Ratings based on 530 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom SC

Great Location and Service

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Pros: Staff, hotel restaurant
Cons: Room furniture could be updated a bit.
Location: Center of everything in Charleston. Art galleries and great shopping.
A two night stay. Hotel staff is extremely well trained and professional. From the bag handler to the front desk to the maid service and restaurant...all excellent. You can really tell that the training of the staff is a high priority here. Location of the hotel was great as well. Would suggest making reservations at the Peninsula Grill which was also excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 15, 2014
Great hotel, would definitely book this hotel again.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom connecticut

Expensive for what you get

Posted Nov 1, 2014
Nice hotel. Not worth the money. Staff is mixed. Some great service, some just so so. Better options nearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom newport beach, CA

First time in charleston

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Perfect location! Walking distance to anything in historic charleston. Would stay again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Delaware

Wonderful

Posted Oct 25, 2014
Highly recommend this hotel. Everything was perfect. Staff were professional and courteous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia

Great hotel close to the market and restaurants

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Great time. Hotel was great with all requests !!!!!! Excellent service and restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fabulous Hotel, location, room & staff

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Absolutely everything! Not even exaggerating.
Location: Perfectly located next to the market and other shopping makes a car unnecessary while visiting this beautiful city.
Located right in the heart of the action, this hotel is a Beautiful, very very very well maintained place to enjoy! I cannot say enough about the front desk, doorman, etc. Wow! They really understand customer service. Highest praise to them. The room was divine. The bed was Sooooo wonderful as was the entire room and bath. The hallway and courtyard below our room is textbook Charleston. Perfectly landscaped. They provided a lobby living room so you can come in and cool off in the summer and have a cold drink and a snack. They provided the umbrella when needed too. They are affiliated with Hanks Restaurant and it was fantastic too! Any advice they gave us was right on the money. Expensive but you really get what you pay for here. LOVED it and will stay here any time we are in town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Philadelphia, PA

Relais & Chateaux Hotel located in historic dist

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Staff and refreshments which were offered throughout the day and evening.
Cons: Hotel should reserve some number of tables for dinner for hotel guests.
Location: Center of market and historic district. Free in-town trolley can take you to museums, battery park, aquarium.
Beautiful hotel in heart of historic district. Walking distance to battery, churches, market, and old cemeteries. Outstanding restaurant but reservations extremely difficult to obtain, even for hotel guests. Staff friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Charleston at it's finest - The Planters Inn

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Pretty much everything, from the complimentary coffee each morning and evening to the gracious service of everyone on staff.
Cons: Can't think of a thing!
Location: Their location is ideal - right across from the Market, in the Historic District and within walking distance of everything
I was excited to arrive at the Inn as their website is quite inviting. I cannot say enought wonderful things about our stay. Everything about this beautiful, charming, well located inn is superb! The staff was uniquely attentive and couldn't do enough to ensure our stay in Charleston was memorable! We had the pleasure of dining in the Peninsula Grill for 2 meals, dinner and breakfast. As a total foodie, I was not disappointed. Again, the ambiance, service and food were impeccable! We look forward to a return stay to this Relais & Chateaux resort!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oklahoma

WONDERFUL Staff, great central location.

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Location, friendly, rooms and feel of the old south.
Cons: Room 207 has some random noise coming from the roof/ac area that sounded like a pump. Heard it a few times a day. Lasted 5 seconds and quit.
Location: Great shopping and food all around. Walking tours to the south.
The Staff at Planters Inn, (William and Josh, specifically) went out of their way to be accommodating. My wife fractured her knee a few weeks before this trip. The wheelchair at the hotel was broke when we arrived, however, within a few hours, they had located another one from another hotel and had it delivered to the room. We used it all during the stay and was a lifesaver. The Bellman's were all great helping with the valet and chair issues daily. Location served us great as we rolled all over with ease. Room was nice as expected and maid service was excellent.