Ratings based on 154 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, quiet, well maintained, great food, bar.

Posted May 16, 2014
The rooftop bar and food was excellent in quality. Also, the free breakfast provided on each floor was excellent and high in quality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Walter from Chicago

Classic Hotel in a great location

Posted May 4, 2014
Pros: The staff were extremely nice. The ladies who cleaned the rooms did an excellent job.
Cons: The hotel needs to provide appropriate desk chairs. The occasional chair that had to serve as a desk chair was much too low for working at the desk.
Our stay at the Market Pavilion was very comfortable, The location allowed us to walk to everything in the historic part of the city. The city market is right next door and Bay Street is lined with restaurants of every price level and variety. The rooms are large and well furnished with large bathrooms that include a tub and walk-in shower.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kathleen from Chicago, IL

Luxury in great location.

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: Beautiful appointments and very comfortable.
Cons: Rooftop bar was open to the public and elevators were filled with drinking patrons.
Location: On the water within walking distance to historic sites. You don't need a car to shop or eat.
The accomodations were top notch. The morning coffee service was lovely and included fresh pastries and fruit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, great location!

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Stayed for a long weekend and had the junior suite. Amazing room, wonderful hotel, nice staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Frank from North Carolina

Excellent Hotel!

Posted Mar 13, 2014
Pros: So close to everything! Truly is in the center of the historic district. Beautiful hotel, from the spacious lobby/restaurant to the oversize rooms.
Cons: Nothing can be done to improve a great hotel.
Location: This hotel has the prefect location! Only a few steps out the front door to restaurants, shopping, and the City Market.
Very friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful hotel located in the center of historic Charleston. Only a few steps to the City Market, tours, carriage rides, and many stores and restaurants. The Pavilion Rooftop Bar is a fantastic plus. Good food and drinks with excellent views of Charleston. Highly recommend sunsets and evenings on the rooftop!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the price to stay

Posted Mar 5, 2014
Starting with customer service, FAIL. They were not professional nor capable to provide excellent service. The consideration was lacking from the staff for a new customer. The restaurant was FANTASTIC! I'd only go back for the meal never to stay. We stayed on the club level expecting great breakfast, snacks and drinks during the day but chunks of crappy cheese only was served for about 45 minutes then quickly put away. We won't be returning.
4 out of 5
by brett from j

Better options in Charleston

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Did not feel the love from the staff, felt like they were just there to hold down the fort, especially the reception staff who looked uninterested. Overall nice accommodations but under involved staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 22, 2014
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Vogt from Jaksonville, FL

Posted Jan 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were looking forward to our weekend getaway and upon arrival were a bit disappointed that our vehicle was not able to be taken to the parking garage until early the next morning as there was no room for tall vehicles. Our room upon arrival was very pleasing, until after dinner when we realized the air conditioning was not functioning. They asked that we just sleep in another room for that evening and maintenance would take care of it the very next morning and we would be able to go back to our original room. Well, at about 9:00 a.m. i inquired to find that maintenance had not repaired yet. They were called and came and about 10am they said it was repaired. In fact it was not. They returned and again said that it was repaired. It was then 3 hrs since the original repair and the thermostat was still reading the same temperature. We ended up packing our things and moving down to the new room. Additionally, the continental breakfast set up on our floor looked very appetizing. However, the hot water Urn was not hot. I called down and requested hot water and believe they refilled the Urn, however the water was still cold. The tea bag would not even dissolve and that is how it was for the entire three days stay. The croissants were hard as rocks. I am sorry to say i do not believe we will recommend or stay at the hotel again. We did very much enjoy Grill 225.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Jim Utterback from Gaithersburg, MD

Excellent high end hotel

Posted Nov 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed nearly everything about our stay at the Market Pavilion in Charleston, SC. It is definitely worth the money, especially as we got a price through Hotels.com that the hotel people had never heard of. The only thing that was at all a problem was wifi, which barely worked at all. It was available, just not in our room, although there was a free Ethernet connection if we'd had a laptop.