Ratings based on 387 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Experience in South Park

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: Bar and Club level service.
Cons: More lower tables in club level area.
Location: The south park area has everything I person could want or need when visiting a large city.
The staff was friendly and very helpful throughout the visit. From the moment I arrived to the moment I left the next day any staff I met was friendly, helpful and very upbeat. The room was clean and very modern.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Martha from Asheville

Very pleasant stay!

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: Clean, covered parking garage
Cons: Wi-fi is not free, and over priced as a fee service. Offering free wi-fi to guests would make this hotel far more appealing to me.
Location: Lots of local restaurant with a wide variety of cuisines
Attentive front desk staff, assisted me with an early check-in after a day of driving in terrible weather.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad mattress not good. Window treatment

Posted Mar 15, 2014
Bad bed, window treatments supposed to be light out a joke morning like daylight . Tell them to go in the room in the morning and see if it's a light out room. Don't think so
Comment from
Jan 18, 2014
In each of our rooms we have blackout draperies installed along with sheer curtains just behind them. We apologize if they did not help keep the light out of your room during the early morning. We appreciate you notifying us of your experience and will work towards an adjustment in our next renovations.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smelly carpets

Posted Mar 9, 2014
The rooms are carpet and smell wet and damp, and the AC worstens the smells
Comment from
Jan 13, 2014
We appreciate you informing us of the issue you experienced in your room. This is an unusual circumstance and I will pass along your comment to our Housekeeping Manager to ensure we work towards correcting it. We hope you enjoyed your time in Charlotte!
3 out of 5
by Diedre from Atlanta, GA

Close to my Charlotte, North Carolina office

Posted Feb 15, 2014
Pros: The bad out weighed the good, it was hard to determine. My cousin that lives in Charlotte was able to visit me at the hotel. Gym was nice.
Cons: Remove the trendy furniture for the safety of the guest leaving the bar area.
Location: The mall was great and in walking distance.
The staff was overly nice. The furniture (chairs) in the middle lobby need to be removed. I saw several guest, leave the bar, next to the middle lobby, get in the chair and fall out of it. It is trendy but not kid friendly or adult friendly after a guest leaves the bar. The staff seemed alot less friendlier in the later hours in the day. The maids to clean the rooms have very little English skills and need to be able to communicate with the guest. I asked for something several times and eventually just gave up on the request. I did not like the lack of communication during the check in process but notifying guest of the possible hold for incidentials. I had a hold on the card for 10 days and it took approximately 5 calls to the Accounting department to ensure they faxed a letter to my credit union to release the funds. It felt like Maria/Marie purposely did not fax the request until I had my customer service representative from the credit union on the phone with her. After telling me it was faxed 4 times, between 9:00 to 4:20 PM. I conferenced in the Accounting department with my credit union and finally the fax came through with no problem. I live in Atlanta and will visit Charlotte every month for 3 to 4 nights for 8 months due opening a new office. I am not sure if the Renaissance Charlotte will be my choice next time and the times afterwards. Sincerely Dr. Diedre Riley
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sara from Scottsdale, AZ

Great Find!!!

Posted Feb 11, 2014
Pros: everything
Location: Taco Mac was within walking distance. great atmosphere for drinks and food
I will definitely stay here again. The room was exactly as pictured. I love it when that happens and your expectations were met. The staff were all friendly and helpful and room service was also great. Hip and trendy
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 27, 2014
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jon from Asheville,NC

Great location awesome staff !

Posted Jan 15, 2014
Not many negatives to mention about the hotel nor our stay. Just a couple of minor things I would like to mention to possible guests. The club lounge breakfast is a little pricy for what is included, it is simply the very basics such as cereals , breads, eggs and bacon. Now this was included in our stay through expedia for 253$ after the fact found same stay at hotels.com for 63$ cheaper yet I think it costs around 21$ per person so save your money and eat with in the hotels standard restaurant or eat out. I will say the staff are very pleasant calling you by name and the room service was excellent. The food with in the hotel is awesome and not terribly overpriced. Would stay here again but would value the rooms at the 180$ a night at best . Thanks
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Monica from Virginia

Posted Jan 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Satisfactory except that we didn't have cold water in the sink. Nice to be close to the train (within a few miles of the hotel). We parked at the train and took it back and forth from the Bank of America stadium to see the playoffs...that was a great convenience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by RT from ohio

Great Hotel!!

Posted Jan 15, 2014
This is a really nice hotel! It's located in a great area with lots of shopping and restaurant options. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely stay there again!