Ratings based on 1,762 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Elegant, old hotel. Very close to College of Char

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Enjoyed our stay. Beautiful lobby. good restaurant. Starbucks near lobby
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Upstate SC

As good as it gets!

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Smooth as fine silk! Staff, appearance, access, comfort all were excellent. Access to downtown Charleston was perfect. Close enough to most shops and restaurants. Far enough to stretch your legs to consume all the history and ambiance that is Historic Charleston! Thanks for a wonderful but too short of a stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Step into luxury

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: Loved the hotel and its staff. The rooms were spotless, spacious and the bed amazing
Location: Perfect location in historic Charlestown, close to shopping, dining, culture, museums all within short walking distance so a car is truly not need.
What a wonderful place to visit and stay! The staff is helpful and approachable. The facilities are beautifully decorated. the rooms a very spacious and maculate. The bed was so comfortable I didn't want to get out of it. The hotel is also located in the perfect spot to access everything in historic downtown Charlestown, so that a rental car is not necessary.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Catharines, Ontario, Canada

Great location. Close to everything.

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Great location. Hotel would benefit from a renovation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NewYork

great. Great restaurant, too.

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Close to everything; comfy beds; nice rooms; nice staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great location, tiny room

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Great atmosphere, very nice staff.
Cons: Water shouldn't go scalding hot when the toilet is flushed or the shower is started.
Location: Dining, shopping
This is a great place to stay - within walking distance to many historic sites, as well as btreat shopping and restaurants. But the room is very small. The bathroom is even smaller with no room to put toiletries o the vanity. Also, a pet peeve - the water pressure was horrendous. If you flush the toilet, the water in the sink goes scalding hot. Also, the shower was affected by other guests using it at the same time. I realize that's probably a given for a historic hotel, but for me it means we wouldn't stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nostalgic

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: It's just a beautiful facility with convenient restaurant and facilities.
Cons: It could be a little cleaner as far as paint on doors.
Location: Restaurants are very close. Farmers market is close by.
The bell staff was fabulous. Especially John. He never passed us without speaking to us by name and bent over backwards to accomodate us. He was helpful immediately with recommending restaurants too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Wake Forest, NC

Urban Restored Hotel but Good Location

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Pros: Location and the feel of a restored property.
Cons: Better space utilization in some rooms would make sense.
Location: See general comments
We stayed here one night on a trip to Florida. The hotel is historic and the restoration was done with care. Problem is historic doesn't equate to convenient in all cases. Our room had two double beds stuffed into a space that would have fit one queen or two twin beds perfectly. The bathroom was tiny, so much so, the flush valve was mounted to the side of the toilet, not behind like you normally see. Made using it a bit artful since I'm around 6' tall and not tiny myself. The extra $16 fee for parking seemed a bit stiff, but you are on King Street which is the retail heart of downtown Charleston, and you can walk to many other restaurants, art galleries, and attractions such as the old Market. And, let's face it, parking in downtown Charleston isn't abundant. Staff was pleasant and eager to help.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Great location!

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: I liked the location of this hotel best. We had a car, but there are a lot of amenities within walking distance.
Location: We're a big foodie family and found great donuts and ice cream within walking distance of the hotel. It was about a 30 minute drive to Kiawah Island.
The Francis Marion Hotel is centrally located in the heart of historic Charleston. We arrived on a Saturday afternoon and were excited to explore the farmer's market across the street as waited for our room to become available. We were 5 people in a suite. The room had a king bed, a queen sofa bed, 2 TVs, and they were able to provide us with a twin fold out. The amount of space was perfect, my only complaint was that the bathroom was pretty small for a suite. Otherwise, the staff was helpful with directions and recommendations as well as prompt when we requested extra bedding and towels.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted Jul 29, 2014
But big and personal , poor wifi and poor hot water