Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul from San Diego

Posted May 14, 2014
What a wonderful property. Beautiful rooms, scenery and the staff is superb. Wish I could of stayed longer!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Spot

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: The bed is the most comfortable I have ever slept in.
Amazing food, beverage, and service. Perfect spot for a Virginia get away or just a romantic dinner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 28, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect

Posted Oct 3, 2013
I really didn't know what to expect when I booked a stay at Clifton Inn. It was wonderful. Room was beautiful and beyond comfortable and romantic. Nice extra touches throughout the stay. Lovely staff. I hope we can return. It's so worth it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Peaceful getaway

Posted Mar 10, 2013
We were immediately greeted by the staff and given a quick tour. The grounds were well kept, and the view of the mountains pristine. The whole inn was well decorated and comfortable! Rooms were clean and spacious.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Fran from Chatham on Cape Cod

Historic inn and pet-friendly as well

Posted Feb 26, 2013
Pros: Its historic connection to President Jefferson.
Cons: In our special historic room, the bathroom was just too small to work well.
Location: Location was rural, with woods and a pond on the property with pleasant views from the porch of the main building of the inn.
This pet-friendly hotel is a member of the prestigious Relais & Chateaux, a great recognition of quality. For those interested in history, the inn was originally the home of Thomas Jefferson's son-in-law, who married Martha, Jefferson's daughter who acted at Monticello as hostess in place of her deceased mother. The inn is charming and the setting is delightful. Its restaurant is popular with locals as well as those who stay overnight at the inn. We stayed in the separate small building dubbed the Honeymoon Cottage and it was especially charming and perfectly fine for a one-night stay for two but not for a longer stay. The bathroom is barely adequate because of space limitations. Overall, we enjoyed and appreciated the experience, which included a delightful dinner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to relax

Posted Feb 7, 2013
Pros: Food and coziness
Great food and great place to relax. Restaurant and bar were a big plus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Mar 19, 2012
It is a beautiful hotel that I enjoyed staying at. I had several business contacts to meet with and I noticed there are not that many hotels in Charlottesville. This hotel, however, was just beautiful. I would recommend this hotel for anyone.