Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel on charlottsville va

Posted Jul 23, 2013
the staff was nice, location was convenient, the room was clean but a little run down, the breakfast was nothing to talk about. overall the hotel was nice
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Donna from Virginia

Adequate room for just one night.

Posted Jun 24, 2013
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
Location: Great location. Walking distance to UVA.
Overall an OK experience. When I arrived at the hotel, no one was in the reception area for at least 20 min. The person was helping someone else, but they could have left a sign stating that or taken a phone with them or had someone covering the front desk. The room was clean and very nice (if small) bathroom. My main complaint was the mattresses--very uncomfortable!! Could feel the springs through it. Also the phone did not work in the room. Also, they have a policy where you can only park one car/room. I understand this since it has a very small parking lot and they don't want students filling it up. The other party staying in the room with me was meeting me there (husband, son and mother in law). It was suggested that I park in a parking garage across the street. However the person did not have any info about it--ie cost, if you could park overnight. If you can only have one car, it would be a helpful service for them to have info on this. So, an ok experience, but not stellar. Probably won't stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bridget from New Jersey

Didn't love Didn't hate

Posted Jun 16, 2013
I booked this hotel very last minute and got a good deal for it. The hotel was very clean, but very small. The bathroom I'm pretty sure was a closet at one point it was so long and narrow. The furniture was old but it was very clean. My favorite thing was how strong the water pressure was in the shower. Overall it wasnt the most glamorous, but it was definitely doable for the quick overnight trip I had
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excellent choice for travelers on a budget

Posted Jun 12, 2013
The hotel gave me and my wife a comfortable place to stay in the area while we were waiting for our lease to kick in. The room was fairly comfortable although the beds are somewhat smaller than described. One of the staff members came across as a little rude, but the others seemed friendly enough. It would be hard to find a better room for the cost.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Taz

Comfortable motel close to UVA.

Posted May 12, 2013
Pros: Location, price. helpful a d friendly management.
Cons: Landscaping around the parking lot could be improved.
Location: Charlottesville and the University of Virginia are wonderful.
We stayed here two nights when picking up our daughter from college. The motel is very close to the University, and as a bonus our room overlooked playing fields a d a stream. The room was nothing fancy, but clean and comfortable. This is a second generation family business, and the owner, Mr. Patel was on site managing every day. There is a small breakfast room and free coffee all day. We would definitely choose the Budget Inn in Charlottesville again for its comfort, convenience and great value.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Adequate Hotel at Best.

Posted Apr 11, 2013
This hotel was adequate, but not worth the money paid. The continental breakfast was not well stocked and the drain cover in the bathroom wasn't even fastened to the floor, so it moved everytime you stepped on it. The hotel sits, literally, feet from the main train track in Charlottesville with only feet from the one wings top floor rooms and the tracks and only about 20 yards from the lower playing field for field hockey at UV. It was not the best location for a congenial stay.
1 out of 5
by Marvin from MD

Yeeech!

Posted Mar 2, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Sewage on floor of bathroom.
Location: Great,
What started out as a wonderful stay, unfortunately turned out to be a nightmare. If I had only stayed there 3 nights instead of 4, I would have had nothing but glowing reports for this hotel. The room was nice. Clean, well kept and quiet. On the fourth evening, however, I heard a gurgling in the bathroom around 7:00PM. I opened the door to the bathroom and the bathtub and drain on the floor had backed up with brown water with black flakes in it. It was terrible. i went to the front desk, they offered to clean it up! I indicated that was unacceptable and was offered a smoking room of equal quality. I eventually wound up with another non-smoking room with a smaller bed. I spent an about 2 hours with this ordeal. My experience was not nice!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cheap

Posted Dec 3, 2012
Pros: Price
Cons: Upkeep
Location: Very convenient to UVa.
It was good for the price, and the cashier was friendly, but the snacks machine was broken and vomit in the hall was inadequately cleaned.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Elizabeth from NJ

Simple and lovely.

Posted Jul 27, 2012
I'm writing this review while staying in yet another inn (also in Virginia) - much more expensive, yet not NEARLY as good as Budget inn. It's a simple hotel, but lovely. The staff and service made it very pleasant to be in, and everything in our room was glisteningly clean and fresh. It's not like in a usual motel or inn where you're afraid to move around and touch any surface around you, or where the smell is repelling. For a "budget" inn, it was pretty much luxurious. If you're ever in Charlottesville and looking for a simple, affordable place to stay, I would highly recommend it. You get SO much more than what you pay for. There was even the sweetest cleaning lady with an even sweeter little girl accompanying her :)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Run down motel could be acceptable if lower priced

Posted Jul 6, 2012
Pros: None come to mind
Cons: Generally run down condition
Location: 10 feet away from railroad tracks. I did not encounter noise but perhaps it was beccause my stay was over July 4th.
This motel may be acceptable at a lower price. Otherwise I would call it too slummy for the price charged.