Ratings based on 1,192 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from georgia

It was OK.

Posted Jul 28, 2015
We didn't spend a lot of time there. The bed was comfortable. Didn't have a TV remote control - front desk sent one that didn't work correctly. Limited channels. It was close to town and places to eat.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Augustine, FL

Nice location, 15 mins from downtown, but...

Posted Jul 27, 2015
This hotel is located at 15 minutes’ drive from downtown, which is perfect if: you don't want to spend over $200 per night (this is what you'll pay downtown), you want to stay and a quite location, and you are travelling with pets (thank you Red Roof for being pet friendly!). Mount Pleasant is a very clean and safe area with good restaurants/bars nearby (I recommend the Five Loaves Cafe if you are into healthy, organic food). The hotel is also close to the Shem Creek park, were you can get a nice water/swamp view from the boardwalk. The negatives are that the Red Roof has a motel feel, there are not green areas to walk your pet around the hotel, and the bathroom sink is in the bedroom: not ideal if you are sharing a room with someone and you would like to have some privacy while putting make up on, doing your hair, etc. When you pay $150 a night, you would also expect bigger rooms and enough supplies (there was only one tiny bar of soap in the bathtub, in room for 3 people), but I guess that money won't get you far in Charleston.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC and FL

Decent hotel close to several restaurants

Posted Jul 22, 2015
We stayed at Red Roof plus while in town for a wedding. The room was available for early check in on Sunday around 12:30-1 which was great. The room smelled good, seemed clean. The bed was comfortable. We traveled with our 2 dogs. There were 2 dogs next door who were barking a lot when the owners weren't in their room, our only real complaint. I would recommend this hotel to others traveling with their furry friends. :-)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too much money for too little

Posted Jul 20, 2015
You basically pay too much money to sleep in an uncomfortable bed and shower in a gross shower. There is nothing else in the room. No microwave. No refrigerator.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from inman, SC

Great hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Was nice except read closely because some rooms do not have fridges and microwave. Staff was very willing to help and super friendly. There is no elevator, just stairs but not a problem for us. It was very clean. Only 2 ice makers on 1st floor that was only bad thing. Would stay here again. Also, very close to patriots point/ uss york town and Sullivan's island.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winnsboro, SC

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Check in and checkout was quick and simple. The room smelled and looked good when we walked in. The beds were comfortable. The bathroom was clean and if you want hot water here it is. Everything was clean and updated. The ac worked great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good family hotel.

Posted Jun 21, 2015
This is a very basic motel. No extras. But it is super clean and the staff is Helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from D

Location is very close to IOP and downtown

Posted May 12, 2015
The hotel is ok if you aren't spending a lot of time there. We have used a couple of times because of price and convince, but the rooms were musty and very damp feeling and the air does not work very well. It could be uncomfortable if you plan on spending much time in the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sarasota, FL

No frills, but very clean

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: Clean, recently renovated, location, price
Cons: It is a low-cost motel, so it is tough to complain about the amenities.
Location: Right at the base of the Ravenel bridge, so close to many attractions in Charleston.
We rented two rooms for three nights to attend one of my son's graduation at the Citadel. The rooms were very basic (no refrigerator, no iron, no closet), but they were very clean and recently renovated. The location, however, was great. We were minutes from campus and the historical district. There were several restaurants (and a Starbucks) within walking distance of the hotel. If you want a basic room that is clean and low-cost, this is the place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from from Livonia MI

Good location in a nice part of town.

Posted May 8, 2015
Stayed here for our trip to Charleston. Centrally located between downtown Charleston and Sullivan's Island and Isle of Palms beaches. Mount Pleasant also has a lot of food options nearby. Room was clean, comfortable, and at a good price. I've stayed in way worse for a similar price point. I recommend it.