Ratings based on 509 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, Florida

Great hotel in perfect location

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: The staff, service, restaurant and location. It all made our trip truly wonderful!
Cons: I would like to see what some of the other rooms looked like. Ours was nice and comfortable but it might need a little refresher and updating soon.
Location: PERFECT LOCATION. City market is across the street and there are so many close restaurants and shops on East Bay street and King Street.
My husband and I went to Charleston for a few days last week. Neither of us have been to Charleston and wanted the true experience. I did some research beforehand and narrowed down the hotels to Planters Inn and Wentworth Mansion (both had received numerous awards and accolades). After much debate, I chose Planters Inn (which I should say was about $90 cheaper than Wentworth Mansion) because of the location. I wanted to be in the center of the historic district and able to walk everywhere and we sure were! The location is seriously perfect - most of the restaurants and places we wanted to go were a short walking distance away. Also, the hotel staff was superb. They helped us arrange the horse & carriage ride our 1st day as well as a rental car for a drive down to Savannah. They made things so easy and did it all with a gracious smile. There is no attitude there at all and they totally understand what service means. Also, the restaurant in the hotel, Peninsula Grill, is exceptional! The 1st night we had dinner there and we were blown away (the oysters, lobster trio, and steak were all amazing and then the coconut cake for dessert). Our waiter was nice, knowledgable and funny and it was a pleasure dining there. I would highly recommend Planters Inn to anyone going to Charleston.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location - walking distance to everything

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Rooms finely appointed and comfortable, staff extremely professional and helpful. The Peninsula Grill is a fantastic venue for dinner.
Will be my first choice on a return visit to Charleston.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Alabama

Close to all Charleston Experiences

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Location and the room was an experience in itself. Staff was great!
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Hotel is within walking distance of all the main historical and dining experiences.
The location is the best possible. Staff was beyond courteous and went out of their way to make stay pleasurable. It was excellent experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto ontario

Close to everything!

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: Everything...but the dining from dinner to breakfast was outstanding.
Cons: Nothing...kudos to a great hotel.
The best of everything you could want in a hotel............ready for us,called us by name the whole time, great suggestions for what to do etc.......plus the hotel is superb on all fronts.........felt like Charleston from days ago...........our room was a 10plus for comfort and amenities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Maddie from Atlanta

Incredible stay

Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Since it was built in the 1800s, the rooms are about as classy as they come. The high ceilings and beautiful decor give the room an elegant feel. As a clean freak, I was not disappointed. The entire hotel was spotless and kept up nicely. The staff was constantly making sure our stay was comfortable and more than willing to help us with anything we needed. The valet was a nice touch and made the stay more relaxing, because we didn't have to worry about finding a lot. However, there are lots and parking garages around if you don't want to pay the extra price for the valet. Breakfast at the hotel was delicious, and the waitresses were all extremely friendly. I would return to Planters Inn in a heartbeat. Definitely recommend this place for a couple looking for a nice hotel and a great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by JJ from Atlanta

It's a Nice Place

Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good service, rooms were quiet despite being right in the middle of downtown where all the action is (which is where I wanted to be). Nice little courtyard too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Customer service was the best we've ever experienced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Outstanding!

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: Facility, Staff, Penninsula was great!
Cons: NA
Location: Terrific location.
Have been to Charleston numerous times, but staying at this hotel took our trip to a different level. Thanks
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

At the heart of the city

Posted Jul 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was located at the heart of Charleston, we were able to walk everywhere. The room was great and the staff was very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 10, 2014 on Hotels.com