Ratings based on 633 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montgomery, AL

Room reeked of cigarette smoke

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Bad experience: My one-night stay reaffirms the old adage "you get what you pay for." I paid 64.99 for this room. In hindsight, I would have paid 10 to 20 dollars more and stayed a nicer hotel. My major complaint: The room -- in this so-called smoke-free hotel -- exuded the reeking smell of cigarette smoke. If the owners want to claim their hotel is smoke-free, they must replace the carpeting, mattresses, and box springs, and steam clean the curtains and upholstered furniture.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and comfortable

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Only stayed one night. Clean and comfortable. Good price for the area
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Allison from Johnson City tn

Posted Jul 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was alright for the price paid. Room smelled strongly of cigarette smoke even though it was a non smoking room. Room was pretty small but we didn't spend much time in the room anyway. Next time I'd probably spend a little more money to stay somewhere nicer
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Katherine from Kershaw SC

Close, Yet Far Away

Posted Jul 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Although we were only at this hotel for one night, we were pleasantly surprised. The room was clean, the air conditioning worked, it had a clean smell, a great TV with movie channels. My only issue was that the free wi-fi didn't work, but that wasn't a deal breaker, after all you're in Charleston! There are FAR to many things to do than check your Facebook! The location was pretty good, too. It's only about a 15 minute drive to get to down town Charleston, 20 to Mt. Pleasant (Patriots Point), and about 25 to Sullivan's Island. It's right off Ashley Phosophate, but it was VERY quiet for our stay. The only drawback I found was that there is a public transportation drop-off infront of the hotel, which meant many random people would be walking through the parking lot at times. It is a pet friendly hotel, but there was no evidence of that inside the room (smells, or stains), or on the ground around the rooms. I will stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Gainesville, FL

Cheap stay was nicer than expected.

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Just a brief overnight stay on my way up the east coast. Free coffee, but no breakfast (Waffle House just around corner). Free wifi was a pleasant surprise and it worked great for me, even streaming video. First walking into room, it smelled a bit like a barber shop; I suppose that's because of some cleaner they use. But the room was very clean and the bed very comfortable. It also looked like they had recently remodeled to make it a little nicer (though it was still a little tacky, but not something I was concerning with).
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by jeremiah Hudson from North Charleston

Posted Jul 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
I want my money back but keep getting a run around not happy at all.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Haven, CT

Meh

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: The hotel was very close to the highway and very accessible to all the major Charleston locations by car.
Cons: More thorough cleaning service.
Nothing very special. The pictures definitely made it look nicer than it actually was and it seemed like a previously run-down establishment with a coat of paint and some new, cheap but modern-looking furniture. I was expecting better. The rooms were a bit small and there were barely no amenities in the room. No hair dryer, one tiny bottle of two in one shampoo/conditioner, cheap bar of soap. It seemed like they were visibly trying to cut corners. The staff at the front was friendly but the maids came at random hours. One day they'll be there at noon, other times 10 and if you were in the room when they knocked (even if you were leaving in 5 minutes) they would leave a bag of towels and not clean your room for that day. Even when they cleaned, they didn't wipe anything down and left the floors unswept. There was the option of 3 cleaning services: Just making the beds. New towels, make beds, etc. New bed linens, the works. Even with the works, the rooms weren't cleaned well. My biggest qualm was the type of people that were staying there. There were sketchy people hanging out on the balconies, wandering around the rooms and the area was really shady. But I guess that's North Charleston. All in all, the hotel was very So-So for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 2, 2014
My family stayed at the Red Roof for an overnight stop on the way to the beach. This hotel was clean, safe, and the staff were friendly. I would stay here again with no hesitation.