Ratings based on 560 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington D.C.

Great location especially for first time visitors!

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Staff personnel
Location: two blocks walking distance from downtown market and major restaurants
Staff is exceptional! Location exceptional! Value is excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Best location in downtown. 15 minutes from IOP. The bar/restaurant are just as good if not better as anything you'll find around that area. Try the breakfast menu! The staff was excellent. (Matt at the doorman was great!)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, Md

Great Staff and Location

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Location was perfect. Many restaurants and shops in walking distance.
Cons: The carpet in the hallway leading to the rooms looked like it has never been cleaned
The service at The Vendue is the best I've ever experienced. The staff was friendly and attentive.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Okay location - not whats advertised

Posted Aug 4, 2014
We first had to wait around for 2 hours after check in to finally get into our room. Once we went up to the room it resembled a dungeon (no window). An hour later a maid bursts into the room without any warning. To make matters worse the walls were very thin and the room was not as described or promised. They did get us another room which was nicer. But there was hard water stains everywhere we looked and nails hanging off walls. The four poster bed had staples in it and the wood was chipped everywhere. The hotel literally gave us a new meaning of "historic". I'd recommend staying at another hotel closer to king street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Paducah, KY

Perfect location! Nice shopping and eating close.

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: quaint and beautiful nice art throughout.
Cons: We were so happy we didn't come up with any shortcomings.
Location: We never got our car out. we walked to the fort sumptner museum. shopping, restaurants, did take a bike taxi when it started to sprinkle on way to bar
The bellman remembered our names immediately. We were parked a half block because we were not sure of our parking area. He said just relax I will take care of everything. He ran and brought my car up while we checked in. Then every morning we got a "hello Martins".. nice place to eat and cocktail rooftop also.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palookaville

Posted Jul 27, 2014
No way Jose. It was nice but... They want me to write more!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertford, NC

professional, helpful, nice staff-will return.

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: Everything and the location was great!
Cons: Rates are high.
Location: Great!
Did not get time to go to roof top. We want to go back to check that out. Everyone was very nice & helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from State College, Pa.

Elegant hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: Nothing
Location: The Market, high end restaurants (Cypress, Blossom, Magnolia), the waterfront
We have just returned from a 4 day stay in Charleston at the Vendue. We booked an interior king room with no windows. Although I had read some negative reviews about these rooms (poor lighting, claustrophobic), we found the room to be cozy and PERFECT for sleeping. The bed was comfortable, and the shower was brilliant! The staff greet you at every turn and truly appear to want to make your stay comfortable. The coffee in the AM, wine and hors d'oevres in the late afternoon and cookies and milk in the evening were delightful. The front desk staff couldn't have been more helpful from reservations for dinner or a bicycle taxi, to vouchers for the carriage tours, they were knowledgable and efficient. The locations was great, just blocks from the market, only steps to several very high end restaurants, and 1 block from the waterfront park with 2 beautiful fountains. The rooftop bar was wonderful, with many young people bartending and serving who were a delight to talk with and enjoy a cocktail. We had breakfast at their restaurant and found the selections to be unique and delicious (I need to find Geechie Grits up north!) Although there are many beautiful properties in Charleston, you will not be disappointed in your stay at the Vendue as you will be treated with 5 star service and smiles. My husband and I travel quite a bit and have had both great and horrible experiences. This ranks among the best.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bethesda MD

Weekend Getaway

Posted Jul 15, 2014
My wife and I stayed at the Vendue for 2 nights. We stayed at the 19 Vendue property. The stay was fantastic. The service from all -- front desk, concierge, bellman, housekeeping, waiters -- was superb. Truly superb. The location is great, walking distance to all attractions. The rooms are very comfortable, albeit a little small (we were in the Signature King). The hotel seconds as an art gallery, with interesting art displayed throughout the lobby and hallways. Rooftop lounge had great views and was a hip place for drinks. We definitely return.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati

Huge Disappointment

Posted Jul 15, 2014
We were contacted during the day prior to our anticipated arrival that evening. We were told that the a/c was out in the part of the hotel where we had reserved two rooms. We said, okay, no problem. They also offered to rebate $100 per room. Each room had been reserved for $400. Okay. When we arrived, we were shown to our rooms. Each were Tiny. And one room had No windows, No windows. What? That is not a room. It is a broom closet. Yet we were still paying $300 for that room. Needless to say, we were very disappointed and were not satisfied with the experience. We will not be returning and we will not recommend The Vendue to our friends.