Ratings based on 750 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love the location

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Location and service is very good. Rooms and bathrooms are on the small side.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cincinnati, OH

In the middle of the beautiful downtown

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Pros: Clean and location
Cons: N/A
So nice staff and helpful too. We enjoyed our visit to Charlotte.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Ottawa, Ontario

The cigar bar is the best thing and it is closing

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Pros: Room service was excellent and the food was good but not exciting. The prices were reasonable
Cons: The room rates were expensive.
Location: It is well located in downtown Charlotte. A single bus, the Airport Sprinter, was a twenty minute trip from the airport to the door for $2.20
The cigar bar on the ground floor, Cutters, is the best thing about this hotel. It is perfect character for this type of establishment. It is filled with overstuffed leather chairs and an eclectic collection of antiques and artwork. The staff are friendly, professional and very knowledgeable. It offers a wide range of fine cigars and a broad selection of spirits including a range of single malt scotches, bourbons, whiskies, rums, tequilas, brandy and cognac. It is a classic symbol of an era that is sadly passing. Unfortunately the hotel is closing Cutters when they begin renovations in the coming months.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Jacksonville, NC

Older model hotel but close to attractions

Posted Mar 16, 2015
My room smelt like mildew. I could hear everything in the room next door which lead to no sleep. This hotel literally makes you pay for everything: parking, breakfast and even WIFI!! I mean come on its 2015! Besides that the staff was nice as well as the lobby but that's really it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 14, 2015
Great place to stay. Great time. Close to concert. Will come back and will recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Murfreesboro NC

Nice hotel close to the stadium

Posted Mar 13, 2015
My family and I enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The location was awesome because it was walking distance from the Hornets stadium. We will definitely stay at this hotel again when we are in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ontario

Nice hotel, lots of nice restaurants in the area.

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Comfortable room and friendly staff, very helpful.
Cons: Better food in sports bar restaurant eg fresh salads
Location: Business district as well as basketball arena nearby. Museums and really nice restaurants.
Stayed 2 nights went to basketball game within walking distance, had a great time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tennessee

Happiness Awaits

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Wow, even though I only stayed here 1 night, the staff treated me as if i was staying for months. This 5 star treatment starts as soon as you get out of your vehicle and continues until you depart. I have nothing negative to say and all things are positive. Just around the corner, there are many different eateries and clubs. Definitely enjoyed each and every moment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 10, 2015
I wish that they were not getting rid of cutters cigar bar. Such a unique feature.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom GA

Disappointing Marriott

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: Downtown location
Cons: Concierge Club !
Location: Alot of good restaurants closeby.
I am a Lifetime Marriott Marquis member, and try to stay at a Marriott property whenever possible, but both the Marriott South Park and the Marriott City Center are very disappointing ! My main complaints at both properties are the Concierge Clubs. Very small and poorly stocked. And only open 5 days a week. Bathrooms in guest rooms are VERY small. Will not stay at either location again. Will go to The Ritz down the street.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Eva P., Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience during your stay at the Charlotte Marriott City Center. We appreciate your comments and are pleased to let you know that we will be undergoing an extensive renovation this year that will include the concierge lounge! We hope that after the renovation you will come back to enjoy our new lounge to relax, socialize and revitalize. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope your future travels bring you back to Charlotte!