Ratings based on 565 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel in heart of historic district

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: Ambiance and location. Also, efficiency of Mr Dickerson, the hotel manager, in promptly resolving a minor problem we had with our room.
Highly recommended. Accommodation is very nice and all staff very attentive and friendly. Charleston in general is also very friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Beautifully maintained, quiet, comfortable room. Good location for walking, sightseeing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

The perfect Charleston hotel

Posted Mar 26, 2015
Pros: Everything. Accommodations, restaurant on-site, concierge services, and convenience were top notch.
Location: Just about everything in Charleston. Carriage rides, restaurants, shops, spa, walking tours, and other activities are just steps away from the hotel.
My wife and I arrived a day late due to flight cancellations beyond our control and they were kind enough to modify our trip dates. We were greeted by the amazing staff upon arrival. They got us squared away and to our room within minutes. The room was absolute southern charm. The location is impeccable. Our trip purpose was a "baby-moon" and it's proximity to everything was a huge benefit. The market is next door, tons of restaurants, shops, carriages, etc... all right there. Even a spa across the street. The amazing staff, luxe accommodations, and convenience make staying here a no brainier.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautifuly appointed Hotel close to all things

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Pros: Everything. Wonderful restaurant. 4 post bed.
Cons: My room was on the ground floor near the corner of the street. It was a little noisy in the morning .
Location: Near everything including Col Of Charleston
Loved it. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Comfortable room and bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 5, 2015
Overall a very good experience. However the HVAC system in our room was very inferior given the quality of the hotel. The thermostat was highly complex and the system did not provide adequate heat when the outdoor temperature fell below 45 degrees F. The fan in the system ran continuously at one speed and could not be regulated from the thermostat. The staff was very helpful but could not change bad technology. A quality hotel should have better climate control for its quests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Classy hotel, great location

Posted Feb 10, 2015
This was a first time visit to Charleston and a first time visit to the Planters Inn. I can't recommend either of them more highly. What a gracious, beautiful hotel in a gracious, beautiful city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hartsville, SC

Pricey, but fabulous

Posted Jan 24, 2015
Great experience. Great location. Excellent rooms..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom High Point, NC

in the middle of everything we wanted to do

Posted Jan 22, 2015
great trip, could have been a little warmer. wouldn't suggest, or schedule myself again, during "restaurant week"
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Aristides

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 21, 2015 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ontario

Excellent location and stay

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Pros: Location, services.
Cons: The bathroom tub. An updated shower would be great.
Location: Carriage rides, parks, walking tours, city market, king street shopping, restaurants
Great people and perfect location. The only negative is the older tub. I would stay again. Very good service.