Ratings based on 497 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Easy access to highways going in any direction such as beach or downtown charleston.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

CSU

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Easy check-in and right on CSU campus. Very clean and very nice just very busy due to location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel for business customers.

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Cons: Training of Housekeeping staff. I returned to my room at the end of the day only to find my door propped open with the door latch. poor security.
The hotel was clean, staff relatively friendly and helpful. Common spaces were nice. breakfast was minimal. Internet access was reasonably fast. Easy access to the interstate, some nice walking trails nearby and a few lower end restaurant chains within walking distance. other restaurants within a short drive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2014
The hotel staff was very courteous and friendly at all times. The rooms were very clean and hallways too. Had a very satisfying experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 24, 2014
The room was clean and comfortable. It was located next to the elevator bank and elevator movement could be heard every time they were used. This was a little annoying, but did not disturb sleep. Breakfast was adequate, though eggs were plastic. Staff was efficient, but not particularly friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Thomasville, NC

Very nice hotel

Posted Jun 23, 2014
This was our first time visiting Charleston, so not knowing the area was not sure how close we were going to be from downtown Charleston. Was pleasantly surprised at how convenient this hotel was to Charleston proper. The room was very clean and matched the photos. Everyone that we encountered on the staff was very nice and friendly. I would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florence, AL

Nice Staff, but not the Cleanest

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Staff, breakfast
Cons: Cleaning
Location: Tanger Outlets is not too far away if you want to do some shopping, but expect to drive to check out anything in the area and surrounding locations.
The staff we interacted with was super nice and helpful. The ladies at the desk helped with anything we needed including navigating the area. The hotel is not the cleanest I have ever stayed in. We had to get new pillow cases because there were obvious human stains (current) on the ones on our bed, and there was a fry under the bed (we didn't bring any outside food into the room) showing that making the rooms spotless is not a priority. Also, the door to our room (209) was in need of repairs as we had to be sure it was closed (like pull on it a few times) when leaving and entering because it was not closing fully. I'm not sure how other rooms are, but ours had thin walls and since we were right beside the elevator you could hear everything going on outside (so I'm assuming we could be heard just as easily). Also, not really cleanliness related but there are not fans/ventilation installed in the bathrooms, which is a bit of a problem. The morning breakfast was great for a free breakfast. They kept it refilled through the specified hours. As for location, it is about 20-25 minutes from downtown Charleston. It's behind a local college, but it was currently not open during our stay. Expect to drive if you plan on seeing anything or doing any shopping or eating. For the price, overall this is not a bad place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gina from mm

3 night stay

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Family of three stayed here because of price and ratings. We arrived after a six hour drive to a long line for check-in...there was only one staff member working desk. However, she was very pleasant when we finally got to her. I give her five stars. The room was nice, spacious and the air worked great. Water pressure was awesome!! Beds were comfy and room was clean and modern. There was some noise above us that kept us awake a couple of times, but I don't blame the hotel. Breakfast was simple, but just enough to get you to lunch. It is a bit of a drive to downtown Charleston and we forgot to consider how bad traffic would be around 4 to 6pm...just an fyi. Overall, we were very happy with this hotel!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice and quiet

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Kid at the desk was polite and helpful, hotel was quiet and clean (as far as hotels go). Price was low because the location was somewhat inconvenient but overall good stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Efficient travel hotel

Posted May 31, 2014
Pros: It was a place to stay
Location: We were in transit.
Typical Wingate: there was nothing remarkable either negative or positive; unable to effect an early check-in, even though it was not busy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 23, 2014 by Ronald, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments we appreciate any and all feedback to improve our operations. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Charleston!!