Ratings based on 112 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Uncomfortable stay

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Pros: We liked that the hotel was close to the shuttle that we were catching in the morning. The price was cheaper than historic Charleston.
Cons: The attitude of the staff, hospitality training, and the quality of the breakfast food.
Location: Close to the interstate to get to historic Charleston, close to outlet malls, and to the airport.
When we arrived, the staff was not friendly. They seemed to want to hurry and get us out of their way. Not only that, but as I was checking in, the front desk representative said my room number aloud while there were other people in the lobby. As a former hotel employee, the first thing I was taught was that you NEVER say a guest's room number out loud for others to hear. Now perhaps he was never told this, but it was uncomfortable to be in a strange city and have other people know what room you're going to be in, especially when you're staying in a hotel that has rooms with exterior entrances. The room itself was not great. The adjoining door didn't have a lock on it, so that made it a little uncomfortable, there were sections of room that had clearly never been vacuumed, you could hear the neighbors like they were in the room with you, and the bathroom was dirty and outdated. Then, as if I wasn't already feeling uncomfortable, someone pounded on our door at 3:00 AM. This stranger knocked several times and finally went away. While this isn't the hotel's fault, it is worth noting. The next day, our shower had no hot water and the breakfast, while included in the price, left much to be desired. The biscuits looked like dry sponges, the sausage gravy was in a dirty-looking crock pot, and the pastries looked and tasted like they were cheap and pre-packed. Overall, I would only stay here if I had not other choices.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Every room is smoking room. Gross!

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Cons: Keep non-smoking rooms that way, or clean them
Location: Unknown. Traveling through area.
Registered for non-smoking room with Expedia. Got to hotel, they gave me room that smelled like cigarette smoke. A lot. Went to front desk & clerk told me that unfortunately all the rooms smell like that because they get a lot of workers staying there temporarily, and they tend to smoke in the non-smoking rooms. Did not give me another room because clerk said they were all the same. I told clerk to please make a note of my complaint, as I didn't want to be charged extra for cigarette smell in non-smoking room. They said OK, let us know if you need anything else! Sucks for me. I hate cigarette smell.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Raleigh, NC

Stay at Quality Inn

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: It was nice and dry on a wet weekend.
Cons: Communication at the front desk.
Location: This was close to the convention center, where we had to attend events prior to the Cooper River Bridge Run.
The hotel was okay. And the staff when we checked in were very nice. However, there was a problem when I had to change my reservation. The lady at the hotel when I called to change my reservation, however, was not very professional. And she made several mistakes. I needed to cancel 1 night of the 3, but she canceled 2. There was no mention that changes should have been made through Expedia, or that there would be a rate increase. This was later explained by Shavonna, when she called to see why our belongings were still in our room. We were still to be in the room, but Shavonna showed that our reservation was over. Fortunately, she also explained that I needed to call Expedia, and they were able to get things straightened out. It was distressing, but it ended up working out okay. They let us stay, and we ended up getting the rate that we'd originally been quoted.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Baltimore, MD

The Wifi couldn't load anything!

Posted Mar 26, 2015
Pros: Breakfast was good.
Bottle cap under chair. Fingernail polish (red) on bedsheets.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a good choice

Posted Feb 11, 2015
They ask your personal information, not safe. At front desk,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Cynthiafrom Connelly Springs, NC

Weekend in Charleston

Posted Jan 15, 2015 on Hotels.com
The hotel was convenient to the convention center, shopping at the outlet stores & restaurants. Great service at the front desk. Clean room. Loved the breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 13, 2015 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Lorraine

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 7, 2015 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Salt Lake City

Worst Quality Inn...ever

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Rooms are old and outdated. 1st room I was in had no hot water, tv didn't work, had to argue with desk clerk to change rooms. 2d room had to have mold, it smelled terrible, house keepers didn't come until asked for, put do not disturb sign up, maintenance either didn't care or can't read, come bounding in at 7 a.m to check tv, even though I never called about it, absolute worse Quality Inn I have ever stayed in, probably won't stay in another based on this experience, it's a shame that the corporation would allow a place like this carry the name, stay away from this hotel. Marriott and Extended Stay are 100 yds away, go the extra distance and save yourself some grief.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Edithfrom Arkansas

Road Trip

Posted Oct 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
This property should be condemned! Roaches crawling on the chairs we were sitting in in broad daylight, mold on the bathroom ceiling and filth above the vanity - Disgusting - would not recommend this dump!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2015 by Sonya, Hotel Management
I am so sorry you experienced visitors while staying with us at the Quality Inn Coliseum. I have contacted Lane's Pest Control about the issues you experienced. I have also addressed the mold and cleanliness issues with our housekeeping and maintenance staff. We value each and everyone of our guest and want to ensure nothing like this ever happens again.