Ratings based on 820 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tom from Centerville,MA (Cape Cod)

Elegant Hotel

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: Staff, rooms, lounge, fountain, you name it.
Cons: Nothing..
Location: Most of the sights are a short walk to the hotel. The City Market is just a few blocks away. Charleston Place is very close also.
We really loved this hotel. Great staff, great rooms. Nice breakfast is made to order in the morning. Parking is free and the hotel is situated in the heart of the historic district. I have to say there are long walks to get from one end of the hotel to the other...it's almost like a maze. But it is such a great hotel that it's worth the effort!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jackie from New Jersey

Best location!

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Location: Walk historic district, French Quarter, and E. Bay St. Best restaurant was Trattoria Lucca. You can take a pedi cab there through the College Campus
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the King Charles Inn. Our room and bed were very comfortable but a little narrow. There was only about a foot of room between the-end of the bed and dresser. We had a private balcony which was very nice. The bathroom was roomy and clean. There is a hotel being built next door, but we did not hear any construction noise. We were able to walk everywhere. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The hotel offers free parking which was awesome since there is very little parking in the city. There is a small pool on the second floor nicely situated near the bar and restaurant. We would definitely stay again when visiting downtown Charleston. .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ryan from Boca Raton

Right downtown!

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Great location. Close to shopping, restaurants, historic sites. The hotel is comfortable and clean. There restaurant which is open for breakfast and snacks and drinks is satisfactory, but being in walking distance to just about everything why would you settle. The upgrades to balconies really aren't necessary as the view is of a closed parking lot. All in all, good price, kind service and clean hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel close to Market Street

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: I liked the location and the staff.
Cons: The view from our room was of construction work. That's not the hotel's fault, but still. . . .
Location: Located near the Market area, the hotel is the starting point for walking tours, fine dining, down-and-dirty dining, carriage rides, history lessons.
We enjoyed the proximity to the shops of the Market area, the wafting aroma of pralines and fudge, and the varied restaurants that fill the area. We took a horse-drawn carriage ride with a horse named Dan and a guide named Steve. Steve was an excellent guide, showing us the old Charleston homes with their trees and flowers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stay

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Excellent location.
Location: Near downtown Charleston. Many restaurants close by. Market two blocks away. Pier within short walking distance.
Great location within walking distance of many attractions. Staff very helpful with recommendations and ideas for restaurants and places to go.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Emily

Simple hotel in a good area

Posted Apr 8, 2014
While this hotel is nothing special, the rooms were clean and it was in a pretty good location in the city. It is a short walk to the restaurants on E Bay Street and also a short walk to the shopping on King Street. It was also not a bad walk to the bars/restaurants on Upper King Street, about 10 blocks or so.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by josie from pgh pa

Walking distance to shopping and dining

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Pros: Price, location and knowledgeable staff
Location: Just a few blocks from marketplace, King St shopping, house tours, large variety of restaurants
Stayed for a long weekend with friends. Staff was very courteous and helpful. We were able to walk easily to the market place and many great restaurants. We were given many suggestions for sightseeing and the staff made arrangements for tour company to pick us up for excursions
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Terry from Grand Rapids, MI

Very pleasing stay

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Location: It was a great location; not right on top of all the tourist action, but close enough so that everingthing was in walking distance for us.
This was a nice clean facility located close to the old City. The fact that there was free parking was a plus. The connected restaurant, The Brew, was very convenient for a quick (or languishing) breakfast before we started our day. I would stay again. Keurig coffee in the room was also a bonus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by George from Brentwood Tn

Spring Break Trip

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: The construction next door.
Location: Walking distance to a full day of fun. Restaurants, market, carriage ride, ghost tours. Plenty to do
The hotel is convenient to many places, so you can have alot of fun walking. Yes, there was construction, and you could feel the vibration under your feet. That is no fault of the hotel, they were apologetic. Guess they could have discounted the room somewhat. We were up and got out early, so we missed most of the daily noise. Overall, it was quite pleasing. The free parking is a BIG plus. Look at the cost of parking your car daily. Geez! The staff was extremely nice. The housekeeping staff were so friendly and always had a smile on their face! Our room was very clean, the towels were nice and thick. No real complaints here. What a lovely city to visit, and the King Charles Inn made it even more enjoyable. Kudos to them....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant stay

Posted Mar 24, 2014
I chose this hotel based on the fact that it was in the historic district and you didn't have to pay for parking. It was a very good choice. We were pleasantly surprised by everything else, including the beautifully appointed room, the very comfortable bathroom, the bar and restaurant, etc. We will be back next year when we visit Charleston again.