Ratings based on 177 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom MD

Good choice for Charleston

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Only a few minutes by car from the Battery and other interesting parts of Charleston. Found the facility clean and convenient with a pleasant and helpful staff. It's an extended stay model with the ,inherent plus and minus. Breakfast was limited to pastries, coffee, cereals and juice. Didn't have a chance while we were6there but6easy walking distanice to the bridge that can be walked across for a great view of the Charleston waterfront. Overall a good value and would use again.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia

The condition of rooms were not in good condition

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Pros: The staff was nice.
Cons: Have the rooms cleaner, aired out before the next guest, improved the bathroom physical conditions and please give an exterminator in that building.
The room that we stayed in had leaky tub facet that wouldn't be shut off and as soon as we walked in several cockroaches were crawling on top of the shower. The condition of the bathroom was the most disappointing thing about our stay. It was obvious that there has been many repairs in the bathroom due to the terrible caulking (sloppy) around the bathroom fixtures. Room was stuffy and smelly when we walked in for the first time. We spent over two hundred dollars a night which it was disappointing because the conditions of the room was not up to that value. Also, we did not know until we arrived that housekeeping would not clean the room each day until our stay was completed. I have stayed in hotels for $70 per night that were a palace compared to the conditions and money spent to stay at this hotel. I will not be making any reservation again at Mainstay Suites.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mt. Pleasant

Nice hotel.

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Employees very helpful. Will come back and spend more time in Charleston.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a Suite

Posted Jan 23, 2015
I booked a suite, but there was no separation between the living and bedroom areas. I specifically wanted to be able to close the door to the bedroom to put my 15 month old to bed at night, alas it wasn't in the cards. The 3rd floor where our room was located reeked of smoke even though every room I saw had a non-smoking sign on the door. The carpet was dirty and the bathroom smelled musty. The kitchenette was very nice, and breakfast in the morning was also very good. The lobby was clean and nice, and the staff was very friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: Layout of suite.
Cons: could have used additional toiletries - conditioner, shower cap.
Overall, positive experience. Clean, comfortable, quiet in a convenient location; continental breakfast. We had a two room suite with living room and two full baths. Were traveling with an infant, so set up pack and play in the living room at night with a monitor. This allowed everyone to get a good nights rest.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pittsburgh, Pa

Avg Hotel - close to Charleston

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: Staff/location
Cons: Cleanliness, upkeep of room.
Let's start with the pro's - very good location for Mt. Pleasant & Charleston area. Located right off US 17 at foot of bridge to Charleston. Front desk staff was very friendly and took time to explain hotel procedures. Breakfast was continental type with donuts, bagels,muffins etc and coffee.. Enough to get us started for the days we stayed. Con's - room less than clean upon arrival. door to bathroom hits into the toilet making it difficult to walk into bathroom and both tub & vanity sink had leaks. If it's you & your bro's, feel free to stay, would not recc it if it's you and family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wright

Etra nice motel . Will sta Extra Nice Rooms.

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Etra nice loved the room. Will use in the future if available and I am in the area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 5, 2015 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Close to Charleston, Not the Cleanest

Posted Dec 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed overnight in this hotel so that we could be close to Charleston and continue the siteseeing in the morning. After being in the bathroom to wash up for the night I looked down and noticed a large clump of hair (not mine!) and then found another smaller one in the kitchen area. I called the front desk, the man apologized and moved us immediately. For the price it was an ok stay (not counting the dirty room). I hadn't realized that there was a full kitchen in the room (we did not use it). The breakfast they served was not a hot meal (boiled/peeled eggs, toast, bagels, oatmeal, and cereal) but we were satisfied to have an included meal. We were literally just a bridge crossing from the historic beautiful city - so we appreciated that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

trip to Charleston

Posted Nov 15, 2014
Pros: See above for some comments. Breakfast was adequate to get the day started at least. People working very friendly. Beds very comfortable !!
Cons: Our kitchen in our room was a little dirty and the freezer/ice maker did not work , leaking all over floor.
Location: Awesome LOCATION to zip into Charleston over the bridge. Also right down the street from information center where you can go get discounts on tours.
Great location to get in and out of Charleston and not pay crazy price to stay in town. Great food and people in Mt. Pleasant around Shem's Creek. People who worked at hotel SO HELPFUL helping us get around and giving us ideas for restaurants. NICE. Also LOVED the set up of suites where 2 rooms are separated by living space .