Ratings based on 744 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pennsylvania

Beautiful hotel and patio area.

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Pros: Lounge area, lobby, and outdoor patio.
Cons: Keep lounge open later than 11:30 PM.
Location: We enjoyed the location very much. Close to both residential and shopping areas.
The hotel lobby and lounge areas are wonderful. Staff is friendly and room was clean. The room could have been a little bigger but overall experience was great. This is a good location as it borders between the historic residential areas and the shopping areas. Short walk to tour the houses and history. Many places to shop and eat with some of them across the street.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Marquette, Mi

Historic neighborhood without over-the-top service

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: Location was good for walking around historic Charleston
Cons: The tiny rooms in an expansive hotel felt as if they were trying to cram as many guests in the space as possible.
Location: Again, the hotel was located in an ideal spot for walking around historic Charleston.
In a town that is dripping with charm, this hotel was lacking. To be fair, I think I expected a more gracious experience while staying in historic Charleston. Concierge was helpful. Staff were pleasant enough, but no one went out of their way to be above adequate. The room and especially the bathroom, were small. The lobby's decor had historic detailing but on second glance, the spaces felt like a large and somewhat ordinary hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom B

Charleston classic

Posted Apr 16, 2015
The mills house hotel in Charleston is a classic. It was originally called the Charleston hotel and then the Mills House after its architect. The location is unrivaled. It is an easy walk to shopping and restaurants but also very close to South of Broad residential areas. The recent update by Wyndham makes it a solid choice for a higher end hotel. The staff was warm and pleasant some capable. The restaurant is adequate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Springfield, MO

Great hotel. But

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Loved this hotel. Great location and very friendly staff. Great shopping and restaurants close by. Never got our car out of the garage the entire stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Charlotte, NC

Great location

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Loved the location - was able to walk to everything in the historical area. Hotel was very well maintained. Staff was friendly. Had some issues with valet but other than that, loved the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom North Carolina

Southern Charm Getaway

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Pros: Everything-The rooms were very charming with even plantation shutter style doors on the closets. Bathrooms with granite and very up to date.
Cons: No complaints.
Location: Prime spot on corner of Meeting Street and Queen Street which are both very well known. Lots of shopping and restaurants all around.
I took my 14 year old daughter for her Spring Break to Charleston. I searched extensively on Expedia and finally decided on The Mills House. This place was perfect. It was in a prime location. We would walk to the Market, shop endlessly on King Street and visit plenty of top notch restaurants without ever having to drive anywhere. The only time I needed my car was one day we decided to drive over to Folly Beach for the day. That was also great. The Mills House was easy to spot with the pink-painted brick accented with black. Not only did it have curb appeal but the inside was magnificent. It was complete Southern Charm with superlative details. There was a restaurant with indoor seating or you could sit in the courtyard outdoors surrounded by flowing water fountains and stainless heaters for those cool nights. My daughter and I would go down for an evening dessert to enjoy the courtyard. The valets were very attentive and quite frankly, I hated to leave. I would plan to stay in the exact hotel again. The rooms were so charming and had everything we needed. The beds were just a bit too comfortable which made it hard to get up in the mornings. Loved it!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wisconsin

Great Hotel in the heart of Charleston.

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: Location and service.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Great Walking Tours.
I will return to this hotel and the city. Great place for a weekend visit or an extended stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Great location. A little loud - road noise and thin walls.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Hampshire

Great location

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Pros: The decor, location, court yard and restaurant.
Cons: Layout of room
Location: Location is perfect with many great restaurants right outside of the door and the water front within a few blocks.
Hotel location is excellent and up on arrival you are great by a pleasant staff member. The lobby is decorated beautifully and the terrace court yard is wonderful. We also enjoyed the hotel restaurant and the star bucks coffee. However, we had a double room and they lay out was not efficient and felt very cramped and for the price I felt it could have been nicer, but I do have to say the beds where very comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Lovely hotel in the historic district with all expected amenities.