Ratings based on 650 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.6 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Poor Hotel

Posted Jun 3, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: They are apparently tearing it down and building a new one, which is a good idea
Location: Lots of shops and close to most everything
I would give this hotel a poor rating for the following reasons: - Inadequate parking for amount of guests - poor housekeeping - shower walls were cracked and stained and looked unsanitary - telephone did not function - vent was off the wall - WIFI did not function - television reception was extremely poor - electrical outlets and lights did not work I would never stay there again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Peaks Island, ME

Lots of renovation on hotel and construction

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Room was clean and comfortable. Staff was exceedingly polite.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not very nice

Posted May 26, 2015
Cons: Hire good housekeeping staff and make sure rooms are clean. Remove stains from furniture and vacuum rugs.
The room was disgusting. Furniture was worn and stained; rug was torn and not clean. Would not go back to this place.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

Staff was nice but...

Posted May 19, 2015
room was humid even with a/c on, floors were dirty and damp, socks turned brown when walking on floor, shower was s moldy mess. The staff was very nice and friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2015 by Keni, Hotel Management
Thank you for the recent stay. We are extremely sorry for the inconveniences you had experienced during the visit. We are in the process of making these changes.We hope to see you again soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 18, 2015
Convenient location... Convenient location... Convenient location...
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2015 by Keni, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staying for 2 nights for 2 people.

Posted May 14, 2015
Pros: It was Clean.
Cons: It does not enough ground to improve it.
Location: I do not know.
You could hear everything out side of the room, not quiet at all. They did not give enough towels and wash clothes for 2 people staying there. I thought they would have a swimming pool or some type of exercise room there was none. I was disappointed in it for the cost of it.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2015 by Keni, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback.We have a small workout room on site. We do not have a pool. We are extremely sorry for the inconveniences you had experienced. We are in the progress of making changes.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Renovierungsbedürftiges Hotel im Außenbereich

Posted May 7, 2015
Das Hotel befindet an der Schnellstraße und ist im mittelmäßigen Zustand - was auch die Sauberkeit betrifft.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 1, 2015
Good location. Good location. Good location. Good location.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2015 by Keni, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback.We are making more improvements to help better accommodate the guests. We hope to see you again soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: Convenient to UVA
Cons: Just not a quiet location -but a good location.
Basic hotel for convenience. Loud being by the highway and doors open right onto parking lot.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2015 by Keni, Hotel Management
Thank you for the recent stay. We are extremely sorry for the inconveniences you had experienced during the visit. We are trying our best to help accommodate the guests to their needs.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Grosse Pointe, MI

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Unbearable smoke-filled room. I moved to another hotel the remaining 2 days of my trip.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2015 by Keni , Hotel Management
We are extremely sorry for the inconveniences you had experienced during the visit. We have taken your feedback and made the major changes to help better accommodate the guests. We try our best to change the rooms to accommodate the guests. We hope to see you again soon, so we can show you the changes we have made