Ratings based on 861 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel OK for the price

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: It was lovely. The pool was beautiful and the entire place was very clean
Cons: Information when making reservations about the lack of elevators for those who have certain needs, and better informed/motivated front desk staff
Location: Edisto Island is a must see. Beautiful beach with petrified trees
The hotel was clean and attractive. The free breakfast was sufficient but there were no eggs or bacon as in many others I have stayed. The staff was friendly but never went out of their way to help. For example; we got into town at 10 pm and most restaurants were closed, we asked about dining options and were told McDonald's was it. When we got to the room there was a delivery menu with many options that stated it delivered until 3am. Our room was on the second floor and there were no elevators, I had my 82 year old mother with us. I wasn't aware of this when I made the reservation and the front desk clerk didn't try to assist us in any way.
3 out of 5
by Dave

Adequate

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Price.
Cons: Overhall.
Location: Convenient to Tanger Outlets, Convention Center, restaurants.
Adequate for the price. This facility had seen better days. Only half the rooms are maintained and rented.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close to chrarlston

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: For a quick over night this hotel worked. a stay longer might be questionable.
the beds were very comfortable, shower very good. overall room was clean. The exterior was not very appealing. time for some maintenance and a face lift. Breakfast was basic, got the job done.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ryan from Kitchener, ON

Good Distance from Downtown

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Stayed two nights, and was a good drive (no more than 30 minutes or so) to all local tourist spots including downtown Charleston. Parking lot was under re-pavement so spots were limited on side of hotel we had our room at. For the price it was acceptable and a comfortable stay. Continental breakfast was good (make your own waffles) and the wifi was fast.
2 out of 5
by Denise from KY

Dated, inadequate to today's standards

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Pros: price & location. Breakfast was fine. Has a pool, but it was too cold to use.
Cons: Hairdryer didn't work, plug was corroded. No garbage can in bathroom area. (Weird). Hardly any toiletries. Staff talking to others while on phone w/me
Location: Great location, convenient to Charleston.
The hotel is very dated and smelled musty. Reminded us of something out of the 60's. We only stayed one night on our way to somewhere else so it was adequate but will probably never stay there again. Learned our lesson to stick with hotel chains we've experienced before. Oh, and the next morning, we could hear kids running outside down the sidewalks and tv's from the next room. Walls very thin!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Next time - I'll stay somewhere else

Posted Mar 22, 2014
Contractor Motel = lots of rowdy guys having a good time after work. That's okay - everybody needs some R&R. But, when they get up at 5:30am & yell & beep & rattle their engines for 15 minutes = not so good. Also, room was not cleaned to my satisfaction; coffee pot with used coffee packet still there & no cups; furniture & drapes could use a little bit of TLC; old cigarette burns on the furniture in our non-smoking room were everywhere! Front desk staff were pretty firendly & helpful. Thin walls - always the lament of old motels......No AAA rating either.....
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for...

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Would not go back to this hotel. We got a good price on our rooms, guess you get what you pay for. We tried four different rooms because our non smoking rooms that we paid for all reeked of smoke! We eventually just gave up. The shower curtains were stained and dirty and cigarette butts were everywhere on the balcony (in our supposed non smoking rooms). The staff was somewhat friendly but not worth going back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lola from Atlanta

north Charleston

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: clean
Cons: decrease the noise
Location: not far from Charleston and all its sightseeing , Magnolia Plantation not far also
hotel was clean, stuff nice, but walls are so thin that one can hear everything what is going on next door.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pierre-Olivier from Myrtle Beach,SC

Very well surprised

Posted Mar 14, 2014
We just needed to stay in Charleston for an early meeting and did not want to drive early in the morning from Myrtle Beach. I did not want to spend a fortune and all the expensive chain hotels in North Charleston had bad review anyway. when my wife saw the hotel, she was not very happy. she was expecting a much nicer looking hotel. But you do not judge a book by its cover...The room was clean, the bathroom too. It was very quiet and we had the best night ever. The bed was very comfortable. The shower had a lot of water pressure that my wife enjoyed. The potty was making a flush sound every now and then. We just closed the door and notified the front desk in the morning. The included breakfast was fine. Nothing fancy. So at $60, we were happy campers...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Inexpensive hotel with great staff!

Posted Mar 12, 2014
The front desk staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The room is your typical 2-bed, 1 bathroom, and TV hotel room, but for only one night and at the low price, that's all I could ask for. Free continental breakfast and free wifi were awesome as well!