Ratings based on 65 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by c from R

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gerardo

Nice location in heart of Charleston

Posted Jan 16, 2014
Pros: location, clean
Cons: If advertising to have Internet service, have this operational.
The Society House is in a great location for sight seeing, shopping, and dining. Descriptions were accurate of the condo, and we found it comfortable for our 2 night stay. Our unit was on the 2nd floor above a store facing King Street. We enjoyed the large windows that looked down on the activity below, but this did allow for a little more noise than we like. Our Internet service was out which was frustrating as it was not corrected during our stay. The "off-site" management was apologetic for this "after" our stay and did offer a discount for the inconvenience. All in all, we would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Steve M from DC

Excellent Option

Posted Dec 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
We had an enjoyable stay at The Society House and would especially recommend it to groups who are visiting Charleston and need a little extra space than the average hotel room offers, for a comparable price. Pros - Loads of room for my wife and I and our 21 mth old boy. - Lovely modern kitchen to prepare meals - Fantastic location, right in the heart of the city on King St ------ Cons - Living room couch in room 304 has seen much much better days, needs replacement - Floor was dusty and hadn't been cleaned properly before our visit - Windows don't offer great protection from the sounds of the city - Beautiful shower in en suite, but didn't have the water pressure to match ---- Other notes: We had no issue with the 30 or so steps that lead to the third floor apartments, but it would definitely be an issue for those who might not be quite as mobile. If apt 304 had a new couch, better windows and had been cleaned properly, this would probably be a 5* review
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Allen from M

Great Location and very clean

Posted Dec 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stayed in room 302, on Society street. Roomy, clean, comfortable and in very great location. All the house and all rooms were very clean. The only downside is the number of stairs going to third floor and noise coming from the neighbor hood and street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 2, 2013
Cons: Having someone on staff
Really great apartment!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by JEB from Durham, NC

Lots of space, great location. Not for newbies tho

Posted Nov 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Society House is a condo development that rents units as hotel space. So there's plenty of room and a great kitchen, and the neighborhood is great for people who are familiar with Charleston. But there is no on-site staff to assist with questions or help with baggage. No on-site parking -- you need to know where the parking decks are located nearby. There's no elevator, and it's a steep climb for anyone with bags. They only provide one key, which makes for some juggling when traveling with multiple people. The place was also a bit dirty and several light bulbs were out/missing, and no one was available to remedy the situation. All in all, since I know Charleston pretty well I liked my time at Society House, but it comes with caveats.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Julia from DC

Great Place, Difficult Access

Posted Nov 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
The room was spacious and clean, the only issue we had was booking through Hotels.com they don't give you the access code to the lockbox to get your key. I was a bit panicked when I got to the door and didn't have a way to get in, no one was answering the main number for Society House. Luckily another guest was leaving and I was able to get an after hours number from them in order to call and get the code to the lockbox.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Okatie, C

Great Idea, poorly executed

Posted Sep 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
This rental condo looked very good on paper = great location, reasonable price. Went down hill from moment of arrival. No elevator and VERY steep two story trek to the lodging floor. We had unit #303, which wad sorely in need of an internal paint job. Another fligth to the actual bed rooms - so small there was not room for a bedside table, thus no reading lamps. This two bedroom unit would have made an adequate one bedroom. Closet shelving was laying on the floor and no bar on which to hang clothes. The other bedroom was a little better but no TV. Several burnt out light bulbs. Would not recommend under any circumstances
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great location in historic Charleston

Posted Sep 3, 2013
Pros: Roomy, clean, Terrific location on King Street
Cons: There was only one shower. I would have preferred 2 full baths instead of 1 1/2 Kitchen was not well stocked.
This is a prime location for walking around in downtown Charleston. I think the condo is ideal if you are staying with a family. There is a pretty nice kitchen with granite counters and Kitchen Aid appliances. We went with our 2 kids and parents. Kids slept on sofa bed,
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Ran from Winston Salem, NC

Great Location

Posted Aug 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Unit 303 was not very clean. When you walk in the door the first thing that catches your eye is that the walls need painting. The floor in the kitchen had dried food on the floor. We took a damp towel and cleaned the kitchen and living room. The towel was dark brown. My white socks were brown to from walking in the bedroom and bathroom upstairs. The overall appearance was great. The location was excellent. The furniture in the living room was completely worn out. The mattress on the bed was lumpy and worn out as well. My back stills hurts from sleeping three days on it. Just a few things that need attention to make it a top notch experience. The other units may be fine, but this one needs attention.