Ratings based on 703 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom delaware

Posted May 4, 2015
Oceanfront room had great views! Perfect location, across the street from restaurants and shopping.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel and staff!

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Our stay at the tides was fantastic. The staff was friendly, room was clean, and parking was easy too. We traveled with a 7 month old baby and I felt the hotel was very family friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great island town. Hotel location was great.

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Pros: Great location/fair.
Hotel check-in staff were friendly and efficient. Hotel right in the middle of island & eating/drinking establishments. Low key, island feel. Hotel room was nice size with ocean views, but I believe hotels allows pets as rooms smelled a bit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Loved it!!!!!!

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Having never been to SC for vacation, we were blown away by the whole experience. The Tides is wonderful! The staff are so friendly and helpful. They really work hard to make sure the guest is happy. The beaches are beautiful, clean and a great place to learn how to surf! Check out Josh and Andy with Charleston Surf, they are located at the hotel. The town of Folly Beach is really nice. Great shops and restaurants. Breakfast at The Lost Dog Cafe is a must! We will definitely visit The Tides again!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 21, 2015
The carpeting needed replaced and the bathroom exhaust fan did not work. The air conditioner made alot of noise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom SC

Beach front

Posted Apr 20, 2015
My family and I have stayed at this hotel for several years it is always clean the staff is very nice the restaurant has excellent food and most of all the Bellman named Jay is one awesome guy.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Only hotel, captive audience

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Convenience
Cons: Everything listed above
Location: Centrally located which is why we always stay during our annual visit.
Our annual stay at Folly Beach was ruined by a shabby hotel room. Fraying carpet, bathroom door needed painting and the mirror on the door was not attached adequately, as well as a missing screen door onto the balcony. Weather was too cool to need the air conditioner, but due to bugs and lack of screen door had to endure a stuffy room. Dangerous hall way, standing water and tile which was difficult to walk on. Only one elevator operating and the hotel was full.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: The view and the location
Cons: nothing
Location: Location was perfect! Ate at Rita's right across the street. Delicious food!
The hotel was very nice-had a beautiful view of the beach. The staff was very friendly and helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom tampa

Spring Break get away

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Loved being directly on the beach and being able to have my coffee listening to the ocean each morning. We went into Charleston and enjoyed some great food. Not super luxurious but clean and nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Washington DC

Nothing special...

Posted Apr 2, 2015
Pros: Great views of the beach
It looked like a nice bar outside but unfortunately the weather was cold. The inside bar is dark, and the food lacked imagination or taste. Room was dingy and musty