Ratings based on 109 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Great location, very helpful staff, lovely room

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Pros: everything
We had two days in Charleston and appreciated the staff all of whom were helpful and took time to determine what we were interested in doing among the very many options. Our walking tour with Ann Middleton was fabulous as were the restaurants located near the John Rutledge House. The carriage house on the grounds was lovely and just right for Charleston.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom loveland oh

nice historic hotel

Posted Nov 23, 2014
we stayed 2 nights. breakfast at room was good for our need as my 2 year old daughter takes time to go out basically. very historic hotel. worthwile staying at least once you visit charleston.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Wonderful home-base for our first visit to beautiful Charleston!! The staff was friendly, competent, and very gracious. A shout out to concierges CC and Mike for their many helpful suggestions! We stayed in one of the carriage houses which was nice but I think the rugs need to be better cleaned or replaced. Everything else was great...breakfast each morning was outstanding. Thanks for a great visit!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Miami, FL

A great B and B experience.

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: Everything, the staff could not have been anymore helpful or nice, and the inn is beautiful and well cared for.
Cons: Nothing, everything is perfect.
Location: Stroll the historic district of Charleston. Dine in top area restaurants such as McCrady's and Husk.
My wife and I came to the John Rutledge to experience a B and B and could not be happier. The staff was friendly, the inn is charming yet up to date with the wifi and electronics charging station in the room. No matter what time you wander in, you are greeted by someone with a warm smile.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Wolfgangfrom Bonn

Super Unterkunft - wie im Museum!

Posted Sep 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Schöne Zimmer, bequeme Betten, freundlicher Service, leckeres Früstück, gute Lage, was mill man mehr?
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Charlotte, NC

Disappointed

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: Needs refurbished Had mold and rust stains in shower Tile floor chipped/looked unkept. Towels motel quality Bath ceiling cracked and peeling
Location: Lots of great restaurants close by.
Had expected the overall experience to be better given the price. In fairness the hotel staff and Innkeeper in particular were very friendly. Breakfast was ok but having it brought covered in cling film felt like room service rather than a real dining room experience. Room was perfectly clean but rather dull and in need of refurbishment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Dr. T

Historisches hotel, wunderbare romantische Stimmug

Posted Aug 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Guter Service, gute Lage sehr zuvorkommendes Personal, gutes Frühstück inklusive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Shreveport, LA

Great downtown, historic, convenient location

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Everything! The room itself we loved. The breakfasts were served at scheduled time, and the food was delicious. The location was excellent.
Cons: Directions to the parking lot need to be furnished to guests prior to checking-in. The parking lot behind the hotel is accessed by a one-way street.
Location: The hotel is within walking distance to numerous attractions. It is one block away from the Corner of Four Laws. It is near many good places to eat.
The house was wonderful! Our room was spacious and comfortable. The breakfasts were excellent. The staff were extremely helpful and courteous. We absolutely loved it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CHICAGO

lovely b&b in the heart of the historic district

Posted Aug 12, 2014
MY FIRST TRIP TO CHARLESTON.EVERYTHING I EXPECTED.WONDERFUL HISTORIC B&B.STAYED OUT BACK IN THE CARRIAGE HOUSE.CHARMING!B-FAST EACH MORNING IN THE COURTYARD.FANTASTIC STAFF...MIKE,MICHAEL,CC,AND KATHLEEN MADE US FEEK SO AT HOME.HAD SOME FABULOUS MEALS,GREAT HARBOUR TOUR,AND SPOOKY GHOST TOUR.WALKED TO TOUR ALL THE FABULOUS HOMES AND JUST DRANK IN ALL THE HISTORY.YOU WONT BE DISAPOINTED! .