Ratings based on 1,129 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kentucky

May Getaway

Posted May 10, 2015
Pros: Our condo was very spacious and close to everything.
Cons: Fresh paint and a few touchups in the condo.
Our stay at Wild Dunes was wonderful. The resort has a lot of amenities and they are easily accessible by walking. Several places to enjoy the water, many pools and the ocean is right there. It is only a short drive to Charleston. The area has great restaurants and lots to see and do.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jonesborough TN

Tidewater 102

Posted May 8, 2015
Pros: Nice landscaping
Cons: Clean
Location: Charleston is nice
First of all I paid for ocean front this unit was not! Bath tub mat was molded had not been cleaned in a long time! There was bugs in the blanket on the bed, they said they weren't bed bugs!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 8, 2015 by Frank Fredericks, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing this review. I want to apologize for the unclear communication and unsatisfactory experience you had while on property with regards to the uncleanliness of your accommodation. This does not live up to the high standards and quality level we set for unit inspection and housekeeping, and for that I am very sorry for the inconvenience it caused you during your stay. Trust I will share this with our property management team to ensure proper processes are enforced and improvements are made moving forward. Thank you again for the valuable feedback and we do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future to exceed your expectations and deliver the quality experience that we are known for here at our resort. Regards, Frank Fredericks Managing Director, Wild Dunes Resort
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful location....

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: Big rooms, nice grounds. Pools area for adults is awesome!
The resort is definitely a great location easy to find, beautiful beaches. One thing to consider is this place is a wedding destination and expect to have some areas (pool area) reserved for the wedding parties.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great for golf.

Posted May 2, 2015
Pros: Location.
Cons: Free use of garage parking, only available for valet parking.
Location: Great for beach and golf.
Very nice setting, golf courses in very good condition, the Links course to be improved this year so will be even better. pools, bars, beach all good, they do involve a short walk from your room. The beach goes on for miles so great for an early morning stroll.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Omaha

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Pros: Great location 30 min from airport max. Handy to beach, tennis and golf. Pools near the hotel were adults only during the day. Helped keep noise down.
Cons: Nighttime room temp was hard to control. Got too warm in room. Food service was a bit slow.
Location: 15-20 min drive into Charleston. Lots to see in Charleston from colonial to civil war times. Fantastic restaurants to enjoy great food.
Enjoyed our stay. Would consider returning if in the Charleston area. This would be an excellent place to bring kids and grand kids.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2015 by Dennis Marcinik, Hotel Management
Thank you for the five-star review of your recent stay at Wild Dunes Resort and for the recommendation for families! Wonderful to hear that you will consider staying with us again when visiting Charleston. We hope we have that opportunity to welcome you back again. Kind regards, Dennis Marcinik Director of Operations Wild Dunes Resort
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Wish I'd chosen the boutique hotels instead

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: personnel
Cons: physical maintenance
Location: plenty of things to do - whatever you like
It's a very large hotel complex, and appears to have everything. However, we were disappointed in the actual hotel (Boardwalk) for the following reasons: The air conditioning cycled on and off every 3 - 4 minutes, loudly. Neither one of us got very much sleep. the toilet was so loose it moved every time you sat down The garbage wasn't all picked up each day And the amenities were useless - so watered down it was difficult to wash your hair or your body. Not what I expect from a resort. If this is what the spa uses, I'm glad I didn't waste my money. Yes, I could have called the front desk and indicated all these things -- but I'm the guest, and if I want to run a resort while I'm on vacation, I might as well stay home!! The one thing they have going for them is their personnel -- all very friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2015 by Dennis Marcinik, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review of your recent stay. I apologize for the troubles you experienced and the instances you've noted where the conditions of some of our facilities and amenities hindered your stay. Please trust that I will be sharing this valuable feedback with our executive team so that we may make improvements moving forward. We hope to have the opportunity to make it up to you in the future! Regards, Dennis Marcinik Director of Operations Wild Dunes Resort
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Great service and great amneties, the staff went above snd beyond to make by stay comfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Beautiful hotel part of a gorgeous resort!

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: It was a combination resort/hotel but not over the top crazy expensive. Nice landscaping, clean rooms, friendly staff.
Location: tons of stuff- it so close to downtown Charleston, seafood restaurants, not far from the aquarium and a quick walk to the beach.
We did a family weekend at the beach and this was one of the more affordable options for a quick last minute trip. Two rooms with no kitchen not near the beach would have been more expensive. This worked fantastic! We had a kitchen, washer/dryer and dinning room to utilize along with several pools, quick access to the beach and lots of resort amenities like bike rentals, spa and golf access- which we didn't have time to use but still nice for future consideration. Our check in was pretty painless and easy to navigate to our suite. Out duration was spent relaxing and poking around the resort and enjoying the pools and beach. Check out was easy too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ky

Nice resort

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Cons: More staff. Shorter waits.
Had a really nice time for spring break. Only gripe was that service was slow and they seemed understaffed. Otherwise a nice resort.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Isle of Palm 4 star hotel near beach

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Hotel was good, comfortable and clean. Staff was good. Mentioned to us upon check in three different times by three different staff members that we were booked through expedia. Like there was a difference from reserving directly through the hotel. Especially on requesting 2 queen beds and a room with a view. Called ahead to make these requests and was told expedia guests could only do this upon checkin. Thus didn't get the 2 queen beds and had to be adamant about a different view from facing a wall in original room. Did receive a different room with better view of private homes. Saw 1 single roach in room During 3 night stay. On check out morning power went out in our room for over a hour After informing hspk staff.