Ratings based on 937 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Nice Downtown Charleston Hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: Rooms, staff and great rate.
Cons: The common areas such as the hallways looked like they could use a little updating. Nothing major though.
Location: Like just about everything. Great restaurants like Hymans, Toast, Hanks, etc, etc. King street shopping is literally steps away. Great location.
King Charles Inn is a high quality hotel in the heart of downtown Charleston that is within walking distance to just about all of the great places to eat and shop. I stayed there for business and found a great rate on Expedia. Room was nice, clean and updated. The bed was comfortable. The staff is friendly. There is a nice outside area that is covered, in front of the pool to have a drink or some food. The lobby and common areas are not that large but it does feel like a historic inn. Decent parking for downtown Charleston.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Comfort

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: The location was very good and the free on site parking excellent.my room was very comfortable and the Keurig in the room very good idea.
Location: It was near the Market, the stop for the free shuttle tram , shopping, excellent restaurants.
The hotel was very comfortable and the staff very attentive and knowledgeable about Charleston.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lafayette, Indiana

Wonderful Vacation

Posted Aug 14, 2014
My husband and I had a king deluxe room. It was very nice and the bed was fabulous. We enjoyed being in walking distance to everything in the historic district. There was a stop for the free trolley across from the hotel. There was construction next door but it did not disturb us at all. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a wonderful vacation and would definitely stay at the King Charles again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Staff treated you like family!

Posted Aug 12, 2014
I did lots of research on hotels in Charleston before I committed to King Charles Inn. It has a great location, trolley right across the street, restaurants nearby, market street, etc. The front desk guides you every step of the way, if you've never been to Charleston and have no idea what you are doing:) The doormen are extremely friendly as is the restaurant staff. Rooms are comfortable although how much time do you spend in a hotel room with so much to see and do! Pool was small but I'm not doing laps, just cooling off when I'm finally at the hotel. Breakfast right in the hotel was convenient in the morning, all the walking was reserved for sightseeing. We rented a car at the airport but returned it to save money because we could take a tour or other modes of transportation to anywhere we wanted to go. It didn't make sense to pay for a rental car to sit in the parking lot, which by the way, is free parking, a major plus. Anyway, streets are small and traffic can get crazy at times. Don't need that pressure on vacation! The staff provided us with all the help we needed for getting from point A to point B. The taxi they recommended was only $8 for anywhere within the downtown area. Trolleys were free, but hard to find the stops. My husband and I were very pleased with every aspect of this hotel, but, especially the friendliness of staff. A smile can make your whole day pleasant and they provide plenty of that!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from little rock

Perfect location in the middle of downtown!

Posted Aug 10, 2014
The hotel was excellent. The entire hotel was not only lovely in appearance but also neat and clean. The entire staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. Our room was cleaned and restocked everyday. The location couldn't have been any better. Right in the middle of great shopping and tons of great restaurants and bar. It's also within walking distances of everywhere we went. Would definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location. walking distance to most places.

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Room was available on time, staff was very friendly and helpful. They even called us to our room in the morning to let us know we had a flat tire. I have recommended this hotel to my sister who's coming from overseas.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Beautiful hotel

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: We had three in our room and several nights only received two washcloths and two bottles of water.
Location: Restaurants, tours, museums, shopping. Easy access.
Great central location in Downtown Charleston. Excellent hotel with great helpful staff and service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very pleasant hotel in a great location

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: Nice quiet room, friendly staff, free parking.
This hotel was very pleasant. The location can't be beat, as well as the complementary parking and the very friendly staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Good deal Location worked well Modest pool but adequate The building site next door should of been mentioned and a free drink at the bar would of left you with the warm & fuzzy feelings
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Savannah, Georgia

Weekend getaway

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: Historic Charleston Location.
Cons: Construction noise is problematic. No channel guide for televisions. Beds are very uncomfortable.
Location: Close to King Street and multiple dining choices.
My wife and I traveled to Charleston for a weekend getaway. We wanted a hotel in the Charleston Historic District and thought the King Charles Inn was a good bet considering the good reviews. Be warned. There is construction taking place next door with a great deal of noise. Our room overlooked the parking lot and was without a view. The King Charles Inn is, at best, just a basic place to stay with great access to King Street and the Battery.