Ratings based on 344 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Harrisonburg, VA

Close to UVA

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Pros: Location was great
Cons: Needs updating, better bathroom sink, blackout curtains.
Location: Close to hospital and shopping.
Check in went smoothly. The lobby looked nice. When we got to our floor it look a little run down. Our room was ok. The bathroom was spacious but the single no countertop sink was very inconvenient. The beds where good with 2 soft and 2 firm pillows. When we laid down to sleep the room was so light there was no way we could have slept. The curtains did not have a full solid curtain. The light from the parking light and sign where shinning directly into our room. Not to mention there where vehicles parked directly infront of the window.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Last Minute Overnight Stay

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Pros: Convenient location, friendly and accommodating staff.
Cons: The rooms should be renovated, new beds, decor and bathroom
Location: Great location! 8 minute drive to historic Charlottesville and an over-abundance of nearby restaurants and stores
I traveled with my fiance to Charlottesville on July 11th (Saturday) to visit the area. We drove to Charlottesville and decided last minute to book a hotel to break up the driving required for our visit. Many hotels were sold out, and we booked the Holiday Inn. The location, exterior and lobby of the hotel are all great. The lobby especially looks recently renovated and has a very welcoming decor. The staff that greeted us at the front desk for check-in were also very nice (even at 12 midnight when we arrived). The rooms are another story; in definite need of renovation and love. The carpet appeared old, the arm chair had a large rip in its fabric and the bed was quite uncomfortable (likely from a very old mattress). There was peeling caulking and dirt spots in the bathroom area. Generally the furniture and decor were outdated. Overall, since we booked last minute and were in need of a place to stay, the Holiday Inn worked. But the rooms were not what we expected from such a large hotel chain and in this Charlottesville area. I'd recommend for those in need of a budget friendly hotel stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Adequate

Posted Jul 10, 2015
Bed reasonably comfortable, great soft pillows, clean bathroom and towels but very small sink. Construction going on across the street making traffic heavy. Noisy air conditioning. Large swimming pool and nice work out room. Free coffee available in the morning. Quite adequate for the price but nothing to go wild about.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from from Pennsylvania

Recently renovated very clean and comfortable

Posted May 29, 2015
I will be back at the end of the summer. Great hotel at decent price
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Comfortable and well-located hotel

Posted May 22, 2015
Location: There is easy access to highways and the local sights to see such as Monticello, Ashlawn and Montpelier.
The staff is friendly. There was only one problem--a sticky door lock. It was fixed the next day while we were out and then worked perfectly. The bed was very comfortable and the air conditioning worked well too--essential in Charlottesville. We did not use the restaurant as we met people for meals. The hotel is centrally located and easy to access, important as we rented a car.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice place

Posted May 14, 2015
I just wish I had time to enjoy it. in @ 11pm out by 730 problems with a/c but overall pretty good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Elizabeth

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 21, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Clean and convenient to UVA and downtown

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: The desk staff were very helpful.
Cons: The food could be improved. Also, housekeeping never left the right amount of towels for a family of 4 in the room.
Location: Visit to UVA, Monticello and Charlottesville restaurants/shops.
This hotel is what you expect from a Holiday Inn. We had a clean room, nice personnel, and fitness center. It was very conveniently located to UVA and downtown Charlottesville. Very good for the price. Only drawback would be the food for breakfast was not great and overpriced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very nice hotel relatively close to UVA campus.

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Pros: location, price, convenience, amenities, cleanliness.
Location: UVA down Emmet is 5 minutes by car if no traffic. tons of restaurants and shopping. traffic around rush hour is heavy.
very nice stay for overnight visit to UVA. large enough room with 2 queen beds and comfortable beds for family of 4. adequate desk for computer and paperwork with comfortable chairs and flat screen TV. free WIFI with good speeds for work. clean room with no smell. bathroom on smaller size with one sink but good shower and water pressure. some noise from hallway filters into room but not a deal breaker. location is great on Emmet St. with every restaurant and shopping that anyone would need plus a Sams Club and Walmart up the road for cheap gas. convenient access to interstate and 64 to continue on your trip. free coffee in AM and excellent cookies in evening. excellent value for $$ for our stay. highly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 5, 2015 on Hotels