Ratings based on 527 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Beautiful historic hotel with rooftop pool

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: Lovely lobby, restaurants and pool/cafe.
Cons: Our room was next to the elevators and maids quarters so not the quietest! Also I had booked on Expedia and then was charged again upon checking out.
Location: Great location walking distance to restaurants, shopping and attractions. Short drive to beaches.
The Mills House is a lovely restored building in the heart of Charleston's historic district. The rooftop pool and outdoor cafe are awesome and relaxing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charleston 4th of July

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Price!
Location: Right in the center of the French Quarter!
For the amount of money that we paid for the room on Friday and Saturday, $339 per night, I usually expect a nicer than a Standard two double bed room, but hey, it was my choice to give it a try and and I was the one who loved to regret it. Location however was perfect!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A nice way to spend our 40th anniversary

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Close to everything downtown. We live locally and chose the Mills House as a getaway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Heart of Charleston

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Location ideal for exploring. Pool adds kid friendly feature. Bar and restaurant were good but better prices and variety nearby. Concierge excellent, but some staff less amiable. I would stay here again for my next visit
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S. Florida

Excellent location

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: Marvelous staff
Cons: Needs more towel hooks in the bathroom.
Location: Two blocks from Market Street in the heart of the city.
We had a great time shopping on Market Street and dining in a number of restaurants within walking distance of the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central Stay in Charleston, SC

Posted Jul 4, 2014
This was a beautiful hotel with a very convenient location. We could walk to just about any attraction or restaurant we desired. We had a corner room with two windows giving us great views of Meeting St. Our room was very comfortable and cozy. The staff was very cordial and helpful. We would gladly stay at Mills House anytime.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent!

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Just stayed at The Mills House with 3 girlfriends, it was wonderful. It is a beautiful hotel and close to the historic district. Didn't want to leave! Couldn't have been more perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ny

Convenient location of a grand dame

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Nice pool , very we'll kept. Wish they had in room safes & fridge
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sarasota, FL

Clean, courteous and convenient

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Clean, comfortable and convenient.
Cons: Customer service could be improved a bit. The valet manager poorly handled a mistake on her part, which left us with a sour taste.
The Mills House was a great location close to many of the best restaurants and shopping Charleston has to offer, as well as just a jaunt to the battery, which is the city's cool historic place with old homes near the water. Hotel delivered what you would expect of a chain - clean, consistent and mostly a great experience. We had a moody bartender and a valet parking snafu that wasn't handled real well, but other than that, I was happy with our stay.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fairfax, VA

Hotel of Choice

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Central location and friendliness of the staff.
Cons: Hopefully, at some point in the future they will offer a breakfast buffet but we did not have any complaints regarding the current breakfast menu.
Location: Great restaurants, art galleries, shopping and local sights. Is on the free trolly line to get around town.
The Mills House is our hotel of choice when visiting Charleston .....it is centrally located to shopping, attractions, great restaurants, and nearby churches. Previously, the property belonged to Holiday Inn but was recently purchased by Wynham Hotels....the service is still outstanding and the rooms are comfortably appointed.