Ratings based on 703 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Queens, NY

Pillow-top beds

Posted Jun 17, 2015
Pros: Robert Lange has curated the hotels hallways and open spaces with a great eye.
Location: The art scene in Charleston is great and the hotel resides in the center of it. The waterfront park is steps away with its two fountains and the pier
While pillow-top beds are great for some people, we did not enjoy it. However, the hotel, its staff, and the location were all excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

A visual delight

Posted Jun 17, 2015
Pros: The quirkiness and playfulness of the decor. The cool vibe.
Cons: I am nitpicking here but there are stairs up to the front door and lugging the suitcase up stairs is a bit of a hassle. The bellman assisted though.
Location: The hotel is right by the water and a beautiful park with fountains. Each afternoon, we'd sit on a shady park bench and watch the ships go by.
I loved this hotel! Each piece of art on the wall was a visual delight. The decor was beautiful and playful. The food at the Drawing Room was one of the best meals I've ever had. Ryan the waiter made our night! Just a fantastic time there and a perfect location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ashburn, VA

Amazing offering in the heart of Chucktown!!!

Posted Jun 16, 2015
While in Charleston for a wedding on Sullivans Island, my husband and I had the pleasure of staying at The Vendue for two nights and we hated to leave on day three... This boutique hotel offers many extras as a part of your stay, to include wine and cookies and milk! While you may have to stay at 26 across from the main hotel, it is just as quaint and only a short walk across the street to the Rooftop Bar. All of the staff are very friendly and make your stay feel like you are the only guests in residence! Don't forget to experience the amazing brunch if you are there on Sundays and walk a half block to enjoy a wet treat at the end of the street on the battery!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Vendue Stay

Posted Jun 12, 2015
Pros: Location - very close to restaurants and activities 2) Staff - courteous and helpful. 3) Beds were very comfortable 4) Rooms were very clean
Cons: Only had valet parking for $20/day
Location: Restaurants and activities were within walking distance
We stayed at the Vendue with our friends while both couples were celebrating our 40th anniversaries. We were very pleased with our choice of the Vendue for numerous reasons: 1) Location - very close to many good restaurants and activities 2) Staff - all inclusive - could not have been more courteous and helpful. 3) Beds were very comfortable 4) Rooms were very clean
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Our stay at the Vendue

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: Nice bar
Cons: Before assigning guests to a room make sure you know what the room is like
Location: Good location can walk to all attractions
This is our first stay at this hotel. The room that i booked for was supposed to be a better queen size room in comfort. The room I got was the size of my closet! We had to close the TV cabinet doors to get between the bed & the cabinet to get to either the entry door or the tiny bathroom The window did not have drapery which meant you would get daylight in as well as the street light below! When I told the fellow at the reception desk this he couldn't belive my story so he asked to see the room. He then moved us to a room twice the size with a real bathroom & space to breath. If you Book make sure of what you are booking into & don't be afraid to tell them you are not pleased with what you got or happy in any case.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great location hotel

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: The great location. Everything was within walking distance.
Cons: I don't know if you can improve the view - we looked out onto a electrical substation. Room/bathroom was small.
Location: We took an Old South Carriage Ride and learned about the Historic District. Also, within walking distance was the market place. Both a must see.
The hotel is in a great location! Friendly and helpful staff. Our hotel looked out on a substation - horrible view, but the wine in the afternoon and the cookies and milk before bed made up for it. The bed and pillows were very confortable. Rooms and bathrooms are small. The location is great as you can walk right down to a little pier, walk to the market place, and all the historic sites.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Jun 7, 2015
Great location to fabulous food , shopping, and water front.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia Beach, VA

2nd stay...Great facility and staff...

Posted Jun 7, 2015
Pros: Staff friendliness and professional...
Cons: Bedroom needs 2 chairs...
Every thing was above and beyond expectations...Food service was excellent...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ma.

it's great

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: we loved the room, the staff, the location and the city.
Cons: the beignets at breakfast did not RISE to the occasion.
Location: the location is close to the water, wonderful shops and gallerys and restaurants, all within walking distance.
2 nights at the vendue. the room was wonderful, with a four poster bed and fireplace, altogether charming.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, AL

Charleston Weekend/Anniversary Trip

Posted May 20, 2015
Pros: Staff was top notch
Cons: Hotel lacked a few amenities. No ability to print. No bikes as stated on website.
Location: Walk to just about all the top locations from the Vendue. Great dining at hundreds of Charleston spots within a 15 minute walk.
Nice hotel in a great location. Heart of the French Quarter close to great shopping and dining. Drawing Room and Rooftop bars and food were both very good. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Old mixed with new was a bit strange at times. Changing art throughout the hotel was a nice touch.