Ratings based on 675 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom sc

Booked wrong Red Roof location

Posted Jan 24, 2015
Ok..clean room...exterior environment could have been better
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cockroaches in room

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Pros: The staff was friendly and the location is good. We had a problem with people in the other room yelling and the staff took care of it when we called.
Cons: I found 2 cockroaches in the room. I have pictures, but I don't see a space to upload them here. They should probably hire an exterminator.
Location: It's right off the highway, which was convenient. It looked like a lot of restaurants and shops were nearby.
I was excited at the cleanliness and condition of the room until I found 2 cockroaches. Needless to say, I won't be staying here again. I will say that the staff was excellent. During the night, I woke up to the people next door screaming at each other, so I called the front desk. The employee immediately went to the room and took care of the situation.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom CT

Basic hotel at a bargain rate

Posted Nov 7, 2014
Pros: It's price.
Cons: Cleanliness of the linens.
Location: Somewhat near the airport in North Charleston but actually in the opposite direction of Charleston itself. Remote from the downtown.
This hotel has a few years on it but has all the basic amenities. The coverlet was stained and a little dirty. Most of the floor was bamboo--and advantage as it was easy to find it clean. Bathroom and other linens seemed fine. I arrived from the airport, went to bed, showered in the morning, and left--so it met my needs.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta, GA

I've had better for the price!

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Cons: Get rid of the bugs. Provide better bed dressing.
Location: 15 mins from downtown Charleston
There were bugs in the bathroom. The covers on the beds were stained and very thin considering the cold weather.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Harriett Cfrom Savannah, GA

Long weekend -Great getaway

Posted Oct 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great choice for the price and location. We were in a superior king- nonsmoking; and overall the room was nice, the bathroom a little small, but everything was very clean and the bed was comfortable. Convenient to food and shopping, and short drive the downtown Charleston. Customer service at the front desk and room service were very good and helpful, we decided to stay an extra night; booked the extra night online without a hassleā€¦.I would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Pamela

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by josefrom orlando

very nice stay

Posted Oct 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
I stayed with my girlfriend for 2 days and it was a very nice stay no complains
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Davefrom Greenville

Good

Posted Oct 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed 1 night. Wasn't bad. Nicely Renovated. For the price, it's worth it. Wouldn't pay anymore then $75 a night though.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Scotland

What a Pit!

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Pros: nothing...especially the cockroaches....and not forgetting the 4am early morning wake up call we didn't ask for.
Cons: Everything!
Location: In a busy area...plenty to eat all around
Travelled to the USA on hols many times over many many years...this hotel, without doubt is the WORST! Learned a very expensive...hard lesson here...we had pre paid to stay 5 nights. Had our budget allowed we would have been out after giving them one night to rectify things. Not sure where to start...worst for me is most definitely the cockroaches/bugs! I can usually tolerate most things as long as I have a clean bed...and no bugs! Only one towel per person...no hand towels...no toiletries...no batteries in tv remote...no toilet roll...asked to sign that we were aware we were in a non smoking room ( which we asked for )...then had to sleep under cig burned covers. Asked for them to be changed 3 times..cig burns and grease staines...all replacements were as bad or in one case worse. Whole hotel shoddy...tired...done...well in need of upgrading...not to mention FUMIGATING ! Having just left a Red Roof hotel in Pigeon Forge...which was immaculate...this was a nightmare. Reception staff...very nicely listened and tried to help...even offered forty percent discount on a future visit...this hotel could not PAY ME to stay here again..This was not a cheap hotel to stay in either.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Perfectly fine for the low price - clean and comfortable, but with no bells or whistles. My one complaint with the Red Roof chain is the lack of coffee in the rooms.