Ratings based on 1,146 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

nice but pricey for our room location

Posted Aug 2, 2015
Pros: surroundings, property on the beach, nice room, cleanliness, friendly, helpful staff
Cons: cellular phone service in rooms in Village if possible, microwave in room, playground for children
Location: resort is on the beach but may be a walk depending on your location, grocery stores, restaurants near by, nice beach with extensive shallow water
Wild Dunes is a nice resort but overpriced for our room. There is no wireless service (ATT, Verizon) in the rooms in the Village area. The Village area rooms do not have access to a lobby so you had to go outside to use your phone which is a major inconvenience. For the price we paid, there was no view and a good hike to the beach. Due to the large number of families staying there, a playground would be nice for the children. The staff in the ice cream shop and the market were very nice and accommodating. There is a resort fee added to the cost of the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great family vacation! Has everything you need!

Posted Aug 1, 2015
Great family trip. Resort has so many activities for whole family!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice trip

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Pros: The little Cafe was a great option for eating at the hotel. Large breakfast, deli sandwiches and ice cream.
Location: Acme Lowcountry was a great place to eat nearby.
Fun place to stay. I would be glad to go back. The Grand Pavilion was a good place to hang out . I liked the towel service and the staff were pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hickory, NC

Hotel is located in a full service beach resort.

Posted Jul 18, 2015
Pros: Golf, tennis, beach, eateries, bike rentals and shops were all within easy walking distance.
Location: See above
Hotel is located inside Wild Dunes, a self-contained tennis, golf and beach resort on the north end of Isle of Palms. It is fairly upscale, with fairly upscale prices. A lot of the amenities were included, since you pay a hefty resort fee added to the price of a room. I was traveling with my wife; but mostly we saw families, and there seemed to be a lot of stuff for kids. We were contacted by a concierge prearrival, who set us up with dinner reservations, spa and tee times. We did spend a day in Charleston; but the time would have been better spent at the resort. If you want to see Charleston, I would recommend someplace closer to downtown.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2015 by Frank F. , Hotel Management
Dear Curtis, Thank you for your review of Wild Dunes Resort and highlighting the many outdoor activities provided on the Resort! I am very happy to know that you were able to enjoy the beautiful beach at Wild Dunes as well as the Charleston area during your stay. We acknowledge there is a Resort fee, as you noted, with intention to provide our guests exclusivity and convenience of these extra Resort features and amenities. I’m glad our Pre-arrival Concierge helped you plan your stay. Their team is great in making vacation planning as effortless as you’d like! Thank you for sharing this traveler tip for future guests! We hope to welcome you back to the resort on your next trip to Charleston! Best regards, Frank Fredericks General Manager, Wild Dunes Resort
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Best hotel in the area.

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Pros: Proximity to the beach, the restaurant, the staff, the comfort of the bed.
Cons: Sound proofing the walls, and cleaning the pools. Or perhaps you could designate one of the 3 onsite pools as "Adults only".
Location: Lovely market around the corner for the things you forget you needed or a light breakfast item.
This was our 2nd stay in this hotel and this trip was clearly in the height of the family vacation season so I understand the problems we had, thus I didn't complain to the staff. There's not much they can do about parents that allow their children to run amok. We were beside a very noisy group. They watched television at what sounded like full volume until early in the morning. Then they woke up quite early and started talking loudly. They must sleep during the day! Fortunately there was a sound machine in the room that we could play to help drown out the noise. We tried to go in the pools but the water in them was quite dirty. Oily residue and goldfish crackers, ooh! And they didn't have the jets on, so no fresh water was coming in to the water. The other guest left their trash, mostly empty cocktail cups all along the edges of the pool. And way before 5:00 p.m. the guest were very intoxicated and singing loudly. Forget about trying to relax and read a good book poolside! We also sent out some things to be laundered. The instructions stated to have the soiled items at the front desk by 8 a.m. and they would be returned to your room by 6 p.m. the same day. It took them 2 days to locate our items so we weren't able to use them while on the trip. The staff was very professional, and even while dealing with a kitchen renovation, they handled everything with grace. The food was outstanding. The rooms were very clean and could not be more comfortable!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2015 by Frank F. , Hotel Management
Dear Joy, Thank you for recommending us as the best hotel in the Charleston area! It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our beach location as well as comfortable beds and restaurant offerings on property. I too like to start my day with a visit to Hudson’s Market so I am thrilled to hear you did so. To your mention of the adult only pool, good news, as of last summer we have implemented adult only hours at our Boardwalk Inn Hotel pool during summer months and also now include adult swim for a portion of every hour at our Palm Cove Pool. We are saddened to hear that this was missed during your recent stay, and will use your experience as an opportunity to look at improved communication of these features to guests on property. Furthermore, I apologize for the laundry service issues, noise disturbances and unsatisfactory pool conditions that you encountered. That falls short of the caliber of experience we want each of our guests to have and I will be sharing this with our Leadership team for improvement opportunities. Thank you for your valuable review and return stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Regards, Frank Fredericks General Manager, Wild Dunes Resort
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wild Dunes

