Ratings based on 509 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 24, 2014
Cons: Our only complaints are a noisy heat pimp type noise and a very loud gurguling through the sink when an upstairs room used the plumbing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Brittney from Arlington, VA

Beautiful Historic Hotel in Downtown Charleston

Posted Jan 16, 2014
Pros: Ideal location, walk to everything. Just a few blocks to the Battery, Market street, restaurants, etc. Beautiful historic hotel
Cons: Better breakfast options, quieter stairs, quieter AC vents
Location: Ideal location, walk to everything. Just a few blocks to the Battery, Market street, restaurants, etc. Beautiful historic hotel
This was our second stay at the Vendue Inn and, unfortunately, our experience just wasn't as great as the first time. The hotel is under construction so the restaurant where the made-to-order breakfast was served was closed. This wouldn't really be a big deal but it's a huge selling point of why we liked to stay there because it was included in the price of the hotel and the breakfasts were great. They served coffee/tea and tiny muffins instead. Not the same so we were disappointed. We were comp'd an upgrade to a king suite which was beautiful. There were a few issues with it. There were wine spills on the floor between the bathroom and the bed. There was black hair in the tub and some mold around the grout. However, due to where it was located (next too and under the stairs) we could hear everyone walking up and down the stairs quite loudly. We could also hear everything from the room above us (i.e. it sounded like a sumo wrestler practicing furniture arranging). The AC vents were so loud that it woke us up every single time they turned on. We let the staff know and they were very accommodating and offered to switch us to another room but it seemed like more trouble than it was worth. Either way, this probably won't hinder us from returning but we'd be specific about what room we would stay in and would wait until the construction is complete and the restaurant re-opened. It's an ideal location and we could walk to everything.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Frequent traveler from North Carolina

not good value for money

Posted Jan 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Entire hotel staff very friendly and helpful and the location was convenient. But the room itself, which is in the annex while the main hotel is being renovated, was disappointing. Aside from the bed, the furniture was old and worn. The dim lighting made the room gloomy rather than cozy and two burnt out light bulbs in the tiny bath area added to the gloom. The rooms can use some serious updating. I would only consider returning to the Vendue when the main building re-opens. Until then, look elsewhere. At present I don't think the hotel offers good value for money.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 8, 2014
Pros: It is a great location, close to the water. Just overrated and overpriced.
The room was very small with no window. It was dark and gloomy with dated interiors. Needs to be updated. I don't know how this hotel could have gotten a 4 star rating as it had no real amenities. Very disappointing.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by CDD from FL

High price for its facilities.

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
No bar fridge in the room, rather meager breakfast, low quality tea choices. Better hotels are available in NY NY. at this price. Staff helpful and a good location. Overpriced and facilities rather dated, both in the rooms and communal areas.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by Jason from Midland, Texas

Disappointing Experience

Posted Jan 1, 2014
Pros: The staff was very friendly.
Cons: The rooms need a serious upgrade.
Location: The location was perfect! Located in historic Charleston, it was easily within walking distance to shopping and an assortment of restaurants.
The Vendue was under renovation and we were placed at the Anchorage hotel across the street from the Vendue. It's my understanding the Vendue recently purchased the Anchorage hotel to house displaced guests. The bed was extremely uncomfortable, the bathroom was outdated and filthy. The bathtub tiles were mildewed. The hot water supply was inadequate and unreliable. The room, overall, was very uncomfortable and unpleasant. It was certainly not worth the money. The staff, however, we're very friendly and very helpful. Had I known about the impending renovations when I made my reservations, I would have not chosen the Vendue.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Bob Robinson from Oxford, MS

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 28, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 26, 2013 on Hotels.com