Ratings based on 532 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte

recommended

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Location is great. Room is clean and comfy.
Cons: the king bed is raised too high so that you need a small ladder to get up there - why so tall a bed?
Location: the beach, restaurants, local markets, historical buildings around the general area. you can walk 3 minutes to the beach ans see USS Yorktown
it is within walking distance to a lot of attractions like the market, the horse carriage rides, the shops, great restaurants. staff is friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tega Cay

Art hotel

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Loved the hotel. Appreciated the art everywhere. Rooftop bar was great with wonderful views. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Enjoyed the complimentary special touches, bottle water, sherry, wine and cheese, cookies, truffles and daily notes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from ST LOUIS

NICE EUROPEAN STYLE HOTEL

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: LOCATION, STAFF AND ROOF BAR
Location: MOST EVERYTHING WITHIN WALKING DISTANCE
GOT IN TO TOWN NO PROBLEM. HOTEL GOT US RIGHT UP TO THE ROOM. THE CONCIERGE WAS RIGHT ON WITH ALL THE RESTAURANTS, TRAVEL THROUGH TOWN ARRANGED WELL. ROOF TOP BAR GREAT FOR AN EVENING BREEZE AND A COOL DRINK. I SAT IN THE LOBBY TO READ A BOOK FOR HALF AN HOUR BUT WAS OVERTAKEN BY ALL THE EFFORTS OF THE STAFF IN HELPING PEOPLE FROM RESERVATIONS TO DIRECTIONS SUCH WHERE TO FIND FLOWERS OR A NICE JEWELRY STORE. THEY WOULD EVEN COMPLIMENT EACH OTHER BY ADDING SUGGESTIONS AND REVIEWING EACH OTHERS WORK. NICE PLACE
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ga

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Room was small and because the bed was so high it was difficult for me to get into. Staff very helpful. Expensive. We went to visitors center and found a very nice room for half what we were paying at the vendu. Location was very good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

great location, great service

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Customer Service and location
Cons: AC and better lighting in the rooms without a window
Location: right in the heart of everything
Loved the Vendue Inn. Customer service was excellent. Love the staff there. I purposely picked an inner room without a window. The room was very nicely decorated and it provided everything I needed. Might be too tight for 2 people unless you get along well. The room was a bit dark and could have used some brighter bulbs. AC needed an update. It was not managing the humidity on a muggy Charleston Day. I would book another room in this hotel again and again and again. Really nice facility
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from michigan

Wonderful

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Cons: Makeup mirror in bathroom
Location: Location perfect. Close to everything going on right in the heart of historic district.
We had a great experience with this hotel. The staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. Everyone from the cleaning staff to the managers had a smile and word of welcome. Very clean. Could have used a makeup mirror in the bathroom otherwise our room was great with a warm and charming atmosphere. We had breakfast here every morning and enjoyed the food and helpful staff. I would come back here again in a heartbeat!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bob from Orlando, FL

Prime location in the historic district

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: Location, elegance, charm, and friendly, helpful staff.
Cons: Not all of the bugs have been addressed from the just-completed remodeling. In our room there was no hot water hook-up in the shower.
Location: Perfect location for historic city tours and harbor tours. Hotel is surrounded by restaurants, art galleries, and bars.
My wife and I really enjoyed this hotel. The staff was well trained, knowledgeable, and very professional. They steered us to excellent Charleston city tour guides and wonderful restaurants. The recent remodeling resulted in a very charming and elegant hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Caro from Sydney

Stylish home from home, charming yet sophisticated

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: Excellent location downtown yet close to water & lovely breezes. Fabulous service. Small & stylish-a world away from the anonymity of large hotels.
Cons: A buffet breakfast where we can pick & choose. Would have like a lot more fresh fruit and non-sweetened bread & yoghurt.
Location: Right in the Charleston historical area as is the waterfront and park. Free trolley bus virtually on the doorstep with easy access to everything.
Terrific experience-very comfortable room, staff consistently friendly, courteous & eager to assist. Hotel just re opened after upgrade. A good mix of old fashioned yet modern amenities. Staff happy to offer extra hour beyond normal checkout without charge and to store baggage till early evening when I left. All staff service faultless, from housekeeping to bell hops and service staff across all areas. Impressed with the pre arrival confirmation system and welcome email.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by vacationer from Houston, TX

Lasting Impressions

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Loved our stay at The Vendue. Lovely staff, nice extras (cookies, wine), close proximity to restaurants, galleries , and the wharf. Hope to return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Judi from Cleveland. OH

Gorgeous remodel exceptional staff

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Pros: Beautifully updated while keeping historical charm. Can not sat enough about the exceptional staff
Cons: Nothing
Location: Everything within walking distance or quick bike taxi away.
Short visit to Charleston with my daughter for wedding planning. The Vendue was the perfect choice to stay. The friendly staff was always welcoming after our long days of appointments. Great at dinner recommendations or booking a quick walking tour, Lawson was the best! I highly recommend a stay in this beautifully remodeled hotel. Definitely plan on returning.