Ratings based on 446 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom philadelphia

Close to monticello

Posted Nov 28, 2014
Very nice hotel. Clean and a good breakfast. Liked the late check in.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

OK hotel not far from grounds

Posted Nov 27, 2014
Pros: Coffee and tea available 24 hours. Not on top of UVA but close enough to attend events there.
Cons: The beds are on the hard side making them uncomfortable in my families opinion. The pillows are very large and can "swallow" you.
Location: UVA - Monticello
The hotel is extremely hard to locate after sundown. The lighting for the area is very poor and the sign for the hotel is incorrect (the hotel is Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott but the sign is for the Courtyard Inn).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Nice Overall

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Great hotel overall. Breakfast is ample for free fare. Serve yourself. Only one elevator which was small and occupied most of the time so we took the stairs mostly. Toilet was low flow and didn't flush very well. The hall had a skunky smell that would come and go. Overall, very nice. It was full as could be and the staff handled it very well.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sand in my son's bed

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Pros: Reasonable cost.
Cons: Clean the rooms better.
Location: 10 minutes from UVA by car.
When my son went to sleep he found there was sand on the sheets. He ended up sleeping on the top of the bed since my wife and I were already asleep and he did not want to wake us. There was no hairdryer despite a sign saying it was in the closet. I spoke to the management and they gave me Marriot points. But when I got home and called Marriot they said I could not convert those points to United FF miles. As far as I can determine, the points are useless.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2014 by David, Hotel Management
Dear Stephen, Thank you for your review. We are very sorry your stay did not live up to our standards of cleanliness and are using your feedback to improve our housekeeping service. In terms of points, Marriott Rewards points are available to redeem at any hotel in the Marriott portfolio. Thanks again for your comments and we hope to have another chance in the future to give you a great stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom MN

nice hotel in a good location.

Posted Nov 5, 2014
Pros: New and nice appointments
Cons: price steep for king room at a Fairfield I thought
Location: Montpelier and Monticello two of 3 presidents homes worth seeing. Would call ahead and schedule tours so you do not have to wait for a tour.
the price was a bit steep for a Fairfield. Location was good. Restaurant next door is Apple-bees. Only there over night- nice king room and breakfast. New Hotel and nice staff. Must say to drive from DC to see some sites allow much more time as it took twice as long to get there on switchback country roads from DC to Montpelier and then to the hotel. The next day out to Jefferson's Monticello same thing only 25 minutes away but took a bit to get there Scenery is lovely thought. Both worth the trip but takes more time than you think with the traffic on the hwys in Virginia. Thinking Charlottesville and Fredericksburg small towns not all very big cities and busy. If going back to DC--- the construction and delays on I95 AND I495 AND I395 AWFUL. Took 2 &1/2 hours to go 54 miles to the rental car place in Arlington.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Room was clean - hotel staff very friendly - air conditioner a bit noisy - next door to Applebee's
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2014 by David, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We're glad you had a clean stay and found our staff very friendly. However, we do apologize you experienced noise issues and appreciate your feedback to help us address it further. Thanks again for your comments and we hope to see you the next time you're in Charlottesville!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Our room faced the front entrance, which was inhabited by a group of rowdy girls until about 1 am, when i had to call down to the front desk. Eventually they got the noise level down to where I could sleep.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2014 by David, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are very sorry you experienced noise issues and appreciate your feedback. We certainly understand the importance of a quiet environment and are glad our staff was able to eventually resolve the issue. Thanks again for your comments; we hope to have another chance in the future to give you a great stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fairmont, Wv

Close to resturants, and even a grocery.

Posted Oct 8, 2014
It's was nice and clean. Very quiet as well. I was placed by the elevator but never heard it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vienna, VA

Good hotel convenient to Charlottesville area.

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Location: We visited several wineries.
My husband and I stayed here for one night. The location was convenient to several places that we visited in the Charlottesville area. Our room was clean and comfortable, and the breakfast was simple, but met our needs perfectly. I would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom chester,va

Excellent overnight stay

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: Brightness and cleanliness
Cons: no
Location: This hotel was near the university and downtown mall areas. Easy access to both.
We had a wonderful experience. The hotel was bright and cheery. The staff was pleasant. The hotel was very clean. The room was clean and beds were comfortable. The morning breakfast had a lot of variety both hot and cold. Would gladly stay here again.