Ratings based on 540 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Washington, DC

Beautiful hotel right in the heart of Charleston

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Pros: Location; atmosphere/ambiance; staff; restaurant; bed and linens!
Cons: Thermostat is a bit confusing to get regulated.
Location: Wonderful location, right across the street from the Straw Market and Charleston Place Shops, also a block from King Street and lots of shops!
Planters Inn is not only located in a beautiful historic building, but also right smack in the heart of the Old Town, convenient to everything. The staff is excellent and accommodating, and the restaurant, Peninsula Grill, is wonderful. We just had our second Thanksgiving dinner there and loved it. The mattress on the bed at Planter's is heavenly, along with the fine quality linens and wonderful pillows -- it's difficult to leave it in the mornings to start the day! We had a rental car, and used the valet parking that the hotel offers, but really didn't need a car since we were so conveniently located. Highly recommend a stay at Planter's Inn! We just returned last night from four days there and really miss it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Planters Inn - Charleston SC

Posted Nov 29, 2014
Pros: Old Style but elegant
Cons: Restaurant could have been more accommodating.
Location: Perfect location in Charleston, SC
Hotel very nice - Everyone pleasant and accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom SC

Great Location and Service

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Pros: Staff, hotel restaurant
Cons: Room furniture could be updated a bit.
Location: Center of everything in Charleston. Art galleries and great shopping.
A two night stay. Hotel staff is extremely well trained and professional. From the bag handler to the front desk to the maid service and restaurant...all excellent. You can really tell that the training of the staff is a high priority here. Location of the hotel was great as well. Would suggest making reservations at the Peninsula Grill which was also excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 15, 2014
Great hotel, would definitely book this hotel again.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom connecticut

Expensive for what you get

Posted Nov 1, 2014
Nice hotel. Not worth the money. Staff is mixed. Some great service, some just so so. Better options nearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom newport beach, CA

First time in charleston

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Perfect location! Walking distance to anything in historic charleston. Would stay again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Delaware

Wonderful

Posted Oct 25, 2014
Highly recommend this hotel. Everything was perfect. Staff were professional and courteous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia

Great hotel close to the market and restaurants

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Great time. Hotel was great with all requests !!!!!! Excellent service and restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Joe Sfrom Pittsburgh, PA

location and quality

Posted Sep 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Awesome ! Would highly recommend it. Would need to reserve rooms, however, through hotels.comm because we would never pay the standing rates of $900+ per night as posted in the rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fabulous Hotel, location, room & staff

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Absolutely everything! Not even exaggerating.
Location: Perfectly located next to the market and other shopping makes a car unnecessary while visiting this beautiful city.
Located right in the heart of the action, this hotel is a Beautiful, very very very well maintained place to enjoy! I cannot say enough about the front desk, doorman, etc. Wow! They really understand customer service. Highest praise to them. The room was divine. The bed was Sooooo wonderful as was the entire room and bath. The hallway and courtyard below our room is textbook Charleston. Perfectly landscaped. They provided a lobby living room so you can come in and cool off in the summer and have a cold drink and a snack. They provided the umbrella when needed too. They are affiliated with Hanks Restaurant and it was fantastic too! Any advice they gave us was right on the money. Expensive but you really get what you pay for here. LOVED it and will stay here any time we are in town.