Ratings based on 299 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Great lobby, shabby room

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: location, price, lobby, internet
Cons: smell, bedsheets, lighting
This hotel is located at a very convenient location for shopping and fine dining. I spent two nights here with my girlfriend for a last minute July 4th getaway. As we entered the hotel, we were greeted by the doorman and were served drinks and cookies. The receptionist was friendly, and it felt like a hotel above its class. However, the room was disappointing. It was dark and smelly. The carpet felt moldy. The window was tiny and tucked to one side of the room. It didn't have any lighting in the middle of the room. The bedsheet covers also felt unwashed, though the bed itself was fine. Internet was free if you join Marriott's reward program, which was free. Overall a solid choice for business travelers, but not so great for a romantic getaway.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2014 by Marriott SouthPark, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to share your review with us, we’re happy to know that you enjoyed the location and our accommodating hosts upon check in. We apologize for the unsatisfying condition of your room and bed. We will share your comments about the odor and condition of the sheets you experienced with our housekeeping department so we can further improve on these unique conditions. Again, we appreciate you sharing your feedback with us so we can progress as a hotel and resolve these issues.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gift for family.

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Gift for daughter in law & grandsons arrival from Germany. A overnight stay then 3 hour drive to new home.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shelly

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Great Staff! So close you can walk to restaurants and mall. Loved it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sharon from South Carolina

Nice room.

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: Clean and quiet
Cons: Need a TV Guide in the room
There was no TV guide in the room. No TV Guide in the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charleston, SC

Small hotel; big benefits

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: Easy access to shopping areas. Also small and pleasant.
Cons: It feels a little dated, but that's just because it's older and I would like an actual concierge lounge that provides drinks, snacks, etc.
Location: Great shopping and easily within 20 minutes to area concert pavilion as well as downtown.
If you are looking for a small hotel with big benefits, then I recommend the Marriott Southpark. It is easily within walking distance to Southpark Mall (Nordstrom, Neimans', Louis, etc.) We asked for the concierge floor, which though the service is available more for weekday travelers, provided us with a free breakfast during the weekend. It was nice and quiet, too. The hotel is older, but the facilities are well-maintained. We'll bring the kids back for the pool, definitely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Really nice staff: had bottled water, peach mimosas, and chocolate strawberries waiting.
1 out of 5
by yoyo from virginia

this hotel is very terrible

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: put it down and bulid new one
Location: location is fine
this hotel is very terrible and I will not stay their or recmond this hotel to no one
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 26, 2014
Because I was driving to Orlando from Ohio, I booked/stayed at the hotel as a stop going to Orlando and a stop going back home to Ohio. I booked Southpark Marriott also because it was very close to the mall. The hotel itself was clean and tidy and the beds where comfortable. The first room my family stayed in heading to Orlando was fine. The room we stayed in on the trip from Orlando the ceiling had approx. 10" crack in the drywall. The stay on the way to Orlando, at check-in, I had let the staff I needed 2 queen beds instead of 1 king (no place to reserve on Expedia), which was fine. The staff stated that they would note that I needed 2 queen beds so that wouldn't be an issue on our return trip. But on the return stay I was again I given a room with 1 king bed. Also, it would be nice if the internet was complimentary and didn't cost $12.95 a day.
2 out of 5
by Jan from South Carolina

Nice Room, Bad Restaurant

Posted May 13, 2014
Pros: Comfortable, clean room, strong/quiet ac, comfortable bed.
Location: Very close to South Park Mall, many restaurants and high-end shopping.
Our room was comfortable and clean. We were hoping to get a nice breakfast in the morning but were very disappointed by the restaurant. There was a choice of ordering off the menu or eating the buffet. We are not fan of buffets, but were told by staff if we ordered off the menu it would take a long time. We reluctantly ate from the buffet, but would have been better off waiting the extra time to order off the menu. The staff was ok, the problem seemed to be with the kitchen and the management. We won't use this hotel again, there are too many other options in the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2014 by Marriott SouthPark, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. While we are happy to hear that you enjoyed the guest rooms, I apologize for the unsatisfactory breakfast you experienced. I will share your review with our restaurant and kitchen staff to ensure we are working towards improvements for our breakfast. Again, we appreciate you sending your feedback.
2 out of 5
by Willnevergoback from Charlotte

It Sucks!!

Posted May 11, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: It was a pleasure leaving the hotel the next day
My husband and I paid for a romantic getaway and were extremely disappointed!!!! We were expecting the strawberries and wine to be chilling in the room when we arrived. Negative. We had to let them know we were ready for them. They brought a luke warm bottle of sparkling wine and warm glasses, and chocolate strawberries that tasted like they had been sitting out all day. The sheets are so thin and cheap you might as well not even use them. They had holes all over too. The top of the refrigerator broke as soon as we opened it, the arm rest of the chair was almost completely unscrewed and felt like you would fall off. The toilet seat had a chip in it and the tiles had large chips in it too. Overall I would definitely NOT recommend this hotel. We were extremely disappointed!!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2014 by Marriott SouthPark, Hotel Management
I deeply apologize that your getaway weekend did not go as planned while staying with us this past weekend. In general, we do not have the strawberries and sparkling wine waiting in the guest rooms due to not knowing the exact time of our guests' arrival but that is no reason for the warm glasses or unappetizing strawberries. I have shared your comments with our Kitchen staff so we may improve upon those circumstances and have our engineering department checking the refrigerator doors and chairs to ensure they are working properly as well. Again, I apologize for the disappointing stay with us but appreciate you taking time to review our hotel so we may further improve our property.