Ratings based on 578 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Very enjoyable

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Room very nice..clean. Restaurant BLUE was delicious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from atlanta,ga

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Loved everything!! Area and lobby was wonderful!! Only wished balcony was bigger and exhaust in bathroom but other than that loved the atmosphere!!! Pool and beach area was wonderful and restaurant just hated all downstairs bathrooms were out of order!! Lobby decor and lighting was beautiful!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic place to stay!

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: its always very clean, the service is superb
Cons: add protein shakes to the Starbucks menu @ Roasted in the hotel - they would sell like hot cakes!
Location: things to do on the island are limited but that's not a bad thing - Charleston is only 15mins away w/ plenty to do and traffic is nominal
always enjoy going to Tides - the people who work there are very pleasant no matter what and it's refreshing to continue to see the level of service there remain consistent! Its one of my all-time favorite place to stay and visit and would highly recommend others to consider it for themselves.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lubbock, TX

Excellent hotel adjacent to the beach.

Posted Aug 24, 2014
I'll start off by saying I read the hotel reviews after I stayed. The staff were extremely helpful and knowledgable about the area. We knew the receptionist by name before the end of our trip! iThe room was extremely comfortable and was well taken care of. I seriously can't brag enough on the staff!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Long weekend.

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Folks at the front desk and throughout the property were outstanding. We had a great time. Everything was great. The HVAC equipment was very noisy.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't stay here!

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Only 1 elevator was working, and had to stand in long lines to get to 8th floor. The elevator had no air conditioning in it, and the stairwells smelled like urine and BO. The towels had blood stains on them. Air conditioner was loud. The balcony too small. Had to rent beach chairs and umbrellas and very expensive to do so. Overall the hotel is dated and in need of upgrades to make it cleaner and fresher looking. The hotel staff, however, was very friendly. Would recommend renting a house, apartment or villa instead of spending too much $$ for a room at this hotel. I will never go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Great trip. Hotel was crowded, but never seemed that way. Had everything we wanted, but didn't seem too formal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Douglassville, PA

Right on the beach!

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: We liked having the balcony.
Location: Our favorite spot was the crepe truck. So close to grab breakfast and bring it back to the room.
We enjoyed our 5th floor room on the beach. The view was great! The beach was huge and not crowded.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hendersonville NC

Wonderful, pet friendly hotel!

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: Pet friendly. Staff seemed to really like our dog. Ocean front rooms are wonderful.
Location: Great location on the beach. Fishing pier with very reasonable fees. Locklears Seafood Restaurant (located on the pier) is very good!
My daughter, my dog, and I enjoyed our stay at the Tides. Staff and room were great. My only problem was that we couldn't stay longer. My daughter had to go back to work.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from FL

Ehhh

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Not worth the $350 a night we paid. Felt like we were at a spring break hotel. Horrible food. Horrible parking.