Ratings based on 934 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Nice and convenient.

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Location. Breakfast. Pool. Price.
Cons: The door could be fixed:) Lousy handle and lock. No mini bar.
Location: Tanger Outlet!
Great.There's this funny duck walking around- fun for kids to watch.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from asheville, nc

Decent hotel, leave mother-in-law at home.

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Staff was very nice, continental breakfast was well stocked and maintained. Biggest complaint is that a/c unit is directly under windows and when curtains are closed, cold air billows up the curtains and is trapped near the glass instead of cooling the room. Mildly annoying. My mother-in-law thought the bathroom wasn't as clean as it should be, but that was just one of her many opinions.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2014 by Irene Pace, Hotel Management
Thank-you for recent review regarding your recent stay at the North Charleston Inn. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your accommodations and I will review your specific comments with the appropriate team members of our staff. We take your feedback very seriously and use it to continue to strive to make the North Charleston Inn the best it can be. We hope to see you agian in the near future and I thank you for making the North Charleston Inn your preferred lodging destination in Charleston.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Very nice staff, complementary breakfast was good. If you're are a budget this is perfect if not, go elsewhere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2014 by Irene Pace, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your recent review regarding your stay at The North Charleston Inn. We are glad that you enjoyed your accommodations with us. We strive here to provide our guest with great service, clean rooms at an affordable price. We hope that you choose to stay with us again on your future travels to the Charleston area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Not ready for prime time

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: The continental breakfast was surprisingly decent, particularly when contrasted with the room.
Cons: Maybe the owners can't really afford to finish restoring the property without paying guests... but having clean, attractive rooms would be nice.
Location: Shopping mall and restaurants in reasonable driving range.
The photos on the expedia website of this hotel make it look quite attractive. The reason for this is that the photos only show the rooms (not the one I got!) that have been updated. Clearly, this property is a formerly defunct motel that is undergoing renovation...but it's a long way from complete. Many rooms are closed off, as is what appears to have been an "in-house" restaurant. Rooms that management considered "not too far gone" are being booked. Rooms such as mine, which smelled like old tobacco smoke, had slow-running drains, some nasty stains around the base of the toilet, dirty-looking carpet and draperies, and an old CRT television that could not receive cable signals properly. Some day, this may be a nice enough place to stay. That day is not today.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2014 by Irene Pace, Hotel Management
Thank you for your valuable review. We take your feedback very seriously. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us. I assure you that your comments are being shared with the appropriate members of the staff and that we are taking action to correct the issues. We hope that you will consider us again on your future travels to Charleston and give us a chance to exceed your expectations.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Hotel was pretty dirty when we first arrived. Hairs, dust, etc. The shower drain was stopped up, you ended with a tub of water by the end of the shower. The breakfast was pretty poor. Didn't even have ice water available (had to buy that at the vending machine.) The front desk staff was friendly and the location was convenient to shops and stuff. But I wouldn't stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2014 by Irene Pace, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review. We take your feedback very seriously. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us. I assure you that your comments are being shared with the appropriate members of the staff and that we are taking action to correct the issues. I know that nothing I can say now will make up for the issues that you experienced during your stay. We do hope though that you would give us another chance to exceed your expectations.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 25, 2014
WAS NICE TO HAVE A PLACE TO SLEEP.They need to be more a little a ware of whats going on out side though. Some people were doing drugs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2014 by Irene Pace, Hotel Management
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for bringing it to our attention of the activity outside on our property. We appreciate your feedback and I will review your specific comments with the appropriate staff. We will use your specific comments to make the North Charleston Inn your preferred lodging destination in Charleston.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 22, 2014
First room we were given was in the back of hotel, and scary! Door you could see light through like someone had previously kicked it in and door handle felt like it would fall off, parking lot had a pile of old curtain in it and it smelled like smoke. We generally felt unsafe at hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2014 by Irene Pace, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review. The experiences you described are not characteristic of the level of service our team strives to privide at the North Charleston Inn and we apologize your stay was unsatisfactory. Your feedback is appreciated and will be shared with the appropriate team members. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back and exceed your expectations.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not so nice hotel

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Rooms did not smell right, bugs in room. The hotel wasn't so inviting.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2014 by Irene Pace, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review. The experiences you described are not characteristic of the level of service our team strives to privide at the North Charleston Inn and we apologize your stay was unsatisfactory. Your feedback is appreciated and will be shared with the appropriate team members. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back and exceed your expectations.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't stay here

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Out dated and rooms smell like smoke in non smoking rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2014 by Irene Pace, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review. The experiences you described are not characteristic of the level of service our team strives to provide at the North Charleston Inn and we apologize your stay was unsatisfactory. Your feedback is appreciated and will be shared with the appropriate team members. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back and exceed your expectations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Pretty Good

Posted Jul 20, 2014
I'd say there's nothing extraordinary about this property but it's certainly fine. Our room's shower was very nice. Pool needed cleaning. Breakfast was standard lobby fare. Not terribly far from Charleston, good value if you don't want to pay top $$ for a Charleston hotel during the season.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2014 by Irene Pace, Hotel Management
Hello Marty, Thank your for your recent review on your stay at the North Charleston Inn. We are glad that you enjoyed your accommodations. We appreciate your feedback and strive to make the North Charleston Inn the preferred lodging destination in Charleston.