Ratings based on 501 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fabulous Hotel, location, room & staff

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Absolutely everything! Not even exaggerating.
Location: Perfectly located next to the market and other shopping makes a car unnecessary while visiting this beautiful city.
Located right in the heart of the action, this hotel is a Beautiful, very very very well maintained place to enjoy! I cannot say enough about the front desk, doorman, etc. Wow! They really understand customer service. Highest praise to them. The room was divine. The bed was Sooooo wonderful as was the entire room and bath. The hallway and courtyard below our room is textbook Charleston. Perfectly landscaped. They provided a lobby living room so you can come in and cool off in the summer and have a cold drink and a snack. They provided the umbrella when needed too. They are affiliated with Hanks Restaurant and it was fantastic too! Any advice they gave us was right on the money. Expensive but you really get what you pay for here. LOVED it and will stay here any time we are in town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Relais & Chateaux Hotel located in historic dist

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Staff and refreshments which were offered throughout the day and evening.
Cons: Hotel should reserve some number of tables for dinner for hotel guests.
Location: Center of market and historic district. Free in-town trolley can take you to museums, battery park, aquarium.
Beautiful hotel in heart of historic district. Walking distance to battery, churches, market, and old cemeteries. Outstanding restaurant but reservations extremely difficult to obtain, even for hotel guests. Staff friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Charleston at it's finest - The Planters Inn

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Pretty much everything, from the complimentary coffee each morning and evening to the gracious service of everyone on staff.
Cons: Can't think of a thing!
Location: Their location is ideal - right across from the Market, in the Historic District and within walking distance of everything
I was excited to arrive at the Inn as their website is quite inviting. I cannot say enought wonderful things about our stay. Everything about this beautiful, charming, well located inn is superb! The staff was uniquely attentive and couldn't do enough to ensure our stay in Charleston was memorable! We had the pleasure of dining in the Peninsula Grill for 2 meals, dinner and breakfast. As a total foodie, I was not disappointed. Again, the ambiance, service and food were impeccable! We look forward to a return stay to this Relais & Chateaux resort!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

WONDERFUL Staff, great central location.

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Location, friendly, rooms and feel of the old south.
Cons: Room 207 has some random noise coming from the roof/ac area that sounded like a pump. Heard it a few times a day. Lasted 5 seconds and quit.
Location: Great shopping and food all around. Walking tours to the south.
The Staff at Planters Inn, (William and Josh, specifically) went out of their way to be accommodating. My wife fractured her knee a few weeks before this trip. The wheelchair at the hotel was broke when we arrived, however, within a few hours, they had located another one from another hotel and had it delivered to the room. We used it all during the stay and was a lifesaver. The Bellman's were all great helping with the valet and chair issues daily. Location served us great as we rolled all over with ease. Room was nice as expected and maid service was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chagrin Falls, OH

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: No Complaints
Location: Close to everything
Wonderful place to visit, close proximity to all Charleston attractions. Hotel staff was very polite and outgoing. We got engaged over our stay and cannot wait to come visit in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice quiet

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Enjoyed pleasant typical of this chain Always predictably nice
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington

Outstanding

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Beautiful rooms, outstanding service! Staff amazing!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from aiken ac

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Great location great service peninsula grille in hotel. Across from market
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, downtown Charleston next to market

Posted Aug 12, 2014
This is a very nice and historic beautique hotel, very convenient to shopping at the market and King Street, and within walking distance of many nice restaurants such as S.N.O.B. Close to many areas of interest. Has a nice restaurant within the hotel, the Peninsula Grill. We did not have dinner there, but did have breakfast and ate in the beautiful courtyard area. The staff at the hotel and in the restaurant was very helpful and courteous. Our room was very nice, although the hotel is on a corner bordered by 3 busy streets, and our room was on the first floor. We could not keep our curtains open due to our room being visible from the street. There were many pillows for the bed, but there should be a variation of soft/firm pillows. We had a hard time getting comfortable with those we had. The bathroom was very nice, and I appreciated the magnified wall-hung makeup mirror, but could have used a little better lighting. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and loved the location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, Florida

Great hotel in perfect location

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: The staff, service, restaurant and location. It all made our trip truly wonderful!
Cons: I would like to see what some of the other rooms looked like. Ours was nice and comfortable but it might need a little refresher and updating soon.
Location: PERFECT LOCATION. City market is across the street and there are so many close restaurants and shops on East Bay street and King Street.
My husband and I went to Charleston for a few days last week. Neither of us have been to Charleston and wanted the true experience. I did some research beforehand and narrowed down the hotels to Planters Inn and Wentworth Mansion (both had received numerous awards and accolades). After much debate, I chose Planters Inn (which I should say was about $90 cheaper than Wentworth Mansion) because of the location. I wanted to be in the center of the historic district and able to walk everywhere and we sure were! The location is seriously perfect - most of the restaurants and places we wanted to go were a short walking distance away. Also, the hotel staff was superb. They helped us arrange the horse & carriage ride our 1st day as well as a rental car for a drive down to Savannah. They made things so easy and did it all with a gracious smile. There is no attitude there at all and they totally understand what service means. Also, the restaurant in the hotel, Peninsula Grill, is exceptional! The 1st night we had dinner there and we were blown away (the oysters, lobster trio, and steak were all amazing and then the coconut cake for dessert). Our waiter was nice, knowledgable and funny and it was a pleasure dining there. I would highly recommend Planters Inn to anyone going to Charleston.