Posted Jul 10, 2015
Pros: Location near beach.
Location: We only used the beach, as we were there three nights.
We stayed a few blocks from the beach, an easy walk with our grandchildren. Romy and clean and well equipped condo.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2015 by Frank F., Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for being our guest this summer and providing this 5-star review with traveler tips! I'm thrilled to hear that you found the closeness of the beach to your condo as a convenience for you and your grandchildren and that your accommodation was well equipped for your family vacation. We'd love the opportunity to welcome you back for a future stay next summer or sooner! Best wishes, Frank Fredericks Managing director, Wild Dunes Resort
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Destination Wedding Event

Posted Jun 27, 2015
We did not get to use the facilities of the resort, as we attended a wedding and we re busy with other activities.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wild Dunes

Posted Jun 25, 2015
The hotel is nice, clean and the staff is very attentive IN PERSON. Things that were lacking: 1. Noone in our 10 party group ( 5 rooms)got washcloths each day and housekeeping rarely answered the phone. 2.When you asked for a wake up call, you did not get one. 3. We asked for a late checkout and got one for noon, but when we returned to room at 11 to pick up the last minute food and drinks, we discovered that the room has been cleaned and it was all thrown out. The staff was extremely apologetic and gave us waters and fruit. 3. The food offered at the pools never varies. The 'daily special' was the same everyday, fish tacos or fried pickles (best thing they serve) And it is hit or miss whether you get somebody to come around and offer you food and drinks or you have to go to the window, order and wait for your food. Sometimes it is delivered to you and sometimes you answer your buzzer and go pick it it never varies. And it is hit or miss whether you get somebody to come around and offer you food and drinks or you have to go to the window, order and pick up your food when buzzer does off. There is no consistency in how that works. Each of our 6 days there it was different. I will say that if you do have a server come to you that they are very attentive and pleasant. It is the mgmt that. needs to tighten up what they do, the staff is great. 4. The front desk needs to put together a list of recommended restaurants in the area, no one seemed to have any real suggestions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from atlanta

The place to go

Posted Jun 22, 2015
I highly recommended this hotel, offers a variety of activities and dining. Family friendly or even for a solo trip is great destination. Beach is preserved beautifully and clean and the service is awesome!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by Frank Fredericks, Hotel Management
Dear adventurer, Wow! Thank you for your 5 star review of Wild Dunes Resort and the high praise of the Resort as wonderful destination for families and solo travelers! Preservation is essential to keeping our beautiful beaches clean and the lowcountry estuaries a place where salt water animals can thrive and purify our waters. Thank you for highlighting this as one of the wonderful treasures of Charleston. I am happy to know that our staff met your expectations, and we look forward to your next stay! Kind regards, Frank Fredericks General Manager, Wild Dunes Resort
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbia

Beautiful

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: The smell of mildew/mold
Everything was great, beautiful place, relaxing. The only concern was the smell of mold or mildew, perhaps carpet or air conditioning issue, which was a bit off-putting . The condo was gorgeous, we all had a great time, and we will definitely be coming back.