Ratings based on 986 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from C

You get what you pay for.

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Unpleasant, would save my money for a nicer place for my next visit to South Carolina.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from spartanburg sc

Standard Room is very basic

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: clean room, good location and quick check in. Friendly and helpful front desk staff. Cons: Standard room is small. No fridge, iron or coffee maker. Linens were sparse. Ground floor rooms at the back of the hotel are very noisy. Cars and large diesel trucks park just feet from room doors. Pets are allowed so expect barking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Davidson, NC

Pleasant motel-style accommodation.

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: Its level of comfort, the room design with laminate flooring and modern furniture.
Cons: We had no refrigerator in our room.
This Red Roof Plus offers good value. We had a clean room with an appealing interior and dealt with courteous staff. I would have appreciated a fridge in the room, but I would not hesitate to stay there again. The hotel is easy to find, both the public beach and downtown Charleston are about 15 minutes away in your car. The Mt. Pleasant area is nicely developed which I also consider a plus. Instead of building a long commercial strip, the city obviously chose to design this section of Hw. 17 in a more enlightened way: intersections create pockets of commercial zones with enough trees to be inviting. The overall character of the area is pleasant indeed, which matters to your overall experience. While the hotel does not offer breakfast you can literally WALK around the corner to the next plaza to find different restaurants, a Starbucks and a Harris Teeter supermarket. You can DRIVE to a Whole Foods in 2 minutes and a Trader Joe's in 3 (if you are not into the whole brevity thing). Your drive to the beach or to the city take some time but are very straightforward.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Warren, Ohio

Pretty Nice

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Close to everything we were there to see and do. Small room but clean and comfortable. We were able to walk across a parking lot to get dinner. Overall good stay at a reasonable price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Islamorada

Nice place for a short stay.

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Location: I was there to see the Patriots Point Naval Museum. Wish I had, had more time to see it all.
Rooms had just been upgraded, and very nice to stay in. Only draw back was no coffee maker in room would have to upgrade room for that. Staff were great and very helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to everything

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Bed covers old and wore out. Needs updating. Flat sinks
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Close to the city if you have a car- only a 10 minute drive. Rooms could be cleaner but overall a good experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SC

My go to hotel in charleston

Posted Aug 13, 2014
This is the hotel I will always go to when I visit charleston. The rooms are nice and the wood flooring add a nice touch to it all. My only complaint is the lack of a mini fridge and the thin walls but a cooler and ear plugs make this place work out for me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from m

Clean, comfortable, no wifi

Posted Aug 10, 2014
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Nice, clean, affordable

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: dog friendly
Cons: comfort, friendliness
Location: Great location!!!!!! Near downtown, beach, and multiple stores and restaurants.
We stayed here because we wanted something affordable and dog friendly for just one night. It was clean, and overall I have no complaints. It is also very close to both the beach and downtown Charleston. I personally wouldn't stay here for a long vacation or special occasion, but if you're just making a quick trip, and need something clean and simple this will do.