Ratings based on 105 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom loveland oh

nice historic hotel

Posted Nov 23, 2014
we stayed 2 nights. breakfast at room was good for our need as my 2 year old daughter takes time to go out basically. very historic hotel. worthwile staying at least once you visit charleston.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Wonderful home-base for our first visit to beautiful Charleston!! The staff was friendly, competent, and very gracious. A shout out to concierges CC and Mike for their many helpful suggestions! We stayed in one of the carriage houses which was nice but I think the rugs need to be better cleaned or replaced. Everything else was great...breakfast each morning was outstanding. Thanks for a great visit!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Miami, FL

A great B and B experience.

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: Everything, the staff could not have been anymore helpful or nice, and the inn is beautiful and well cared for.
Cons: Nothing, everything is perfect.
Location: Stroll the historic district of Charleston. Dine in top area restaurants such as McCrady's and Husk.
My wife and I came to the John Rutledge to experience a B and B and could not be happier. The staff was friendly, the inn is charming yet up to date with the wifi and electronics charging station in the room. No matter what time you wander in, you are greeted by someone with a warm smile.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Charlotte, NC

Disappointed

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: Needs refurbished Had mold and rust stains in shower Tile floor chipped/looked unkept. Towels motel quality Bath ceiling cracked and peeling
Location: Lots of great restaurants close by.
Had expected the overall experience to be better given the price. In fairness the hotel staff and Innkeeper in particular were very friendly. Breakfast was ok but having it brought covered in cling film felt like room service rather than a real dining room experience. Room was perfectly clean but rather dull and in need of refurbishment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Shreveport, LA

Great downtown, historic, convenient location

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Everything! The room itself we loved. The breakfasts were served at scheduled time, and the food was delicious. The location was excellent.
Cons: Directions to the parking lot need to be furnished to guests prior to checking-in. The parking lot behind the hotel is accessed by a one-way street.
Location: The hotel is within walking distance to numerous attractions. It is one block away from the Corner of Four Laws. It is near many good places to eat.
The house was wonderful! Our room was spacious and comfortable. The breakfasts were excellent. The staff were extremely helpful and courteous. We absolutely loved it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CHICAGO

lovely b&b in the heart of the historic district

Posted Aug 12, 2014
MY FIRST TRIP TO CHARLESTON.EVERYTHING I EXPECTED.WONDERFUL HISTORIC B&B.STAYED OUT BACK IN THE CARRIAGE HOUSE.CHARMING!B-FAST EACH MORNING IN THE COURTYARD.FANTASTIC STAFF...MIKE,MICHAEL,CC,AND KATHLEEN MADE US FEEK SO AT HOME.HAD SOME FABULOUS MEALS,GREAT HARBOUR TOUR,AND SPOOKY GHOST TOUR.WALKED TO TOUR ALL THE FABULOUS HOMES AND JUST DRANK IN ALL THE HISTORY.YOU WONT BE DISAPOINTED! .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great mix of antiques and modern comfort

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: The inn was located in the center of Charleston. Our room was in a rear cottage which made the experience more historical.
Cons: The parlor sherry offerings could be presented a bit better. The decanters looked neglected.
The hotel was very centrally located and yet the room was quiet. The main house is an antique gem with elegant yet comfortable furnishings. The staff was courteous, not stuffy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta, GA

Great Place to Stay

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Location, Price, Service.
Cons: Nothing, absolutely perfect.
The house is a real treat being fully restored from the time of the American Revolution. Minute walks to all the great sites or take a pedi-cab around downtown. The service and staff were 5 star. Breakfast every morning included with your stay and can be had in your room, the ballroom, or the outside patio. Afternoon iced tea with amazing appetizers. Also an evening night cap of port is included. It truly was sad when we had to say goodbye but we will definitely be staying here next time we are in town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Very nice historic inn.

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Everything, from our initial welcome to checkout was very well done. The room was spacious, updated and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was wonderful.