Ratings based on 1,166 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to everything

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Pros: Very comfortable, staff were very helpful
Great place to stay. Only problem is they were doing construction on the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom charlotte

Great location in charleston.

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Only stayed one night. Wine and cheese happy hour from 4:30-5:30 is misleading. You pay for wine with $1 discount and they provide cheese. Not as in other hotels in charleston.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pennsylvania

very pleasant

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Pros: stated above
Cons: breakfast menu should be changed more frequently. We had the same one all week, with the exception of the daily breakfast special.
Location: Plenty to see. Bus tour of Charleston was great. Outdoor market was fun as well as the numerous shopping opportunities on King Street.
We enjoyed our stay at King Charles Inn for these reasons: staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome and comfortable. The door was always opened for us and we were cheerfully greeted every time we went in or out of the door. Restaurant and tour suggestions were plentiful. Room was clean and spacious. Breakfast was adequate and leisurely paced. Bar staff was friendly. Drink prices were reduced during happy hour, but the drinks themselves were not "watered down." Hotel is undergoing renovation, but except for not having a full sized restaurant, the renovations did not interfere with anything. No noise level to deal with. all in all, a wonderful hotel that will be even better when all remodeling is completed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Close to all city destinations

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Pros: Its proximity to town center.
We were treated with graciousness and attentive services. The hotel parking lot was under construction but had been forewarned and were shown to a garage nearby. All the members of the staff treated us warmly. The location of the hotel was close to market center and plenty of wonderful restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ornage County

Great Hotel

Posted Feb 24, 2015
The room was great and very comfortable as well as close to all the restaurants and night life. I will be staying there next time I am in Charleston. I prefer Boutique Hotels and this was it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Good location and good value. Staff a nd room very nice
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Linville Falls, NC

Great location and friendly staff

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Pros: Location and friendly helpful staff. Not super expensive for downtown Charleston.
Cons: TV was a little dim and the remote wouldn't allow you to adjust it.
Location: The location is great if you are able to get out and walk. We enjoyed the historic sights, shops, and especially the restaurants.
I was a little apprehensive about our stay at the King Charles Inn when the hotel contacted me 4 days before check in and told me that their parking lot would be closed for resurfacing while we were there. The hotel explained that we would have access to a public parking deck nearby at no charge. Other reviews were very positive about King Charles Inn's convenient free parking. I thought it was very professional and courteous of them to let us know this in time to make a change. We stuck with King Charles Inn and we were satisfied with our stay. One of their staff met us immediately as we drove up and gave me information on the parking situation and what I needed to do. He helped us with our bags and got us settled in our room. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room only had a view of the parking deck and it was noisy by about 8 am when they started tearing up chunks of pavement and hauling them to a container. No big deal. We were soon out and gone touring this wonderful city. That is another big plus of the King Charles Inn - you are in walking distance of about everything. I would recommend staying here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Comfortable room, pleasant staff and convenient location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom florida

Great location

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Our stay was great. The staff was great and very helpful. Love charleston.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Birmingham, AL

Great location in the historic district

Posted Feb 15, 2015
Pros: Excellent location, dedicated and knowledgeable staff, convenient off-street parking, comfortable room, pleasant areas for conversation.
Cons: Remodeling will soon be completed.
Location: We especially enjoyed "The Sound of Charleston," which was performed at the Circular Church on Meeting Street, a few blocks from the hotel.
We were so fortunate to stay at this hotel, which is located in the heart of the historic district and along a trolley route. We were within easy walking distance of great restaurants, historic sites, churches, shopping, etc. The staff were extremely cordial, courteous, and helpful. We enjoyed three days getting reacquainted with friends we had not seen in over 30 years. An outstanding experience in every way. We will highly recommend a visit to Charleston as well as this lovely hotel.