charlotte, NC

Disappointed

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: Needs refurbished Had mold and rust stains in shower Tile floor chipped/looked unkept. Towels motel quality Bath ceiling cracked and peeling
Location: Lots of great restaurants close by.
Had expected the overall experience to be better given the price. In fairness the hotel staff and Innkeeper in particular were very friendly. Breakfast was ok but having it brought covered in cling film felt like room service rather than a real dining room experience. Room was perfectly clean but rather dull and in need of refurbishment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels.com