Ratings based on 828 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Irritated from Nashville

rip off

Posted Mar 6, 2014
Pros: It was a Marriott family hotel
Cons: some maintenance, but mostly manager policy
Location: N/A
We try to stay at Marriott properties whenever possible. They are usually all excellent. While this property was outwardly very nice, there were many minor things that were disappointing. There were spots of mold in the bathroom. The knob on the shower control came off in our hands and the diverter did not work properly. We did not complain as we were only there one night and just needed a few hours of sleep before a very early flight. The most disappointing thing was the fact that the manager of that hotel has his own policy of not allowing use of your Marriott rewards number when you do not book directly with him. We found this unacceptable and will not stay at this establishment again. We will also recommend to anyone who may ask that they use any other Marriott property but this one. The final note was that since we did not book directly with them, they would not print us a checkout bill. We will NEVER stay at that hotel again!!
Comment from
Jan 9, 2014
I thank you for the review and deeply apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced; I do wish you would have brought it up to our attention so that we may have had the opportunity to correct to your satisfaction. With respect to the core issue of your discontent, I very much regret the misperception and I can assure you that the policy in question is not a hotel policy, but a Marriott Rewards policy, applicable to all Marriott hotels, and clearly stating that: • Reservations that are made online through a wholesale or discount website (such us Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, etc.) do not qualify* for Rewards points/miles. It is also a fact that per Marriott International policy, the hotel is not to issue a bill for the stay. In fact it is impossible for the hotel (any hotel) to produce an accurate bill, reflecting all costs and fees, paid by the guest to a 3rd party. The hotel collects from the 3rd party room charges only, but other booking fees and taxes are never forwarded to the hotel, so we could not possibly have an accurate total and it is for that reason, that the bill must be obtain on the website on which it was paid.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Easy access to airport.

Posted Mar 6, 2014
Pros: Price was great. Very clean and comfortable. Like the sitting area for TV viewing.
Location: Easy access to historic Charleston, SC.
Hotel was very good value for dollar. Pleasant staff, clean, convenient breakfast and easy access to airport. Air conditioner a bit noisy, but that was minor.
Comment from
Jan 8, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. Your gracious compliments and excellent details are greatly appreciated, and I will be sure to share them with my associates.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Wendy from Alabama

Very nice hotel.

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Pros: Quiet, roomy, clean.
Cons: Beds were a little too soft and the breakfast sausage was dry and not very good. But everything else was great.
Good choice to stay here. The pool was not available the first night thought. But, I suppose that cannot be blamed on anyone.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Looks good on the internet, but not good

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: The staff
Cons: New bed, new pillow and a true update to the room.
We read the online reviews for this hotel and it said that the hotel had comfortable beds and plush pillows. We were sadly disappointed when we checked in. The room appeared to be an old hotel with the old ac units and new wallpaper. The beds were not comfortable and the pillows were not comfortable. Our view overlooked a residential subdivision and the subdivision was not well kept. The breakfast waffles were great, the sausage was scary and the eggs were not very good. With all of that being said, the staff was helpful, pleasant and truly wanted to keep the guests happy.
Comment from
Jan 1, 2014
Thank you for posting this review and I am delighted that you have found our associates to be helpful, pleasant and genuinely wanting to keep our guests happy. I will share with you, that the SpringHill Suites, the fastest growing Marriott brand is actually the result of considerable thought and deliberation, and intended to appeal to the younger generation. Although the vibe might be a little different, overall the SpringHill brand is very well received by the general public, as reflected by the overwhelming excellent reviews, and particularly because the brand offers more space than comparatively priced hotels. I am extremely sorry that the vibe of the hotel was not to your liking and I do apologize if the bedding, which actually far exceeds standard specifications, did not offer the level of comfort expected. As to the hotel itself, it is not yet 5 years old, but indeed wall covering in public areas and some of the furniture, is deliberately intended to bring in a retro look. Thank you again for your feedback.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Springhill Suites, North Charleston

Posted Feb 21, 2014
Pros: Clean, modern, reasonable price with a good breakfast included.
This hotel was clean and very comfortable. Close enough to historic downtown Charleston SC to be a short, comfortable drive. We would definitely stay here again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor quality, not of Marriott standards

Posted Feb 11, 2014
Pros: Sorry, nothing to put here.
Cons: Cameras in parking lot, better lighting. Hotel interior needs updating and heat at least in some rooms needs to be fixed. Hotel seems old/run down.
Location: Charleston city activities. Much better hotel options than this Springhill Suites.
Very disappointing for loyal Marriott customer. Not of Marriott quality. Poor quality, heating didn't work, sketchy activities happening in parking lot, very noisy (at least rooms on 1st floor near kitchen).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Charles from New Jersey

Excellent hotel for the price

Posted Feb 8, 2014
Pros: Hot breakfast; cheerful staff.
Cons: Go back to standard sized pillows!
Desk staff was cheerful and welcomed us. The room was comfortable except for the tiny pillows. The hot breakfast was wonderful! Overall, an excellent hotel at a reasonable price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, clean, modern hotel in North Charleston

Posted Feb 3, 2014
We were pleasantly surprised by the SpringHill Suites hotel. Rooms were large and clean. Nice furnishings and comfortable bed. Well equipped exercise room but indoor pool was very small. Good breakfast with make your own waffles. Just a couple of blocks off of I-26 in an area with lots of restaurants. Only a half hour away from downtown Charleston.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Very convenient location. Room availab

Posted Feb 2, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Better room for hosting breakfast.
Location: Convenient to dinning, the highway and my purpose for being in the City.
Reservation accommodated on short notice. Pleasant staff. Clean comfortable room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice rooms, friendly staff

Posted Feb 2, 2014
Pros: Loved the friendly staff and the awesome breakfast.
Cons: I didn't like that the bathroom light was directly in front of the bed.
Location: The room was in a convenient location, close to everything we were looking for.
We were in town for one night to shop and watch a hockey game. The staff was friendly, the room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was great.