Ratings based on 91 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

My first stay at the Hilton

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: When I had an issue, they made sure it was taken care of in a prompt and effective manner.
Cons: Make sure the night staff picks up the dishes by 8am and get better WiFi for the rooms. I frequently went outside to make calls because of the WiFi.
Location: There are two good sized shopping centers within 5 minutes of the hotel.
This was my first stay at the Hilton and I must emphasize that the hotel staff was great, they were prompt and courteous during check-in after driving over 600 miles as would be expected. I came in late after visiting family and asked for dishes for my takeout because the place I ordered from did not provide adequate utensils and although the kitchen was closed, staff member went straight to the kitchen and grabbed a plate for me and told me I could leave it outside of my door. Apparently the night shift person was off duty because when I got up the next day to speak to someone at the service desk, the dishes were still there and I almost fell because of them. The facility has everything all the amenities mentioned. I thoroughly check the sheets - I lift the covers off of them and pull them all the way back, heavily scrutinize both sides (including the blanket), checking for spots or stains and the wrinkle pattern, I smell them for any odors and check the lining on them (I go a little overboard, but I am not sleeping on any pre-slept sheets because someone was not on their J.O.B) and the sheets like almost everything else was spotless. I cleaned the bathroom with Clorox wipes even though it had already been cleaned and took the one complaint I had (which I will not elaborate on because of how courteously and effectively they resolved it) to management and they were AMAZING in how they dealt with it. The temperature controls, view, parking, and flat screen were good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from Grovetown GA

Great hotel close to Monticello.

Posted May 30, 2014
Staff provided excellent service and the breakfast was great. We took advantage of the complimentary shuttle to get to the UVA district for supper which was a major advantage.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Denise from PA

Scenic setting

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Disappointed that at least a continental breakfast was not included. Also in room coffee was not good and basket of apples out front were terrible. But, the beautiful setting, comfortable bed and nice walking trail out weighed the disappointment with hotel amenities!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Shaun Naylor

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sharon

Monticello

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pleasant stay at the hotel. Ate breakfast and dinner there. Food and service was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Erin C. from Waynesboro,, VA

Prime Location, Beautiful Scenery

Posted Apr 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
We loved the Hilton Garden Inn. I went with my sisters for a girls weekend. We were so close to Downtown Mall, stores and salons and we visited a few vineyards too. It was a wonderful weekend. The Hilton was fantastic! We will definitely stay there again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Holly from Houston, TX

Nice and clean hotel.

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness and nice furnishings.
Cons: nothing
Clean and well staffed hotel. The Hilton chain is pretty dependable and this hotel is no exception. We are middle age adults and usually leave early in the morning to site see and do not return until evening.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

a very nice mid priced hotel in Charlottesville.

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: pretty much everything, except, as noted above, the wireless and location. nice areas to run out back and fine pool and exercise room.
Cons: boost the wireless signal in the rooms somehow.
Location: Abuts the Martha Jefferson Hospital and the Kluge Aboriginal Museum. Nice views out back. otherwise, on major road east of downtown.
we stayed in this hotel for a second time recently. Both stays have been quite nice. The price was fair, the hotel is clean and new, the room was comfortable and quiet, and the public areas of the hotel are quite nice. My only quibbles are that the wireless signal was too weak in the room even to use (it was fine in the hallway and in the lobby area) and that the hotel is not close to the University of Virginia or the Downtown Mall. As it is located on Route 250, it is about a 15 minute drive to the University and probably a 10 minute drive to the Mall. But if you are looking for someplace walking distance to either of those areas of Charlottesville, this would not be the place.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not the nicest Hilton Garden Inn

Posted Apr 1, 2014
I was disappointed in the room compared to other Garden Inns I've stayed in. It was poorly lit, the pillows were lumpy, the doors (main, bathroom & closet) were all angled toward each other so only 1 could be opened at a time, and the bathroom didn't have an exhaust fan or heat lamp, nor storage shelves. Not the best design for guest comfort and convenience. Also, the front desk staff was not very attentive; more interested in talking with each other than helping guests. Just an okay hotel for the price and location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 24, 2014 on Hotels.com