Ratings based on 351 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom g

Posted Mar 4, 2015
Okay nice bistro not convienet to downtown ou U of V
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad experience at check out.

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Pros: Location was good.
Cons: The staff should be better trained and more professional. At least the desk agent should have been.
Very surly and less than helpful agent at check out. Took the occasion to lecture me about booking through third parties, and failed to provide explanation as to the charge for my stay. Left the hotel still no knowing what I paid. Had to go back later and check my records to assure myself that I wasn't double charged.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2015 by Elizabeth, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking time to offer your feedback. I am so sorry that your check out experience was not up to our standards! We value all of our guests, especially our Expedia guests, and we are always happy to explain any charges you may have. I apologize that didn't happen for you. I assure you it was an isolated incident, as our staff is typically excellent. Thank you again for your feedback . I hope that you will give us another chance to make a better impression on your next stay. Sincerely, Elizabeth P. -General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom north carolina

forget it !

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: hire people who actually want to work and do their work
Location: food lion grocery store !
no record of my booking at the front desk, receptionist rude, unhelpful.Basically she was kicking me out. After showing her my confirmation she continued arguing and finally she found one letter missing from my name on her computer. Card to the room didn't work after the first swipe. had to walk back to the front desk four times and ask for new cards. Mattress was terrible. kept rolling into the center where a deep hole kept me in a pretzel position. Pool was over chlorinated after one lap the eyes were burning. no surprise nobody else was at the pool. Coffee in the morning was overpriced and lukewarm. have not seen one smiling face, employees all looked like they hate their jobs.. vending machine on second floor didn't work . bathroom was clean. parking areas dark.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2014 by Elizabeth, Hotel Management
Dear g, I am terribly sorry about the experience you had at our hotel! I am very surprised to hear your comments as they are not typical of our hotel at all. Regardless, you are a very valued guest for us and I apologize that we did not provide the accomodations or service levels you deserved. I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to offer you a better experience during your next visit to Charlottesville. Sincerely, Elizabeth P.-General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by SUSAN Rfrom Virginia Beach, VA

Outstanding Facility and Staff!

Posted Nov 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Love this old-style renovated hotel! Had a great bathroom, lots of space in the room and a small patio outside! Quiet location but very central. The staff is outstanding!! Highly recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Gregfrom Ohio

Great stay

Posted Nov 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good hotel with reasonable amenities
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Johnnafrom Virginia

Noise Ruined Our Getaway - Good For Early Risers

Posted Nov 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
It has become very clear that with Hotels.com reservations, hotels give you terrible rooms. This is our third experience with this in three different states/cities over a four year timespan. We were looking forward to this trip for a year. We have a toddler so we were counting down the days until we could sleep in. They put us in a room right across from a stairway door, which sounded like a shotgun going off every time it slammed shut. So, beginning at 7 a.m. I was woken with a startle every few minutes. Then, the construction noise started with the loud beeping of large machinery backing up. Hotels.com should have been notified about this, and notified the customers. Then, the "Business Center" doesn't work because the internet doesn't work. You don't have a business center if guests can't conduct business. Finally, the breakfast ends at 9:30. Really? McDonald's serves breakfast until 10:30. If I had known that, I wouldn't have paid the extra money for it. The updates to the hotel are nice, the rooms are beautiful, and the staff is very helpful and friendly. However, if you're looking to sleep in, don't even think about it. I wish we had paid the $40 more and stayed at the Hyatt Place. We have a two year old, and this was our very first getaway and we left more exhausted than when we arrived.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sherryfrom Pineville wv

Posted Nov 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel was very clean. Staff was super nice. We really enjoyed it. Stayed 2 nights there , planning on staying there again in about 2 weeks. Beds were real comfortable. Everything was super nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Normanfrom Chambersburg

Just north of Charlottesville

Posted Nov 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comfortable hotel just north of Charlottesville on Rt. 29. Quiet location and hotel seemed to be in very good condition. Breakfast (which was included) was served to us and was pretty good. Only minor complaint was there was no free coffee available (which is often available at other hotels). Rooms clean and nice. Overall, very comfortable hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Benfrom St. Paul

Wonderful

Posted Nov 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very confortable