Ratings based on 954 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean & everything right at your footsteps

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Wonderful place definitely want to come back ! Very clean , nice pools with adults only time , private balcony allowing for smokers. Staff very helpful .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great time!

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Spent 5 days just relaxing at the beach. The hotel staff and amenities were excellent in ever way.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The Boardwalk Inn

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: Valet Parking, excellent food, convenient to Charleston, SC.
Cons: Service slow
Location: All that Charleston has to offer.
Good for both adult and family vacations. During the day, the pool is adult-only, with beach-front and other pools for kids and families.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Nice resort with friendly staff

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Beautiful clean resort to stay at! Everyone is super friendly and accommodating! Room was nice with pool view! Very family oriented and even nicer restaurant accommodated our small grandson!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jonesborough, TN

Great facility, close to the beach.

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Close to beach.
Cons: Front desk staff
Location: Charleston
This trip was a gift from my husband, and while I was assured repeatedly that my room upgrade and all fees had been charged to his credit card upon checking in and checking out, I just received my bill per email that I had been charged for it on my own credit card. It seems like some of the front staff need some more training, If you don't know the answer to the question, don't just tell them what the customer what they want to hear, I found this disappointing in a resort of this caliber. Probably will not be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pa

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pleasant hotel staff; Stairwells smelled and dirty trays typically lying around
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Fantastic hotel.

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Great place to stay with many activities. This is the only place I will stay near Charleston. The staff is outstanding and extremely fun and courteous.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2014 by Frank, Hotel Management
Thank you for your five-star review of Wild Dunes Resort! You have brightened our day and we thank you for including such kind words about our staff and variety of activity offerings! It's simply wonderful to hear that our Resort is your ideal place to stay in Charleston. We look forward to your return visit to the island! Best wishes, Frank Fredericks Managing Director
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SC

Suggestions for improvement

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: Helpful staff, lovely landscaping
Cons: More shade around pools!
Location: Charleston is quite far, but the main street on Isle of Palms has many shops and good restaurants. The Italian restaurant is especially good.
This resort is huge and a bit confusing to navigate. It would be helpful to put on the website which accommodations are closest to the beach or have beach views. There is only one hotel where one can see the ocean. The adult pool has some shade, but the other pools are in the hot sun all day. There needs to be some cover up for at least part of the pool and/or surrounding decks. The tiny bridge is the only shade in the adult pool. Each of the rooms would benefit from ceiling fans. It would not only keep AC costs down, it would be much more comfortable for guests. Hotel staff are very helpful. Details are often overlooked such as missing or burned out light bulbs. Settings on TV were wrong on our TV. The maintenance staff were very prompt in fixing those things. One must ask right away if something is found to be remiss. Having stores and restaurants on site is very helpful as it is a long ride to Charleston.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mac jwc

Nice hotel close to the beach.

Posted Jun 24, 2014
The only negative thing we experienced was the door card key didn't work well at all. At one point we were unable to enter our room so we obtained new door card keys. They were better but still had issues. Other than that everything else was perfect in every way. Great! Will go again FOR SURE!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2014 by Frank, Hotel Management
We're thrilled to hear that you had a near perfect experience during your recent stay at Wild Dunes Resort! We thank you for your review and for your comments on the trouble with the key card as this is something we are looking into better solutions for and feedback such as yours is most valuable to help expedite that process for improvement. We can't wait to welcome you back to the beach - hopefully sooner rather than later! Best, Frank Fredericks Managing Director
2 out of 5
by 53 year old man

Over price 10 room ocean front room resort

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Booked a view room in a ocean front resort I was looking at the roof of the building beside us. The rooms bed was pulled loose at the wall so when you sat at the foot of the bed the head of the bed came off the floor. The toilet was wabbly where it was secured well to the floor and this was a $300.00 room sure motel 6 would be better. The resort was nice just the overpriced room an the staff weren't very good at all
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2014 by Frank, Hotel Management
Dear traveler, Thank you for taking the time to share this review. I apologize for the unpleasant experience you had with your recent stay. The condition of your accommodation alarms me as it does not reflect the lodging or service we strive to deliver with any of our units and for that I am deeply disappointed. I am very sorry that we let this slip by, resulting in an unsatisfactory stay on your end. Though there is no excuse for this type of oversight, trust that I am sharing your feedback with our maintenance, engineering and leadership teams so that we may make immediate improvements. Regards, Frank Fredericks