Ratings based on 520 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Needs Upgrades to Rooms

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Close to ocean. Good restaurants.
Cons: Put couples with children away from couples with children Replace stained bathroom sink Have stained carpet cleaned/replaced
Location: Nice beach area though sharks have been sighted (this is the ocean!)
As previously stated upgrades necessary to improve rating. Our bathroom sink was stained which made it look dirty and also stains on carpet. We were late getting to our room since it wasn't ready until 5:00 PM (check-in states 4:00 PM). The restaurants were very good and within walking distance. We were only here for 1 day.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing for the price I paid

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: Location to the beach
Cons: Almost everything, even the WiFi wasn't working.
The WiFi was not working and there were bugs in the room. The breakfast was very limited. A good location, but for the price I paid, it was disappointing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Western SC

Easy access to beach

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: Easy to get in and out. Friendly staff. Clean and comfortable room and bed.
Cons: Bathroom could use some updating, but was very clean and nice.
Location: Location is great and the beach is great for walking. You can walk your dog on a leash. Great food within easy walking distance & right next door.
We were greeted by very friendly staff who took good care of us. The beach access is fantastic as well as ease of walking to great places to eat. Parking was close by and they have a great loading and unloading setup.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TX

Close to the beach

Posted Aug 15, 2014
The rooms are very old and very dirty. The shower curtain was caked with dirt and the sinks looked like they had not been cleaned. The room also had a an awful odor.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 31, 2014
The reviews scared me put there are not many choices to be on the Isle of Palms. I was pleasantly surprised - people are friendly, room was clean, people were in the pool, and it is directly on a great beach. Some rooms will definitely be loud.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2014 by Reid Matthews, Hotel Management
Thank you for coming to see us at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel! I am glad we were able to exceed your expectations and allow you to have a pleasant stay with us! We take price in our customer service, have been working hard to improve room cleanliness, and, of course, the Isle of Palms beaches are some of the best in the Carolinas! We hope you come and see us again soon! All the best! Reid M. Assistant General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Location
Location: Again, great location. Restaurant's VERY close and beach access is good.
Great location. Rooms OK, little on the small side but your not there to hang out in the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2014 by Reid Matthews, Hotel Management
Thank you for four star rating and comments about our property. One of biggest things so many guest love about our property is the location in the heart of downtown Isle of Palms. Next time you stay with us, try one of our oceanfront rooms. These rooms are the largest on property with an extra seating area that includes a pullout couch and a wet-bar! Thank your for taking the time to critique our hotel! Hope to see you again soon!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Va Beach, VA

Location to the beach was great. Hotel much older.

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Hotel older than photos on line. Housekeeping staff terrible. Never got our room cleaned even after we asked. Front desk defended them saying they were great. We're able to get clean towels upon request. Hallway very noisy. Continental breakfast very limited. Will not return to this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Columbia, SC

Weekend with the Grand Children

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: The location
Cons: A little update to the rooms would be nice
Location: If you were to leave the island there is plently to do--We stayed on the island and eating and entertainment with children is limited
We were able to check in early which was a pleasant surprise--room was pleasant no outside view which was ok--definitely a older hotel but room was clean. Our Grandchildren are 8 and 5 had loved the pool and being so close to the ocean. We have been to Isle of Palm many times--Found that there weren't many restaurants to walk to usually we leave the island to eat but decided just to stay local with the children. Over all we had a great weekend and would return again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2014 by Reid Matthews, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to spend time with your grand children and us at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel! The on property pool and easy access to the ocean is always exciting for families with children. Next time you come, let us know what kind of restaurants you are desiring and we can point in the right direction. The entire Charleston area is known for it's unique cuisines and we want to make sure you locate a few places while visiting. Thank you for the comments and we hope to see you again soon! Reid Assistant General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Nice hotel to stay. Parking is off street. Clean comfortable room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicagoland

Weekend away

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: Great location, very helpful friendly staff. Room was clean and comfortable. Pool was a bit small but nice
Cons: Door on room needed to be pushed shut each time
Spent a weekend away at the beach... Second honeymoon