Ratings based on 711 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Older hotel made great by the staff

Posted Jan 27, 2015
This hotel is about 30 years old and is starting to show its age. The only true complaint I have is that the bed was so uncomfortable that I feel like I need a visit to the chiropractor after sleeping their for three nights. HOWEVER, the staff was so friendly and helpful that I've already booked a room for a return visit - even knowing the bed may be awful again. We were met in the parking garage by Nelson, who helped us get our bags from the self-park area to check-in. At check-in, JT was friendly and moved us to an upper floor when he found out the person with me had never visited Charlotte. The maid service provided by Chauncey was professional and timely, and when we requested shower caps from the front desk, someone brought them up within 10 minutes. The best thing that happened, though, was on Sunday morning and I didn't catch the lady's name. I had actually already checked out and was in classes in an adjacent building. Mid-morning, I wanted a soft drink, specifically with ice and a straw. When none of the close shops or restaurants were open, I asked at the front desk where the closest place was to find this... and the lady at check-in went to the closed cigar bar, got me a cup of ice and a straw, and a can diet pepsi. I offered to pay for them but she said she was just glad to help. I've actually created a Marriott Rewards program account and plan to stay here through all of my visits to Charlotte for my doctoral program.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom 日本

CTCシャーロット・トランスポーテーション・センター近く

Posted Jan 24, 2015
Pros: 15:00チェックイン開始だけど、14:30にはできたこと。コーヒーメーカでお湯をわかしてもコーヒー臭くないつくりだったこと。
Cons: 特になし
Location: ナスカーの殿堂博物館やレビン・ニューサウス博物館にも歩いてけます。
空港バスの終点、バス路線の起点になっているCTCに近いということで予約しました。 料金相当のホテルです。
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overbooked without a care

Posted Jan 19, 2015
This hotel was overbooked and the room we were given could not accommodate the number of people in our family. There was a larger room available but they refused to upgrade. Things were missing from the room and we had to ask for them many times. Staff just didn't seem to care. Worst Marriott experience I've had. Hotel is in a great location within walking distance to everything uptown.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2015 by Gary O, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Charlotte Marriott City Center. We are sorry to hear that we you were not fully satisfied with your visit due to a size of the room and the lack of upgrades. This particular weekend was a very busy one for our hotel with a city wide convention taking place in Charlotte. Our location also makes us one of the most popular hotels in Uptown, within a walking distance to many restaurants, entertainment venues and sporting events. We hope that your future travels brings you back the Charlotte and we would have the pleasure of hosting you and your family again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean hotel, friendly staff!

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Great location! Plenty of restaurants and entertainment in walking distance. Amenities located within the hotel itself were excellent as well!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Pros: Centrally located and friendly staff.
Staff was very friendly and hotel was very clean. Complimentary car service in morning was very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ridgeway, Virginia

Nice hotel close to shopping, restaraunts, Warner

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: Location, cleanliness and service.
Cons: More selections from Champion restaurant.
Location: Lots of restaurants, shopping, Nascar Hall of Fame, Epi-Center and Warner Arena. Everything was just a short walk away.
My husband and I were celebrating our 36th anniversary and we purchased tickets to see our first NBA game. The hotel was just a short walk from the Warner Arena and there were many selections of diners to choose from. The hotel offered a buffet breakfast which was included in our package and it was open until 11:00am, allowing us to sleep in. The room was clean and the beds were so cozy. All the hotel staff were very friendly and always willing to assist. The décor set the atmosphere. The only thing we missed was having a refrigerator and microwave in the room; especially since it was the Executive Suite. Otherwise, great stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Orlando, FL

Nice hotel right in the center of the city.

Posted Dec 26, 2014
Great accommodations for a downtown hotel. Easy access to everything. Be sure to include parking and breakfast with room!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 16, 2014
The staff was very courteous and helpful..the hotel room was clean it mad my stay in Charlotte very memorable ...
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Fayetteville, NC

You're paying for the location

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: The staff was friendly and helpful. Also, the bed was reasonably comfortable.
Cons: A parking fee is unreasonable for a $150+/ night hotel
Location: The location is great and gives you quick access to everything uptown Charlotte has to offer.
This hotel was average at best. Our stay began by being given a room with two twin beds when I had reserved a king. Luckily there was a king available, but that is not an issue you should have to concern yourself with considering the price per night. The room was decent however it had a weird "foot" like order that never went away. In all honesty, I have stayed at many other hotels in Charlotte that had nicer rooms at a fraction of the price. In addition to all this, I found out on the second night of our stay that there was an $18 PER DAY parking fee (I was not told about at check-in) & the last night of our stay the hotel didn't even have enough parking space to accommodate me and I had to park at another garage. If you are looking for the best hotel for your money look elsewhere - If you don't care and simply want quick access to uptown Charlotte (with a high price tag) I would recommend it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 17, 2014 by Gary O, Hotel Management
Alex, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Charlotte Marriott City Center hotel. We appreciate the positive comments about our staff, location and some of our amenities. We have addressed your concerns with our Reservations and Housekeeping staff and hope you will give us a second chance to make your next stay Brilliant. Best wishes,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia

Nice hotel in the heart of everything downtown.

Posted Nov 27, 2014
Pros: Location was key. Food was great, but was also near some very good restaurants that were in walking distance.
Cons: Accessibility was poor due to road construction.
Location: Walking distance to the arena, discovery place and museums.
The hotel was ideally located for anything you would like to do in downtown Charlotte. We were pleasantly surprised at the hotel's restaurant , Savannah Red. My only criticism would be that they were doing road construction near the hotel and it made getting to the hotel difficult if you don't know downtown Charlotte. Overall a wonderful experience.