Ratings based on 228 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Weekend getaway

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Great location for having easy (on foot) access to Charleston tours, shopping, restaurants and nightlife. The concierge was amazing and helped with all of our planning to ensure we covered the best spots to enjoy in a few short days. Rooms are comfortable but aged. Looks like they are working on various improvements but I expected a little better given the hotel brand.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel! Great location!!!

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Great weekend!!! Very nice hotel, fabulous location to shopping, dining!!
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Geor2

Posted Feb 23, 2015
The towels felt like sand paper. The towels at the Holiday Inn are softer for 1/2 the price.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Athens, GA

Family College Visit Trip to Charleston

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: The convenience to the College of Charleston and King Street/Market Street areas.
Cons: Can't change the room sizes, but the price should be adjusted accordingly. These were not $350/night rooms.
Location: Lively nightlife, eateries and shopping within walking distance.
The location of the hotel was very convenient, however the photographs of the exterior of the hotel are very misleading as you envision a large, grand entrance, when in fact you enter from a side street and the front of the hotel and its driveway are sandwiched facing the side of the church next door. The interior of the lobby was nice, but perhaps a little sterile - lots of white marble. Being a family with 2 teenagers, we always reserve 2 rooms so we are not crowded - thankfully we did so on this trip, too. The $349/night rooms were tiny and had the scenic view of the air conditioning units on the rooftop next door. The room was so small that when the bathroom door, which opened out into the room rather than in, was open you could not access the door to the room. The furnishings, while clean, were well worn. Following a walking tour after our arrival we decided to have a drink in the bar before deciding on dinner. We learned then that the hotel's restaurant was CLOSED for renovation and that the bar would be CLOSED for renovation as well following that evening. Including the fact that many of their waitstaff had already been laid off or would soon be. Mind you this was the Thursday before Valentine's Day. Terrible timing on their part. The valet service was dicey - great when they weren't busy, but on one occasion we returned to the hotel and couldn't even get into the driveway much less find a valet. The experience was overpriced for what we received.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location in downtown Charleston.

Posted Feb 12, 2015
Pros: The staff was very friendly and hardworking.
It was a wonderful location. Downtown Charleston, walking distance to everything. Right around the corner from a beautiful church, Our Lady of the Annunciation which has week day masses at 7. The hotel staff was friendly and hardworking. Really aiming to please and not just going through the motions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary Alberta

Nice Hotel close to city center and French Quarter

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: Room, and Very nice Lobby bar with piano player.
Cons: In a tight area, but accessible from Meeting street
Location: Just off Meeting street and easy walking distance to market, horse trolleys, and Historic Homes
Great Tours and Restaurants close by. The area is in the old downtown and close to where two rivers converge into the bay. Quiet hotel with great ambiance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Florence, SC

Convenient proximity to downtown

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Pros: Customer service at the front desk, and bar area were excellent. Was pleased with the modern workout room.
Cons: Bathrooms, fixtures, shower are outdated and unattractive
Location: Great location for walking distance to Market area downtown.
We usually stay at the downtown Renaissance when we visit Charleston. Always a great stay with great customer service. The only complaint that I have is the bathroom in the hotel room. Fixtures and shower are old, and outdated. It would be nice to see tile improvement, and better water pressure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom columbia, sc

Posted Jan 30, 2015
Pros: Closeness of the bar and its atmosphere.
Cons: need a vent in the bathroom for steam from the shower.
Location: Enjoyed the closeness of the many restaurants and the shopping.
Enjoyed staying there very much and it was very convenient for many restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nashville, TN

Great location!

Posted Jan 26, 2015
The hotel staff was great, very courteous. The location was perfect - 1 block from King street, within walking distance of market street and many other tourist attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Greenville,SC

Beautiful hotel, in the heart of historic Charles.

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Pros: everything but we did not try the restaurant except for the free breakfast
Cons: extra blankets and pillows in the room
Location: King street with all it's shopping the market College of Charleston all in walking distance
very nice, staff were great within walking distance to everything of interest