Ratings based on 360 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Pros: Overall, it was good. Very clean.
Cons: The walls seem thin as we could hear the people next door just having a simple conversation. The worst thing about this hotel was the noise of the pla
The room was tiny, but it was fine for my son and I.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Maine

Outdated Hotel

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Pros: price and proximity to the airport
Cons: better bed, updating to include modern bathroom.
Was barely acceptable as I was only staying for a few hours sleep before I left Charlotte. I would not take my wife or family to this motel as it was not in very good condition. The refridgerator and microwave were plugged into an extention cord.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Cheap inn close to the airport

Posted Nov 13, 2014
The guys at the reception were really helpful The airport is really close The bed was surprisingly comfortable The value / cost ratio is absolutely acceptable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Raleigh, NC

It's not as bad as the other reviews say...

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Pros: Price. I like the manager; he remembers me even though I don't stay that often. He's nice.
Cons: Towels are ridiculously thin.
Location: Use your GPS, as there are a couple ways to get there and you could easily get lost. Convenient to downtown. Some fast food in the area if you need it
So I've stayed here like five times now. It's not for the views or the luxury atmosphere; it's because I'm cheap and I can't stand paying big bucks for a place I'm going to sleep in for 6-8 hours, shower, watch a little tv and go. With that said, it gives you what you need. A nice bed, comfy to me, tv, remote, heat/AC unit that works and every room I've been in there has a little fridge and I think a microwave, too. This time I was disappointed with the shower. The shower head was low and I had to bend my knees to get my head under it, which I've never had to do before. If I'd been my 6 foot 2 husband, he would have been mad. He would have probably had to be on his knees to be under the shower head. So that was not ideal, but other than that it was fine, just like the other times I have been there. Not far from I85, downtown, stuff you want. Area doesn't look the best but I don't think it's bad at all and I feel safe. So there you go!
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom WV

Hugely disappointing

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: Only its price.
Cons: New beds, a desk and working TV's.
Location: I stayed there because I visiting relatives in the area.
While the location was convenient, the bed was uncomfortable, the pillows were flat & the TV didn't work. I was concerned about its overall cleanliness and was suspicious of bedbugs. Needless to say I took a hot shower when I got home later in the day and I washed the sheets and blankets on my bed the day after I got home because I just felt creepy. Although it was much less expensive than the surrounding hotels (I have a limited budget), I guess you get what you pay for. I most definitely do not recommend it.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by dalefrom Idaho Falls

Cheap stop over

Posted Oct 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
cheap hotel that was old and out dated, but reasonably clean and adequate for a short night stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Johnfrom NC

Let down by dated exterior and poor shower.

Posted Oct 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
The dated exterior depresses expectations from the start, reception was ok though not exceptional and the room adequate for our needs - somewhere to crash out during a busy weekend. The only big disappointment was the shower. Speaking as a retired accommodation provider, if it were mine, I would replace the whole shower cubicle and upgrade the bathroom flooring. That said it was not too yucky to use and there was plenty of hot water. Overall, we were not disappointed at this price level though we would not choose to stay here again when better hotels have vacancies for just a few dollars more.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap and close to airport

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Price + proximity
Cons: Room size, shampoo would be nice, upgraded shower
If you're looking for cheap and close to the Charlotte airport, this hotel will do.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Raleigh, NC

The customer service was atrocious. Never again.

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: I liked nothing about Royal Way Inn.
Cons: Everything can be improved. Starting with the workers.
Location: It is near the airport...not too far from downtown. So the location is ok.
Front desk agent was extremely rude and unaccommodating. He should never work in customer service because he can not even define the word. I will never go back there and will not recommend that hotel to anyone else. In fact I would advertise against it.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Antonio, TX

Disappointing

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: A complete renovation would be helpful.
The place had a terrible odor, the.shower had mold on the floor and walls and the bed was hard and lumpy. If the room had not been paid for in advance through expedia we would have gone elsewhere.