Ratings based on 617 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Short drive to downtown Charleston

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: Close to many activities
Location: Near to mall, movies and downtown
Enjoyed our stay in Charleston, spent time walking downtown, going to a movie and dining out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Charleston, SC

Clean, neat and well put together!

Posted Jul 30, 2014
A plus on color schemes, room setup, all the amitites well on point!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nappanee, In

Very nice hotel

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Hotel room was very nice. Big & roomy. Plenty of room for our luggage & stuff. Loved that it had a fridge, microwave & safe, even though we only used the fridge. Would definitely stay there again if we're ever in Charleston.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montgomery, AL

Room reeked of cigarette smoke

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Bad experience: My one-night stay reaffirms the old adage "you get what you pay for." I paid 64.99 for this room. In hindsight, I would have paid 10 to 20 dollars more and stayed a nicer hotel. My major complaint: The room -- in this so-called smoke-free hotel -- exuded the reeking smell of cigarette smoke. If the owners want to claim their hotel is smoke-free, they must replace the carpeting, mattresses, and box springs, and steam clean the curtains and upholstered furniture.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and comfortable

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Only stayed one night. Clean and comfortable. Good price for the area
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Gainesville, FL

Cheap stay was nicer than expected.

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Just a brief overnight stay on my way up the east coast. Free coffee, but no breakfast (Waffle House just around corner). Free wifi was a pleasant surprise and it worked great for me, even streaming video. First walking into room, it smelled a bit like a barber shop; I suppose that's because of some cleaner they use. But the room was very clean and the bed very comfortable. It also looked like they had recently remodeled to make it a little nicer (though it was still a little tacky, but not something I was concerning with).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Haven, CT

Meh

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: The hotel was very close to the highway and very accessible to all the major Charleston locations by car.
Cons: More thorough cleaning service.
Nothing very special. The pictures definitely made it look nicer than it actually was and it seemed like a previously run-down establishment with a coat of paint and some new, cheap but modern-looking furniture. I was expecting better. The rooms were a bit small and there were barely no amenities in the room. No hair dryer, one tiny bottle of two in one shampoo/conditioner, cheap bar of soap. It seemed like they were visibly trying to cut corners. The staff at the front was friendly but the maids came at random hours. One day they'll be there at noon, other times 10 and if you were in the room when they knocked (even if you were leaving in 5 minutes) they would leave a bag of towels and not clean your room for that day. Even when they cleaned, they didn't wipe anything down and left the floors unswept. There was the option of 3 cleaning services: Just making the beds. New towels, make beds, etc. New bed linens, the works. Even with the works, the rooms weren't cleaned well. My biggest qualm was the type of people that were staying there. There were sketchy people hanging out on the balconies, wandering around the rooms and the area was really shady. But I guess that's North Charleston. All in all, the hotel was very So-So for the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 2, 2014
My family stayed at the Red Roof for an overnight stop on the way to the beach. This hotel was clean, safe, and the staff were friendly. I would stay here again with no hesitation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from greensboro, nc

Close to everything

Posted Jul 1, 2014
The hotel is conveniently located - it's near gas stations, restaurants, and right off the interstate. The room was very clean and quiet. Everything in the room worked as it should have. The staff was okay - they weren't enthusiastic but they weren't rude either.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Angel from Charlotte, nc

Clean hotel room

Posted Jun 21, 2014
I enjoyed the stay clean room clean tub. Check in receptionist wasn't the kindest.