Ratings based on 537 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertford, NC

professional, helpful, nice staff-will return.

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: Everything and the location was great!
Cons: Rates are high.
Location: Great!
Did not get time to go to roof top. We want to go back to check that out. Everyone was very nice & helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from State College, Pa.

Elegant hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: Nothing
Location: The Market, high end restaurants (Cypress, Blossom, Magnolia), the waterfront
We have just returned from a 4 day stay in Charleston at the Vendue. We booked an interior king room with no windows. Although I had read some negative reviews about these rooms (poor lighting, claustrophobic), we found the room to be cozy and PERFECT for sleeping. The bed was comfortable, and the shower was brilliant! The staff greet you at every turn and truly appear to want to make your stay comfortable. The coffee in the AM, wine and hors d'oevres in the late afternoon and cookies and milk in the evening were delightful. The front desk staff couldn't have been more helpful from reservations for dinner or a bicycle taxi, to vouchers for the carriage tours, they were knowledgable and efficient. The locations was great, just blocks from the market, only steps to several very high end restaurants, and 1 block from the waterfront park with 2 beautiful fountains. The rooftop bar was wonderful, with many young people bartending and serving who were a delight to talk with and enjoy a cocktail. We had breakfast at their restaurant and found the selections to be unique and delicious (I need to find Geechie Grits up north!) Although there are many beautiful properties in Charleston, you will not be disappointed in your stay at the Vendue as you will be treated with 5 star service and smiles. My husband and I travel quite a bit and have had both great and horrible experiences. This ranks among the best.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bethesda MD

Weekend Getaway

Posted Jul 15, 2014
My wife and I stayed at the Vendue for 2 nights. We stayed at the 19 Vendue property. The stay was fantastic. The service from all -- front desk, concierge, bellman, housekeeping, waiters -- was superb. Truly superb. The location is great, walking distance to all attractions. The rooms are very comfortable, albeit a little small (we were in the Signature King). The hotel seconds as an art gallery, with interesting art displayed throughout the lobby and hallways. Rooftop lounge had great views and was a hip place for drinks. We definitely return.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati

Huge Disappointment

Posted Jul 15, 2014
We were contacted during the day prior to our anticipated arrival that evening. We were told that the a/c was out in the part of the hotel where we had reserved two rooms. We said, okay, no problem. They also offered to rebate $100 per room. Each room had been reserved for $400. Okay. When we arrived, we were shown to our rooms. Each were Tiny. And one room had No windows, No windows. What? That is not a room. It is a broom closet. Yet we were still paying $300 for that room. Needless to say, we were very disappointed and were not satisfied with the experience. We will not be returning and we will not recommend The Vendue to our friends.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Morgan Hill, Ca

2nd Time Experience

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: Convenient to everything & learned you can use their sister hotel Tides at Folly Beach
Cons: Since the new ownership they are missing the "human factor" of that Southern genuine hospitality! That was the main reason we came back.
Location: Walked a lot downtown, went to the aquarium, Magnolia Plantation, Folly Beach & took a day trip to Savannah. Lots of great restaurants & tours.
New owners, lost the genuine Southern Hospitality. Main hotel renovation -1st floor looked great, very artsy, not sure about the rooms. Stayed in Vendue 26, across the street, older part, not as clean or up to date. Would thought for 2nd time visitors within a year would of received better service & accommodations. Chest drawers were hard to open being all wood, bed post not secured to the wall, maid service did not take dirty glasses on more than one occasion, wanted to do turn down service at 5:00 when your usually getting ready for dinner or going out. Way too early, and they really did not do anything except put chocolate on the bed. There were few bell men we recognize from our last visit Ed & Mark that were always helpful. Desk clerk who checked us in was suppose to get back to us on discounts never happened, we did get our refrigerator fee of $25 waived, after voicing concerns of our rate & their promotions. For the cost we expected better Southern hospitality & accommodations! Not knowing how much the hotel can make off of you! Not sure we would come back to this hotel, love Charleston!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte

recommended

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Location is great. Room is clean and comfy.
Cons: the king bed is raised too high so that you need a small ladder to get up there - why so tall a bed?
Location: the beach, restaurants, local markets, historical buildings around the general area. you can walk 3 minutes to the beach ans see USS Yorktown
it is within walking distance to a lot of attractions like the market, the horse carriage rides, the shops, great restaurants. staff is friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tega Cay

Art hotel

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Loved the hotel. Appreciated the art everywhere. Rooftop bar was great with wonderful views. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Enjoyed the complimentary special touches, bottle water, sherry, wine and cheese, cookies, truffles and daily notes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from ST LOUIS

NICE EUROPEAN STYLE HOTEL

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: LOCATION, STAFF AND ROOF BAR
Location: MOST EVERYTHING WITHIN WALKING DISTANCE
GOT IN TO TOWN NO PROBLEM. HOTEL GOT US RIGHT UP TO THE ROOM. THE CONCIERGE WAS RIGHT ON WITH ALL THE RESTAURANTS, TRAVEL THROUGH TOWN ARRANGED WELL. ROOF TOP BAR GREAT FOR AN EVENING BREEZE AND A COOL DRINK. I SAT IN THE LOBBY TO READ A BOOK FOR HALF AN HOUR BUT WAS OVERTAKEN BY ALL THE EFFORTS OF THE STAFF IN HELPING PEOPLE FROM RESERVATIONS TO DIRECTIONS SUCH WHERE TO FIND FLOWERS OR A NICE JEWELRY STORE. THEY WOULD EVEN COMPLIMENT EACH OTHER BY ADDING SUGGESTIONS AND REVIEWING EACH OTHERS WORK. NICE PLACE
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ga

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Room was small and because the bed was so high it was difficult for me to get into. Staff very helpful. Expensive. We went to visitors center and found a very nice room for half what we were paying at the vendu. Location was very good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

great location, great service

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Customer Service and location
Cons: AC and better lighting in the rooms without a window
Location: right in the heart of everything
Loved the Vendue Inn. Customer service was excellent. Love the staff there. I purposely picked an inner room without a window. The room was very nicely decorated and it provided everything I needed. Might be too tight for 2 people unless you get along well. The room was a bit dark and could have used some brighter bulbs. AC needed an update. It was not managing the humidity on a muggy Charleston Day. I would book another room in this hotel again and again and again. Really nice facility